lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: More graphics woes (KotOR 2)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-21-2012, 04:32 PM   #1
Darth Dan 012
Rookie
 
Darth Dan 012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 59
More graphics woes (KotOR 2)

Hey all,

I finally replaced my laptop with a gaming desktop PC. I have an AMD Radeon HD 6870 video card, an Intel i5 2400 @ 3.1GHz, and 8GB of DDR3 1666 Corsair Vengeance RAM.

I can run Fallout: New Vegas on "High" with no problems at all, and "Ultra" with a little stutter. Other games work fine also.

KotOR 2 is the exception. I installed it twice, second time using the instructions in the thread on this forum. The game starts up fine, no crashes or anything. The problem is with my framerate. Even at the lowest possible settings I get really bad lag issues. I'm positive that all my drivers are up to date. I've made sure that my KotOR 2 AMD Catalyst profile allows for "application preference."

Also, I have TSLRCM installed and I'm playing off my laptop saves. The saves are from 1.7, so there shouldn't be any compatibility issues.


Can someone help me out with this?
Darth Dan 012 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2012, 05:19 PM   #2
Darth Dan 012
Rookie
 
Darth Dan 012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 59
Well I managed to fix it for now but I had to roll back my graphics card driver. A better solution would be much appreciated.

I also did the "atioglxx.dll" fix but that didn't work.

Last edited by Darth Dan 012; 04-21-2012 at 05:54 PM.
Darth Dan 012 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2012, 09:49 AM   #3
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
As inconsistent as AMD/ATI drivers are when it comes to supporting games as old as the KotOR series, I'd consider myself lucky that you got it to work at all, especially with a card that new.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2012, 09:23 PM   #4
Darth Dan 012
Rookie
 
Darth Dan 012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 59
I suppose. It's pretty easy to update/roll back drivers with the Catalyst software. I just finished my TSLRCM 1.7 playthrough anyway.
Darth Dan 012 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > More graphics woes (KotOR 2)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.