lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Changing Handmaiden To A Different Model(Help?) -- TSL
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-16-2012, 09:56 AM   #1
Drakkoran
Lurker
 
Drakkoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Changing Handmaiden To A Different Model(Help?) -- TSL

Yes I searched and found some topics but none helped in the deparment i'm looking for. I want to change her to a different model, I've gone into appearance.2da and found her line, I've tried editting her with KSE and then with KoTOR Tool her UTC file even but no dice(the UTC file especially because I don't know how to import it back into "Blueprint, Characters" so if you can answer that i'd be greatful)

As for appearance.2da, I didn't know what to do on it. I didn't know which lines to replace.

There is a specific head I want to replace handmaiden's with and even if i have to change the whole model, I'm fine with that but I don't know how. The head itself is "PFHC07"

I'm rather new to all this so anything helps.

Mods I'm running if this helps: Skip Peragus Mod, Sara Jean Barbie(changes one of the female player faces in the game, it's what I want Handmaiden to be replaced with basically), TSL No Force Restrictions, Atris Gives Lightsaber back mod(Don't know official name for the mod), and Brianna Exile Romance Mod.


EDIT:

I figured out how to swap out textures (TGA overriding and all that jazz) the only thing now that eludes me is changing Handmaiden's model so that the retexturing of her face matches the model. I retextured without doing as such and it didn't fit the model because it's only a retexture, not a model change. Just need to know how to change her model so the texture fits.

Last edited by Drakkoran; 05-16-2012 at 11:38 AM.
Drakkoran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2012, 01:18 PM   #2
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 557
Just modify her .utc with kotortool (using the appearance dropdownbox, since it's a vanilla skin) and drop it in override. Restart KOTOR 2 and done...
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2012, 01:25 PM   #3
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
I'm not sure if you can change the handmaiden head due to how the model is made. Some models, such as Nihilus, are made in one piece while others such as Atton are made with two; this is rule of thumb. I have come across a few that don't follow this pattern but it's rare. If it's one piece, you have to do some modeling, however if it's two you can change the head or body.

To do this you'll want to change the number in the normalhead column to the corresponding head number you want which can be found in heads.2da. If you want to change the default model for the character when wearing clothing, you'll want to change the model and most likely the texture as well in columns modelb and texb respectively. Also the same thing goes for if you are trying to change the model when the character isn't wearing any clothing, and those columns are modela and texa.

If you have any questions feel free to ask.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2012, 07:26 PM   #4
Drakkoran
Lurker
 
Drakkoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Okay so I tried the UTC thing(I also tried earlier If i remember correctly) and that didn't work. It didn't do anything to Handmaiden, she retained her form.

Now as for appearance.2da, I can't figure out what to change everything to exactly. No matter what I DO change, she retains her model and the retexturing I do doesn't fit her at all.

My only options it would seem is getting myself familiar with gmax + NWMax + mdlops of which i've already begun and figure out a way to swap out the heads.
Drakkoran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2012, 07:27 PM   #5
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Have you tried starting a new game? For some reason, which I still have yet to figure out, some modifications require you to start a new game for them to take effect.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2012, 07:53 PM   #6
Drakkoran
Lurker
 
Drakkoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
I'll try that, but I sort of doubt that will do anything. It's merely her model itself won't change because i'm a bumbling moron when it comes to changing models on the appearance.2da file.

Before I posted I saw another thread you commented on about some guy turning handmaiden into another model on his game and he said it worked and unfortunately for me, he didn't give info on what things he changed.

I made a character with the face I want Handmaiden to have and I know the appearance itself is P_FEM_C_LRG_03(on the PC), the face model being PFHC07. If I can find the full body model for my PC, maybe I can figure out someway to switch out the heads with Gmax and all that.

I tried replacing the heads with Gmax, it doesn't seem to override the original model however. I then tried opening my model and it said "wrong file format" even knowing it was an MDL. I can't tell if it was something wrong with the recompilation with mdlops or what. Losing hope, however. Hell I just wanted her hairstyle to be different, but I guess thats too much to ask for X3

I saw a picture of her hair recolored to a nice brown, any idea where I can find that?

Last edited by Drakkoran; 05-17-2012 at 12:05 AM.
Drakkoran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2012, 05:19 AM   #7
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 560
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakkoran View Post
...and then with KoTOR Tool her UTC file even but no dice(the UTC file especially because I don't know how to import it back into "Blueprint, Characters" so if you can answer that i'd be greatful)

I'm rather new to all this so anything helps.

Just need to know how to change her model so the texture fits.
My suggestion, which will probably work, would be to put the model you want her head to be in your override folder and then rename it exactly as follows:

p_handmaidenh

It should be a .MDL file, so just do this:

Take the .MDL and .MDX from Kotor Tool, from Bifs->Models.Bif->Aurora Models and Aurora Model Extension.

The exact files you will need is: pfhc07.MDL and pfhc07.MDX.

Don't need MDLOPS, just rename them as above and dump into override.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2012, 12:21 PM   #8
Drakkoran
Lurker
 
Drakkoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
My suggestion, which will probably work, would be to put the model you want her head to be in your override folder and then rename it exactly as follows:

p_handmaidenh

It should be a .MDL file, so just do this:

Take the .MDL and .MDX from Kotor Tool, from Bifs->Models.Bif->Aurora Models and Aurora Model Extension.

The exact files you will need is: pfhc07.MDL and pfhc07.MDX.

Don't need MDLOPS, just rename them as above and dump into override.

It worked :O Thank you, I just have to see about her white handmaiden clothing appearance(which doesnt matter as much to me when changing, I just won't have her wear it if i have to)
Drakkoran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2012, 12:27 PM   #9
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 560
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakkoran View Post
It worked :O Thank you, I just have to see about her white handmaiden clothing appearance(which doesnt matter as much to me when changing, I just won't have her wear it if i have to)
The clothing is tied into the p_Handmidenbb.mdl and .mdx, if that helps much.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Changing Handmaiden To A Different Model(Help?) -- TSL

Tags
handmaiden

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.