lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Crashing on Korriban
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-07-2012, 07:38 AM   #1
iEnigma
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Crashing on Korriban

I've just finished the Leviathan stage, after all the dialogue and the dream of the Star Forge Map on Korriban, as soon as the game is supposed to return to the cockpit of the Ebon Hawk, I get a crash on my KOTOR saying it "stopped working ." I have mods installed so I uninstalled and tried again but still didn't work.

The game hasn't given me any problems except for this and my laptop can more than handle the game's performance requirements. (Running Windows 7.)

Any fixes?
This is when I first get on Korriban after the Leviathan. (Korriban is my 4th planet.)

Mods just in-case.
Mods Installed:
-Brotherhood of Shadow: Solomon's Revenge (+ Patch)
-Romancing of Bastila
-Jedi Robe Council Style
-K1 Force Pack v2
-Lightsaber Choices v2
-MP5
-Recruitable Kay (Including Hotfixes, Sound Patch and Patch 1.01)
-Light Side Revan Armour
-Revan's Cape Fix
-Revans Robe Revisioned
-Saber Skins
-Visual Effects K1

Last edited by iEnigma; 07-07-2012 at 09:41 AM.
iEnigma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-07-2012, 04:28 PM   #2
evilhazardz
Rookie
 
evilhazardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Current Game: Mass Effect 3
The only thing I can think of is that your appearance.2da file has been kept the same unknowingly in your compatibility file, while the one in your main directory is updated (a problem with Windows vista and 7)

Try opening your compatibility folder and dragging the appearance.2da file to the desktop (don't delete it as you may need it)

You can locate the compatibility folder here

http://imageshack.us/f/215/51512434.jpg/

FYI, I'm not sure if this is the problem, I just think it could be as windows 7 has known to make duplicate appearance.2da files, yet only updates one, which makes them conflict with eachother.


I don't like sand. It's coarse and rough and irritating and it gets everywhere
evilhazardz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-07-2012, 09:02 PM   #3
iEnigma
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Hmm, I don't have that in my KOTOR folder. Also if this helps, when it returns to the cockpit, I get a glimpse of Carth and Bastila standing there when she is supposed to be kidnapped by Malak.
iEnigma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2012, 05:03 AM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilhazardz View Post
The only thing I can think of is that your appearance.2da file has been kept the same unknowingly in your compatibility file, while the one in your main directory is updated (a problem with Windows vista and 7)

Try opening your compatibility folder and dragging the appearance.2da file to the desktop (don't delete it as you may need it)

You can locate the compatibility folder here

http://imageshack.us/f/215/51512434.jpg/

FYI, I'm not sure if this is the problem, I just think it could be as windows 7 has known to make duplicate appearance.2da files, yet only updates one, which makes them conflict with eachother.
Not to sound like an ass, but when the game is installed correctly with Vista/7 there is no compatibility folder to deal with.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2012, 08:20 AM   #5
evilhazardz
Rookie
 
evilhazardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Current Game: Mass Effect 3
I had not seen that thread (so I'm sure there's a few others who haven't) so I thought maybe it could've been the problem, as you'll never figure out the problem if you don't eliminate the possibility that it could be the problem.


I don't like sand. It's coarse and rough and irritating and it gets everywhere
evilhazardz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2012, 09:15 PM   #6
iEnigma
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Right well, problem is still there...
iEnigma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2012, 10:19 AM   #7
thejman217
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 231
Did you patch the game? If you didnt then try uninstalling and reinstalling the game according to the second post of this thread:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324

It should fix your problems. If it doesn't fix your problems then add "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1" (without the quotes) into the configuration settings of the .ini; if that doesn't work then you might have to clean your air fan in case youre using a labtop to run the game which might be overheating your computer, resulting in crashes and lag. Take a vacuum hose and put it to the exhaust normally located on the front or spine or side of your notebook. Suck the dust out of it. Then hold it to the intake and suck the dust out of there too. After that buy a can of compressed air for around $10 and blow air for about five seconds into both of those places. If that doesn't help. Then there's not much you can do at this point, sorry.

>>>>>EDIT<<<<<
Make sure to uninstall your mods before you uninstall the game itself. And make sure to keep your saves!

>>>>>SECOND EDIT<<<<<
feel free to reinstall your mods after reinstallation! Good luck!

Last edited by thejman217; 08-04-2012 at 06:58 PM.
thejman217 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Crashing on Korriban

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:03 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.