lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: TXI files not working?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-18-2012, 10:46 PM   #1
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
TXI files not working?

Not all of them, no. Most things I have done, or things others have done, the shader effects work fine.

The problem here, is that I've replaced the commoner female model with the "Scout" model, and reskinned/renamed(mostly so I don't have to scour the appearance.2da for entries to change) the textures to match. I've gotten the textures to show up they should, although the shine on them doesn't work. Also, I have the female players set up for the same thing, and doing this somehow made the texture for them one lack the shader effect as well. Which is odd, since every other wearable item for the females do have the effect.

My thinking was that if the envmaptexture line in the appearance.2da file was set to "DEFAULT", then it would either be a texture that does not use a shader effect, or it would be a txi file that would specify it. Although, I have had a few instances of this happening, where giving a texture an alpha channel, and a txi file, the shader effect would not display, even with the "DEFAULT" entry in their line(not changed by me).

So is their an easy fix, or would I have to change the appearance.2da for this to work?

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2012, 02:26 PM   #2
Darth Sapiens
Rookie
 
Darth Sapiens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 106
Current Game: tslrcm
i have this same issue its very annoying
Darth Sapiens is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2012, 04:47 PM   #3
oldflash
Veteran
 
oldflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 904
Current Game: SWtOR
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
You need to edit appearance.2da


"If you must sleep on the same bed, at least try to dream different dreams".
oldflash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2012, 04:50 PM   #4
Darth Sapiens
Rookie
 
Darth Sapiens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 106
Current Game: tslrcm
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldflash View Post
You need to edit appearance.2da
i doesnt work for me it seems no matter what it wont get rid of the cursed shiny im trying to make it transparent.
Darth Sapiens is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2012, 05:10 PM   #5
oldflash
Veteran
 
oldflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 904
Current Game: SWtOR
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
To make it transparent just create a .txi file where to specify:
Code:
envmaptexture
No't put any argument after "envmaptexture"

There are other options like making only black color to be transparent or to make tthe texture to light (sort of).
A short list of options available:
Code:
envmaptexture cm_baremetal / cm_Bright1 (first is shiny, second is fake self light)


# animate texture
proceduretype cycle
defaultwidth 128
defaultheight 128
numx 2
numy 2
fps 8

# transparency on black
blending punchthrough
blending additive
decal 1
Just test few of them to see how it works (not sure I remember all that things).


"If you must sleep on the same bed, at least try to dream different dreams".
oldflash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2012, 05:13 PM   #6
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 532
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Sapiens View Post
i doesnt work for me it seems no matter what it wont get rid of the cursed shiny im trying to make it transparent.
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=211476

It might have "envmpaptexture CM_Baremetal" in it...

1.) You might try making an empty texture and name it something, but it has to have the same number of characters as CM_baremetal

2.) Then just activate the Alpha Channel on it, making it entirely see-through.

3.) Hex edit the .tpc, replacing "CM_Baremetal" with the name of your texture.

4.) Launch it through a .tga converter, and hope it works...

NOTE: "CM_Baremetal" could be all caps. I'd double check before proceeding.

Last edited by Fair Strides 2; 11-23-2012 at 05:20 PM. Reason: typo
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > TXI files not working?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.