lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KOTOR II transparent textures
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-07-2012, 12:47 PM   #1
About4Ninjas
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
I love the kotor series i have both games, kotor I works perfectly fine and kotor 2 i never have lag, or anyproblems, except transparent lightsaber hilts, all swords, most droids and doors and some npc's. i would love to know how to fix it, cause its really annoying lol

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Inspiron N5010
BIOS: BIOS Date: 01/09/10 15:17:22 Ver: 08.00.10
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @ 2.53GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 2934MB RAM
Page File: 1599MB used, 4267MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

Last edited by About4Ninjas; 02-07-2012 at 01:03 PM. Reason: merge double post
About4Ninjas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2012, 03:16 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I need to see how the game is interacting with your hardware. Try using the game's configuration utility to post your system specs:
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs View Post
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
  • If you're using Vista or Windows 7, go into your game folder, find "launcher.exe" and right-click on it. Select "properties", then "compatibility" and check the box beside "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" and select "Windows XP (Service Pack 2)". Then check the box next to "Run this program administrator" and hit "OK". (EDIT by Q)
  • Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2 (by running "launcher.exe").
  • Click on "Configure".
  • Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
  • Click "Yes" to continue.
  • Click "Details" to view your system specs.
  • Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
  • Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.
You can leave out the keymapping and everything after that.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2012, 01:53 PM   #3
About4Ninjas
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=2/10/2012 1:51:09 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=Win9x
Version=Windows 9X v6.1 build 7600
Service Pack=None
Status=Fail

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=4
CPUSpeed=2527
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=5
CPUStepping=5
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @ 2.53GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1024
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=220.62GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=2048
Desktop Resolution=1366x768x32
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2202
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Intel(R) HD Graphics
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=0
RefreshRate=60
Width=1024
Height=768
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Soft Shadows=1
Brightness=57
V-Sync=1
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=0

[Game Options]
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0
About4Ninjas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2012, 02:59 PM   #4
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
You have patched your game, which is good!

You need to do the Dantooine Lag Fix....
Quote:
Originally Posted by D333
In swkotor2.ini, go in the "Graphics Options" section and add the line:
"Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1".
....

If you are unable to "do" this, in that you cannot "write" to your .ini, you may need to reinstall the game according to the instructions in this post by Q.


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2012, 03:09 PM   #5
About4Ninjas
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
okay i added that line to the graphics options
About4Ninjas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2012, 03:09 PM   #6
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 118
Current Game: Assassins creed
Your problem is the intel processor. Intel processors have trouble rendering shader effects (shiny) therefore making it transparent.


It's just like chicken-only different.
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2012, 05:59 PM   #7
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
You really should reinstall the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2012, 03:31 AM   #8
About4Ninjas
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunters Run View Post
Your problem is the intel processor. Intel processors have trouble rendering shader effects (shiny) therefore making it transparent.
well i run the old republic on mostly high and i have no shiny problems
About4Ninjas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2012, 10:36 PM   #9
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 118
Current Game: Assassins creed
While it could be your intel processor I mixed up processors with graphics cards. If you have an intel graphics card it will cause these problems. If you have an amd or nvidia graphics card and are still experiencing these problems than it could be the processor. All I know for sure is that kotor 2 doesn't like intel.


It's just like chicken-only different.

Last edited by Hunters Run; 02-11-2012 at 10:43 PM. Reason: mixed something up
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2012, 08:52 PM   #10
Darth Dan 012
Rookie
 
Darth Dan 012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 59
Intel HD Graphics are really bad. Do you have a desktop PC or a laptop? If it's a desktop, buy a new graphics card. It's definitely worth the $150+.
Darth Dan 012 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2012, 02:57 AM   #11
ratchet_owns88
Lurker
 
ratchet_owns88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: At the workshop.
Posts: 4
Exclamation Transparent Character Issues? Look Here.

This topic is designed to help you cope with transparency issues in certain droids, armors, as well as weapons in KotOR:TSL.

The flaw is inherent in most laptop user’s gamplay, this is due to a insufficient VIDEO GRAPHICS CARD installed in the hardrive. This means that anything that is shiny or has a reflective surface will become clear and you will see right through them. Depending on how reflective the object is will determine how much of their actual form you will see, in short...



On Laptops: more reflective = less solid.


Other problems associated with the flaw are that you will not be able to see holograms or transmission in their regular translucent blue form; they will be solid and colored. Also, you will not be able to see active shields or the burst of speed effect, although they will be active, you will only see if they are working by the cyan arrows on your characters’ portraits. Another major drawback is you will never see from a camera / droid’s point of view (they are usually a hazy blue or red). The force sight ability will be also lost to you, meaning you will not be able to see a non playable character’s alignment (a shaded background with a bad red character, a good blue character, or a white neutral character).


Unfortunately, if you have this dilemma you cannot upgrade your card because it is built into your particular model, and while you can change the card, it is highly recommended you do not, because you will need to take apart the laptop and remove the mother board in order to do so. You can also just buy a gaming laptop or a PC tower with the proper card installed, but chances are slim you want to spend that kind of money if only for this one game.


This is a modder’s tip on how to inexpensively reduce the transparency issues only.





I have chosen an HK-50 using a DC-15A Rifle mod as an example.


If you have downloaded the ultimate appearance or just a particular reflective weapon mod, this will be much simpler, seeing as how I won’t go into how to extract the models, you’ll have to figure that out on your own.


To edit the appearance you will need the GIMP painting program.


NOTE: I must stress than you make duplicates of the files you plan to make changes to, in case you wish to undo the alterations.








Once you have downloaded the GIMP program, go into the object’s destination folder and locate their .TGA file, it’s a good possibility that it will be easy to find, with the characters name in the title.





After you have opened the .TGA, you will see the object’s skin on a flat 2d surface. From here, all you need to do is to click on the LAYERS tab on the top of the screen, and then again on the TRANSPARENCY tab, you must then select REMOVE ALPHA CHANNEL.





This takes the checkerboard surface off the skin.





Save the .TGA in the folder among the files it was originally found with.








Enter your edited file, along with any other modifications you wish to go with the skin, into the OVERRIDE folder located within your KotOR:TSL destination folder, or just create one if not already there.


NOTE: Please make sure your game is not active while doing this, as this may corrupt the system in unforeseen consequences.


The scheme of the color and texture may seem unrealistic, even downgraded compared to other objects, but this is only in some cases, and most of the time the object will in fact look solid and well blended to the rest of the scene.


The weapon and facial processes are exactly the same as the armor alterations, as I have already done the same steps with the rifle HK-50 is holding.





Check your gameplay to view the results.


Congratulations, you now have a solid character / weapon / armor for your laptop’s KotOR:TSL gameplay.


"War has changed. It's no longer about nations, ideologies, or ethnicity. It's an endless series of proxy battles fought by mercenaries and machines. War - and its consumption of life - has become a well-oiled machine."

Last edited by ratchet_owns88; 09-23-2012 at 01:29 PM.
ratchet_owns88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2012, 10:05 PM   #12
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Thank you. That post was very helpful.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2012, 09:17 AM   #13
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
Thank you. That post was very helpful.
Agreed! Copied and Stickied to this forum

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=211134


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > KOTOR II transparent textures

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.