lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Kotor Tool paths w/ Steam version of K1 and TSL?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-19-2012, 03:55 AM   #1
SimonKTemplar
Rookie
 
SimonKTemplar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Serbia, Outer Rim
Posts: 94
Current Game: Star Wars: The Old Republic
Kotor Tool paths w/ Steam version of K1 and TSL?

I recently acquired the Steam versions of both K1 and TSL for the pc, however I'm having issues getting Kotor Tool to detect both games in the registry. While I only had the first game installed it didn't detect it, but when I installed both games it only detected K1 but not TSL.

So far, I've manually added the game paths to the Path Manager and it detects K1 without a problem, but it won't detect TSL. Is there a way to manually tweak one of the settings files so it detects TSL in the registry, or is there some other way to make Kotor Tool detect TSL?

My game paths are both:

steam/steamapps/common/swkotor
steam/steamapps/common/Knights of the Old Republic II


I'm more of a '3d fabricator' than a '3d modeller', meaning I prefer to construct things from reference, blueprints or schematics rather than to design stuff of my own.
SimonKTemplar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2012, 07:49 PM   #2
Lord Tuvitor
Lurker
 
Lord Tuvitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonKTemplar View Post
I recently acquired the Steam versions of both K1 and TSL for the pc, however I'm having issues getting Kotor Tool to detect both games in the registry. While I only had the first game installed it didn't detect it, but when I installed both games it only detected K1 but not TSL.

So far, I've manually added the game paths to the Path Manager and it detects K1 without a problem, but it won't detect TSL. Is there a way to manually tweak one of the settings files so it detects TSL in the registry, or is there some other way to make Kotor Tool detect TSL?

My game paths are both:

steam/steamapps/common/swkotor
steam/steamapps/common/Knights of the Old Republic II
Steam doesn't write to registry that KotOR II is installed, so what you need to do is:

1. Open regedit
2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ on 32 Bit Windows, or HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node on 64 Bit Windows.
3. Add Key: "LucasArts" (no quotes)
4. Add Key to LucasArts Key: "KotOR2" (no quotes)
5. Add String Value to KotOR2 Key: "Path" (no quotes) with data set to "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Knights of the Old Republic II\" (no quotes) on 32-bit Windows, "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Knights of the Old Republic II\" on 64-bit windows.

If you properly create TSL's registry key, then Kotor Tool will have no problem detecting TSL.


--
Lord Tuvitor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2012, 07:27 PM   #3
SimonKTemplar
Rookie
 
SimonKTemplar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Serbia, Outer Rim
Posts: 94
Current Game: Star Wars: The Old Republic
Thank you, it's just what the doctor ordered.


I'm more of a '3d fabricator' than a '3d modeller', meaning I prefer to construct things from reference, blueprints or schematics rather than to design stuff of my own.
SimonKTemplar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2012, 07:45 AM   #4
Shaggoth
Junior Member
 
Shaggoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Estland, Revalia
Posts: 292
awesome! just had the same problem thanks!


[ about.me ]
Shaggoth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2013, 01:59 PM   #5
czar007
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Tuvitor View Post
Steam doesn't write to registry that KotOR II is installed, so what you need to do is:

1. Open regedit
2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ on 32 Bit Windows, or HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node on 64 Bit Windows.
3. Add Key: "LucasArts" (no quotes)
4. Add Key to LucasArts Key: "KotOR2" (no quotes)
5. Add String Value to KotOR2 Key: "Path" (no quotes) with data set to "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Knights of the Old Republic II\" (no quotes) on 32-bit Windows, "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Knights of the Old Republic II\" on 64-bit windows.

If you properly create TSL's registry key, then Kotor Tool will have no problem detecting TSL.
Hey thanx for being nice and helping people sort this problem out. However, I'm also having this problem and I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to these things so can you please tell me what exactly 'regedit' is and where I can find it. Also, maybe when I find it and open it I can understand your step by step instructions better, but as it is, they are very hard to follow. Thanx.
czar007 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2013, 04:44 PM   #6
czar007
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Forget my last post. I found it and fixed it, pretty simple actually. Thanx again.
czar007 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2013, 11:08 AM   #7
lighting
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Tuvitor View Post
Steam doesn't write to registry that KotOR II is installed, so what you need to do is:

1. Open regedit
2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ on 32 Bit Windows, or HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node on 64 Bit Windows.
3. Add Key: "LucasArts" (no quotes)
4. Add Key to LucasArts Key: "KotOR2" (no quotes)
5. Add String Value to KotOR2 Key: "Path" (no quotes) with data set to "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Knights of the Old Republic II\" (no quotes) on 32-bit Windows, "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Knights of the Old Republic II\" on 64-bit windows.

If you properly create TSL's registry key, then Kotor Tool will have no problem detecting TSL.
This has worked for TSL, but I'm still having problems getting KotOR Tool to detect the steam installation of KotOR I. I've tried doing the same process, adding the key, "KOTOR" instead of "KotOR2", and having the string value "Path" under that point to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\swkotor\", but that doesn't work. I've also tried manually entering the path in KotOR Tool, but that doesn't work either. Thoughts?


EDIT: Solved it thanks to tk102's post.

1. Open regedit
2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ on 32 Bit Windows, or HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node on 64 Bit Windows.
3. Add Key: "BioWare" (no quotes)
4. Add Key to BioWare Key: "SW" (no quotes)
5. Add Key to SW Key: "KOTOR" (no quotes)
5. Add String Value to KOTOR Key: "Path" (no quotes) with data set to "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\swkotor\" (no quotes) on 32-bit Windows, "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\swkotor\" on 64-bit windows.

Last edited by lighting; 04-21-2013 at 11:22 AM.
lighting is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotOR Tool > Kotor Tool paths w/ Steam version of K1 and TSL?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.