lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Adobe Giving Away CS2 For Free
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-08-2013, 05:21 PM   #1
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Adobe Giving Away CS2 For Free

Thought this was more modding related than anything, so I'm posting here.

Just wanted to get the word out that Adobe is giving away the CS2 versions of their software, which includes Photoshop - if anyone here has thought of upgrading from GIMP, now is your chance to do so for free (and legally)!

http://www.adobe.com/downloads/cs2_downloads/index.html

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2013, 06:03 PM   #2
Scorge
Jedi Protector
 
Scorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: My Flagship.
Posts: 570
Current Game: SWTOR
Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Awesome, I am currently downloading PS CS2 now, and maybe some other ones.


Formally MrObiWan

If you need help with textures on any KotOR/TSL mod, feel free to contact me.







Scorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2013, 06:38 PM   #3
CptPriceless
Junior Member
 
CptPriceless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 351
Current Game: TSL
Nice find Dak.


CptPriceless is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 01:06 AM   #4
battle111
Forumite
 
battle111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lithuania/Korriban
Posts: 678
Current Game: SWTOR and LOTRO
Yeah nice find


Who you are light or dark hmm!!!


battle111 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 01:18 AM   #5
Darth Avlectus
If Sunday you're free...
 
Darth Avlectus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Why don't you come with me...
Posts: 4,278
Current Game: Poisoning pigeons in the park.
Excellent find!


We'll murder them all, amid laughter and merriment...except for the few we take home to experiment!

"I cant see S***! --YOU GO TO HELL!" --Tourettes guy
Darth Avlectus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 07:49 AM   #6
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,724
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Very nice. Especially for Photoshop. There's very little difference between CS2 PS and the current version that I am aware of that would be of any consequence for the average modder.

Edit: Just saw a post at another site about it saying that they aren't actually giving it away. They are shutting down the activation servers for it, so this is meant for people that already own it so they can reinstall it in the future (this version doesn't require activation). It's not intended for the general public. I'm not sure what the legality of it is exactly, but don't expect it to be around long. I gather it will be pulled (or access restricted at least) in short order.

Last edited by DarthParametric; 01-09-2013 at 01:08 PM.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 01:34 PM   #7
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Edit: I think people are just over thinking this because it's very un-Adobe like. If they haven't taken the links down by now then it's completely legitimate. Downloading InDesign now....


Last edited by Dak Drexl; 01-10-2013 at 11:37 AM.
Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 03:59 PM   #8
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
It's great that CS2 is available for free now. It's a great suite of programs, with a lot more to offer than just Photoshop (which is what i'm assuming the majority of people will go for).

Should be interesting to see what people can come up with now that this kind of professional software is available freely!




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 10:00 PM   #9
Sith Holocron
M4-78
 
Sith Holocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pasadena, MD(Nar Shaddaa East)
Posts: 1,353
Current Game: The Old Republic
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak Drexl View Post
What I've heard is that it originally was an accident of some sort and it wasn't meant to go public but it went viral and thousands of people had already downloaded it by the time Adobe had realized what happened. I'm thinking that Adobe has just accepted what's happened and is just keeping the links going. If anything it's a good way to build a loyal user base who will be more likely to stick with their software for a while rather than having people pirate it like mad.
Adobe hasn't been the same since they've been bought out by ENCOM.




Considering trying out (or returning to) SWTOR? You may as well go through my link and help get me some SWTOR referral points!
Sith Holocron is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 04:22 AM   #10
kyrie
Rookie
 
kyrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The depths of hell
Posts: 57
Thank you Dak you're the best
kyrie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 11:54 AM   #11
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,724
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak Drexl View Post
Edit: I think people are just over thinking this
No, they have said they are not giving it away:

http://forums.adobe.com/message/4974775#4974775

http://blogs.adobe.com/conversations...n-servers.html

Regardless of how you choose to interpret the way they have made it available, the official line is that they are not giving it away and that you require a valid licence to use it.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 12:05 PM   #12
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 168
Current Game: A Bunch of Games
Now I can upgrade from GIMP 2.0. Hey is photoshop easier to use than GIMP?


My Mods:
L0ki194's Sith Officer Armors: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...fficer-armors/
K1 Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
TSL Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
Realistic Nar Shaddaa Skybox Mod Loadscreens: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 12:23 PM   #13
battle111
Forumite
 
battle111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lithuania/Korriban
Posts: 678
Current Game: SWTOR and LOTRO
Cool Guy

Quote:
Originally Posted by L0ki194 View Post
Now I can upgrade from GIMP 2.0. Hey is photoshop easier to use than GIMP?
Yeah it's alot easyier then gimp


Who you are light or dark hmm!!!


battle111 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 12:33 PM   #14
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by battle111 View Post
Yeah it's alot easyier then gimp
I disagree - Photoshop has a lot more features so it takes a bit longer to get the hang of. If you're familiar with GIMP though you shouldn't have a problem.

Also I'm not sure what CS2 is like... Shouldn't be too different from CS5.

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 12:36 PM   #15
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 168
Current Game: A Bunch of Games
Well, I guess I'll just have to learn how to use Photoshop then... shouldn't make my brain explode.


My Mods:
L0ki194's Sith Officer Armors: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...fficer-armors/
K1 Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
TSL Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
Realistic Nar Shaddaa Skybox Mod Loadscreens: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 12:57 PM   #16
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Lol it's not hard at all it just does a bit more than GIMP does. Also there are a bazillion tutorials around... you'll be fine!

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 01:37 PM   #17
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,387
Current Game: Tetris
All my mods are done with GIMP 1.2 which was current in 2004 when I started teaching myself. I still use it, but recently I bought Photoshop CS6 for school. I'd say Photoshop is easier than GIMP because there's more information on Photoshop, and the layout of the controls is also easier maybe.

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 01:52 PM   #18
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 168
Current Game: A Bunch of Games
Ok then. I just wanted to check to see if it was better.


My Mods:
L0ki194's Sith Officer Armors: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...fficer-armors/
K1 Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
TSL Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
Realistic Nar Shaddaa Skybox Mod Loadscreens: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 02:35 PM   #19
Darth Sapiens
Rookie
 
Darth Sapiens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 110
Current Game: tslrcm
man i dont remember if cs2 had 3d but, i use cs6 extended it makes things waaaaaay easier to skin. i actually rarely work directly with the uv maps anymore, its all done via the model.
but if cs2 is out maybe i can make some tutlorials for it.
Darth Sapiens is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 02:44 PM   #20
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
I think 3D came into play with CS4 but I could be wrong. It really does work wonders for texturing though Sapiens, with you there!

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2013, 07:17 PM   #21
Darth Sapiens
Rookie
 
Darth Sapiens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 110
Current Game: tslrcm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak Drexl View Post
I think 3D came into play with CS4 but I could be wrong. It really does work wonders for texturing though Sapiens, with you there!
oh well, still gonna make some tutorials for 3d though
more on topic, cs2 also includes video and audio software, hello higher quality vo's and trailers !
Darth Sapiens is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2013, 06:22 PM   #22
TWINKEYRUNAWAY
Rookie
 
TWINKEYRUNAWAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 112
Sweet! I have photoshop already, but their other offerings interest me.


www.youtube.com/user/411Remnant
Mass Effect Unification Released, click on our channel to get it!
TWINKEYRUNAWAY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 12:22 PM   #23
Warlord664
Junior Member
 
Warlord664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Computer Desk
Posts: 323
Current Game: swtor
Contest winner - Modding 
Hmm, I was trying to download at least PS CS2 but i'm having a problem with the serial numbers. I copy paste the serial codes they have on their site for the PS download when the installer asks for them but when I click next it says "Invalid Serial Number". Anybody else have this problem when installing?




Lets rock and role play!

http://xat.com/TSLModding
Warlord664 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 01:31 PM   #24
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,288
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I just installed it yesterday and had no problems of that kind.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 07:37 PM   #25
Warlord664
Junior Member
 
Warlord664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Computer Desk
Posts: 323
Current Game: swtor
Contest winner - Modding 
I don't know what the problem is. Any ideas of what I could do to fix this? And has anyone else tried donwloading this thing today?




Lets rock and role play!

http://xat.com/TSLModding
Warlord664 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 08:02 PM   #26
Scorge
Jedi Protector
 
Scorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: My Flagship.
Posts: 570
Current Game: SWTOR
Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
I installed it a couple days ago, no problems for me.


Formally MrObiWan

If you need help with textures on any KotOR/TSL mod, feel free to contact me.







Scorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 08:29 PM   #27
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,288
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlord664 View Post
I don't know what the problem is. Any ideas of what I could do to fix this? And has anyone else tried donwloading this thing today?
Are you sure you're using the serial number that belongs to the version of whatever operating system your installing to? (i.e., you're not using the Mac serial number for the Windows install)


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 08:42 PM   #28
Warlord664
Junior Member
 
Warlord664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Computer Desk
Posts: 323
Current Game: swtor
Contest winner - Modding 
Yes, I made sure I was using the right serial number. This is what i'm using for the windows version of PS CS2. (1045-1412-5685-1654-6343-1431) you can compare it to the site if you want. Do you think I should try typeing it in manuely insted of just copy/paste the serial number?

Edit: Just tried typing it manuely and that didn't work either.




Lets rock and role play!

http://xat.com/TSLModding
Warlord664 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 09:07 PM   #29
Darth Sapiens
Rookie
 
Darth Sapiens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 110
Current Game: tslrcm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlord664 View Post
Yes, I made sure I was using the right serial number. This is what i'm using for the windows version of PS CS2. (1045-1412-5685-1654-6343-1431) you can compare it to the site if you want. Do you think I should try typeing it in manuely insted of just copy/paste the serial number?

Edit: Just tried typing it manuely and that didn't work either.
try the creative suite code, 1130-1414-7569-4457-6613-5551. it should work
Darth Sapiens is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 09:15 PM   #30
Warlord664
Junior Member
 
Warlord664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Computer Desk
Posts: 323
Current Game: swtor
Contest winner - Modding 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Sapiens View Post
try the creative suite code, 1130-1414-7569-4457-6613-5551. it should work
That didn't work either. do I need to download creative suite before I can get PS?




Lets rock and role play!

http://xat.com/TSLModding
Warlord664 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 09:34 PM   #31
Darth Sapiens
Rookie
 
Darth Sapiens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 110
Current Game: tslrcm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlord664 View Post
That didn't work either. do I need to download creative suite before I can get PS?
well, i would download the entire suite any way because who knows how long it well be up for. so, yes, try that.
Darth Sapiens is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 11:59 PM   #32
Warlord664
Junior Member
 
Warlord664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Computer Desk
Posts: 323
Current Game: swtor
Contest winner - Modding 
Okay I got it all sorted out, thanks for the help.




Lets rock and role play!

http://xat.com/TSLModding
Warlord664 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Adobe Giving Away CS2 For Free

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.