lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KotOR widescreen scaling (1366x768)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-09-2013, 06:02 AM   #1
Lestat57
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
KotOR widescreen scaling (1366x768)

Hi there, my first time on this site

TL;DR - need mod which would move the position of cursor by 17 pixels upwards and GUI mod to fit res 1366x785 (there already are some GUI mods for other resolutions) (EDIT: actually 1366x768 because that one is actually displayed). Or some creative workaround.

The problem with this game seems simple to an unprofessional eye (my eye) but may be challenging or impossibru in reality (due to cursor being HW accelerated; SW acceleration isn't an option as it moves only in the middle "square" if the resolution is too big and lags anyway)

KotOR, being an older game, doesn't natively support widescreen resolutions. There are some workarounds around this so you can set up custom resolution (found on http://www.wsgf.org/article/star-war...s-old-republic ) BUT there is one problem:

If you set height to be less than 785 pixels, the texts won't display correctly (= not at all). Say you have native 1366x768 res AND graphic card incapable of downscaling (which is 9 out of 10 cases). The only working option you have is to set up a custom 1366x785 resolution, which makes the game work without problems but results in the fcked up GUI (which should be pretty easy to correct for someone who knows the drill) and the tip of the cursor appearing 17 pixels under it's actual position (due to resolution being bigger than your screen is displaying).

Just so you can imagine it - say you float the cursor down over the menu options. Instead of different options to highlight when you actually run over it with with the tip of cursor, it highlights 17 pixels "later", when you already are in the middle - which can result in cursor appearing already in the other option while still highlighting the upper option box.


Don't know if I explained myself clearly but I trust many users have 1366x768 (or similar) and are experiencing this problem and many would be grateful if something could be done about it.

Would it be possible?

If not the cursor, can someone please at least set up a custom 1366x768 GUI? I'd be very grateful.

Last edited by Lestat57; 05-09-2013 at 06:15 AM.
Lestat57 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2013, 03:57 PM   #2
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan
ANTA BAKAAA?!
 
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Over the bridge from Australia
Posts: 1,214
I have the same problem as you. I've got a laptop with Nvidia Optimus (Nvidia GT 540m + Intel HD 3000) and a 1366x768 screen. Optimus apparently can't do resolution downscaling, which annoys me to no end.

I seem to recall making a thread about the problem, but can't seem to find it now. Odd.

Anyway, I've found a solution to this banal problem through the use of a program called Flawless Widescreen.
This program is awesome. It's made for making games run properly at "super-widescreen resolutions", but It works for 1366x768 as well (and presumable any other widescreen resolution). It has a specially made plugin for KotOR, that automatically makes the game run at your desired resolution, while dynamically creating properly scaled menu backgrounds and HUD item placements. Movies are scaled properly, and most impressively, *dialogue is displayed correctly*. It does all this through memory manipulation, so there's no need to patch the game's exe like with UniWS (this also means that it works fine with the Steam version of the game, i.e. no need for cracks). You don't even need to do any swkotor.ini editing - FWS does it all for you.


So here's how to do it:

tl;dr: Install Flawless Widescreen + KotOR plugin; run KotOR with FWS in the background; change resolution in-game to 1366x768; play.

Full steps:

Show spoiler



Here are some screenshots demonstrating it working:






FWS's developers deserve a medal. They've provided a solution to a problem that's being plaguing laptop KotOR users for years. If I wasn't a broke university student, I'd donate these guys some money right now.



mfw I read the Revan novel

it is not a cry of joy.
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2013, 09:09 PM   #3
Sith Holocron
M4-78
 
Sith Holocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pasadena, MD(Nar Shaddaa East)
Posts: 1,340
Current Game: The Old Republic
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Is there a TSL plugin for that program too?




Considering trying out (or returning to) SWTOR? You may as well go through my link and help get me some SWTOR referral points!
Sith Holocron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2013, 12:31 AM   #4
UnifyingForce
Rookie
 
UnifyingForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 25
Current Game: KotOR 2, Halo 4
I get an SSL error when I go to the site. It says it's server has an expired certificate. I don't know if I should trust it :/
UnifyingForce is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2013, 03:17 PM   #5
UnifyingForce
Rookie
 
UnifyingForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 25
Current Game: KotOR 2, Halo 4
It didn't give me a new resolution option
UnifyingForce is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2013, 01:51 PM   #6
rev1011
Rookie
 
rev1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Current Game: Kotor 2. Skyrim. Shaiya.
Post :D

I know this thread is a few months old, but I just want to thank the person who made or posted the Flawless widescreen program link.
Every time I used to play KotOR, it would be fine, years and years of perfect play-threw, but that was until last year in September. From then on, both my KotOR and KotOR II crashed when I would try to play it in full screen mode. I tried different resolutions, different patches, guides, advice from forums for weeks, re-installing things in different order to see if there were conflicts with the patches on KotOR or my system. I tried so many things, endlessly until I gave up trying to play in full screen.

This Flawless link, increased the max screen size I could use, and prevented the crashes during start up (other than the crash I always the first time I change resolution). It also allowed me to then use my full gaming graphics (which I could not before-hand for unknown reasons). o.O

Anyway, for me the set-up was a little different than what was mentioned above, but only slightly.



Last edited by rev1011; 09-20-2013 at 01:54 PM. Reason: Grammar Nazi's everywhere.
rev1011 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > KotOR widescreen scaling (1366x768)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.