lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Korriban Tomb Discovery
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-24-2013, 04:01 PM   #1
LDR
Your Death Angel
 
LDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amerikhastan
Posts: 1,101
Current Game: GTA V
Helpful! Roleplayer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
Korriban Tomb Discovery

I made an interesting discovery today. I was fiddling around with MindTwistah's Teleporter 2000 armbands and I learned that there were tombs cut from Korriban. Now, I already knew this, but I had thought that they removed the tombs themselves from the Korriban model. Turns out they didn't, except for one it seems.

Well, here's some screens. This is the one south from Ajunta Pall's Tomb:
Show spoiler


And this is the one south from Marka Ragnos's Tomb. (I was phased through a rock so there are some texture issues. I didn't have the patience to try to get a better shot.):
Show spoiler


Here is the one north of Tulak Hord's Tomb:
Show spoiler


And surprisingly, there isn't one north from Naga Sadow's Tomb. But if you look closely the rock where the tomb would have been is discolored (tannish-brown instead of reddish-brown). This is the one that was removed, it would seem:
Show spoiler


Also, here's a picture I took of the center statues. It makes a great screensaver:
Show spoiler


Now, you can all see where I'm going with this. I would like to know if there is a way I could add bridges that cut through the rock to the two southernmost tombs without having to remake the entire model. Of course, I'd need help with walkmesh and UV mapping. I already know what textures could be used for the bridges though.

If anyone could shed some more light on this then it'd be greatly appreciated. This area of modding isn't exactly my forté.



Forgive, but never forget. No amount of DLC can take back lying to your fan base. Trust is earned, not downloaded.



My Mods
Current Mod Thread

Last edited by LDR; 06-24-2013 at 04:07 PM.
LDR is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2013, 04:07 PM   #2
darthtyren
Rookie
 
darthtyren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kotor Tool folder
Posts: 144
Which game is it in? KotOR or TSL?


Good with dialogues and getting better
Working on Scripting and Module Editing/Re-skinning
Started work on Modeling New Areas
darthtyren is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2013, 04:08 PM   #3
LDR
Your Death Angel
 
LDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amerikhastan
Posts: 1,101
Current Game: GTA V
Helpful! Roleplayer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
Kotor. I didn't check TSL.

EDIT: Turns out, they're in TSL too. Exactly the same, even with the discoloration.



Forgive, but never forget. No amount of DLC can take back lying to your fan base. Trust is earned, not downloaded.



My Mods
Current Mod Thread

Last edited by LDR; 06-24-2013 at 04:14 PM.
LDR is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2013, 04:44 PM   #4
darthtyren
Rookie
 
darthtyren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kotor Tool folder
Posts: 144
Well, I suppose it could be possible. But I'm afraid I don't quite understand walkmeshes enough to add it in.


Good with dialogues and getting better
Working on Scripting and Module Editing/Re-skinning
Started work on Modeling New Areas
darthtyren is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2013, 05:00 PM   #5
Vindikorr
Rookie
 
Vindikorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 120
Current Game: TOR
EDIT: Scrap what I said, looking at the model, m36aa_01, containing the valley and surrounding rocks, you would need to edit that to add the bridges me thinks. Good news is, it's only one model, and the rest can be left as they are.

Anyway, love the find, please try and do this, it would be brilliant

I reckon what would be quite cool though, for the south ones at least, is to have paths diverging from the path leading to the academy, that way you could maybe see the platform that leads to the tomb from the valley, but you'd have to go searching to actually find the way there, might make it a bit more interesting. You could even have a path leading through the caves, if it isn't too much work


My WIP: The Liberation of Manaan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Totalbiscuit
Can tell it's been a busy day, 121 Chrome tabs open
28.04428% on the geek test

Bile Beans keep you healthy, bright-eyed and slim

Last edited by Vindikorr; 06-24-2013 at 05:15 PM.
Vindikorr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2013, 06:05 PM   #6
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 324
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthtyren View Post
Well, I suppose it could be possible. But I'm afraid I don't quite understand walkmeshes enough to add it in.
I'm lazy so here the deal I will make you; you take care of the bridges, and the gaps, and I will Handel the walkmesh and texturing if you do that?


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor
supreme kotor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2013, 07:12 PM   #7
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,497
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Word of warning: you will mess up the light maps if you edit the model. The walkmesh maybe not but the model you will. I recommend making a placeable of the bridges and only edit the walkmesh.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2013, 09:48 AM   #8
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,758
Current Game: KotOR II
http://lucasforums.com/showpost.php?...0&postcount=62

They're not cut tombs; the only things here are some entrances, far past where the walkable area is, and with no surface leading up to them. So far as I can see, they're purely decorative.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2013, 10:17 AM   #9
LDR
Your Death Angel
 
LDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amerikhastan
Posts: 1,101
Current Game: GTA V
Helpful! Roleplayer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
In that case, I'll improvise. I'll put a placeable that warps you to underground caves, and you could access the two tombs from there.



Forgive, but never forget. No amount of DLC can take back lying to your fan base. Trust is earned, not downloaded.



My Mods
Current Mod Thread
LDR is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2013, 10:58 AM   #10
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 978
Helpful! 
Just so you know, you might be better off doing the placeable because the odds of those two tomb entry points having a walkmesh is kind of slim. This is kind of a rig of getting around it but if you remember the lightup floor panels in the Temple of the Ancients Catacombs, you may be able to set those up as the walkmesh and make them invisible by editing the texture.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2013, 04:41 PM   #11
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 573
Current Game: Skyrim
Red face Interesting ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious View Post
http://lucasforums.com/showpost.php?...0&postcount=62
They're not cut tombs; the only things here are some entrances, far past where the walkable area is, and with no surface leading up to them. So far as I can see, they're purely decorative.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDR View Post
In that case, I'll improvise. I'll put a placeable that warps you to underground caves, and you could access the two tombs from there.
how about a walking path to one of these "tempting tomb-styled" holes and an entry point to load a new cell there? (with the "real" tomb there based on another module obvious)

possible? I'm insane??

keep poping-up these surprising "finds"


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Korriban Tomb Discovery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:13 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.