lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Do kotor/TSL run good under 64 bits SO?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-29-2013, 06:35 PM   #1
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 587
Current Game: Skyrim
Red face Do kotor/TSL run good under 64 bits SO?

hey there ... I started this to know your opinions and experiences about how "smoothly" do these KotOR/TSL games run under Windows 7 64 bits systems, like Win 7 Ultimate 64 bits.

too many CTDs in comparison to a Win 7 or XP 32 bits installation??

tips to run these under Win 7 64 bits? video cutscenes crashing probably? dialogs issues maybe??

thanks on advance!


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2013, 07:46 PM   #2
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
I've had no more issues with Win7-64 than I did with WinXP (32).
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2013, 02:24 PM   #3
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 587
Current Game: Skyrim
Cool Guy Excellent ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
I've had no more issues with Win7-64 than I did with WinXP (32).
thanks alot AGAIN Achilles ... good to hear that.


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2013, 03:27 PM   #4
Sith Sizzle
Rookie
 
Sith Sizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL USA
Posts: 136
Current Game: KotOR on PC
The crashes don't have anything to do with it being a 32-bit or 64-bit computer, they have to do with running the game on a newer OS than what the game was designed for such as Windows 7. I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit laptop and I still had to run the game in compatibility mode for Windows XP (Service Pack 2) and as an administrator. However I only had to do this for KOTOR, TSL runs fine. If anything having a 64-bit system just means it can handle larger amounts of RAM more effectively making the game run better.


Sith Sizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2013, 10:13 PM   #5
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 587
Current Game: Skyrim
Wink SysOp eh?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sith Sizzle View Post
The crashes don't have anything to do with it being a 32-bit or 64-bit computer, they have to do with running the game on a newer OS than what the game was designed for such as Windows 7. I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit laptop and I still had to run the game in compatibility mode for Windows XP (Service Pack 2) and as an administrator. However I only had to do this for KOTOR, TSL runs fine. If anything having a 64-bit system just means it can handle larger amounts of RAM more effectively making the game run better.
more goods news then. For my migration from 32 to 64 Win 7 I mean

Yup, SysOp issues do explain why you have to run KotOR with compatibility mode for Windows XP eh?

TSL runs for u even without compatibility for Win XP, dude? more good news ...

and yes. I've been reading and seems like ATI cards are the ones with more problems with KotOR games, as others stated on other of my late threads.

thanks Sith Sizzle. Keep reporting to this thread folks


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2013, 03:43 AM   #6
Sith Sizzle
Rookie
 
Sith Sizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL USA
Posts: 136
Current Game: KotOR on PC
I know this is an old thread, but I was just curious as to how your game has been running...good? Another thing I should have mentioned is to make it so the game starts in windowed mode to avoid it crashing to the desktop. It doesn't always happen, but this prevents that if it ever does. Once it starts you can make the screen bigger again. My game very rarely crashes during cut scenes so I keep the screen full throughout gameplay, but if you're worried about it you can put it in windowed mode and then go full screen again during gameplay.


Sith Sizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Do kotor/TSL run good under 64 bits SO?

Tags
64 bits, kotor, tsl, ultimate, windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.