lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KotOR Modding Assistance Needed
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-09-2013, 02:10 PM   #1
THess
Lurker
 
THess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
KotOR Modding Assistance Needed

I'm new to the world of modding, and just got a copy of KotOR for Mac. I know, I know; if I wanted to mod I should have gotten a PC version and ran it through wineskin. Hindsight is however 20-20. Having spent several days leaning about merging .2da files and the KotOR tool, I've determined that there's no way I can do this on my machine.

What I'm hoping for is that some kind soul will be generous enough to merge two pairs of .2da files for me and upload them somewhere. I don't know if I need the modders permissions to even ask this, but I've seen one thread where merging was requested and done with no problem. Anyway, there are two appearance.2da files I would like to merge and two upcrystals.2da files.

Crixler's New Saber Colors
http://www.mediafire.com/download/3g...Colors+2.1.zip
with
ChAINz Longsaber Crystals
http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...tal_Pack;66249

Jabba's Palace mod
http://warpedproductions.echonetwork.net/jabba.html
with
Yavin IV
http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...om/file/;93497

As I said, I don't know what I need to do to merge .2da files. I have been able to get mods to work with my Mac, I just need help with merging. I hope this thread is in the right place, I put it where I thought people would see it!
THess is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2013, 04:36 AM   #2
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Merging isn't hard. You just need to select the entire row by clicking the grey box to the left of row of interest, copy, create a new line, select the entire new row, and paste. However all the files that looked at the reference to the copied row will need to be updated to look for the new reference row.

Another way of saying this is that let's say for example that the upcrystals.2da file has 20 rows in a normal file. Both Crixler's and Chainz's mod include 1 new row for a total of 21 and you want to take Chain's and merge it with Crixler's for a total of 22 rows. You will need to take the files from Chainz's mod which are looking for row 21 for all the parameters to row 22 now.

Let me know if this doesn't make sense.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2013, 08:09 AM   #3
THess
Lurker
 
THess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
No it makes sense, and I wish it was that easy, but Macs can't properly read .2da files. You can open them with notepad, but the first part of the text is a mixture of accented English letters, symbols, and Greek characters. Then there's a series of consecutive numbers (sometimes with a few missing) with tab spaces between them. Lastly you have the actual game files listed, but they're all typed together in a single list without breaks between them.

Here's what they look like to me:

2DA V2.b
label template shortmdlvar longmdlvar doublemdlvar 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 #1?DSbp~∞≈ˇ!/=CScr∑∆BLUEG_W_SBRCRSTL14g_w_short sbr01g_w_lghtsbr01G_W_DBLSBR001GOLDG_W_SBRCRSTL15g _w_shortsbr04g_w_lghtsbr04G_W_DBLSBR004GREENG_W_SB RCRSTL16g_w_shortsbr03g_w_lghtsbr03G_W_DBLSBR003VI OLETG_W_SBRCRSTL17g_w_shortsbr05g_w_lghtsbr05G_W_D BLSBR005REDG_W_SBRCRSTL18g_w_shortsbr02g_w_lghtsbr 02G_W_DBLSBR002HeartG1_W_SBRCRSTL20g1_w_shortsbr01 g1_w_lghtsbr01G1_W_DBLSBR001MantleG1_W_SBRCRSTL21g 1_w_shortsbr02g1_w_lghtsbr02G1_W_DBLSBR002

Last edited by mimartin; 11-10-2013 at 09:55 AM.
THess is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2013, 08:42 AM   #4
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Have you tried installing KotOR tool through wineskin? Do you happen to have excel... http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=147961



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2013, 08:08 PM   #5
THess
Lurker
 
THess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
I do have Excel, but (surprise) the Mac version can't read the .xla file you directed me to. That would have made it too easy. I haven't tried installing it through wineskin because the version I bought was Aspyr's "Star Wars Mac Pack". It's KotOR and Empire at War written specifically for Mac's operating system. Running it through wineskin wouldn't work then would it? Admittedly, I've never run a program through an emulator, and I'm not quite sure how they work. Are there any universally written programs that can edit .2da files?


THess is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2013, 08:27 PM   #6
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by THess View Post
I do have Excel, but (surprise) the Mac version can't read the .xla file you directed me to. That would have made it too easy. I haven't tried installing it through wineskin because the version I bought was Aspyr's "Star Wars Mac Pack". It's KotOR and Empire at War written specifically for Mac's operating system. Running it through wineskin wouldn't work then would it? Admittedly, I've never run a program through an emulator, and I'm not quite sure how they work. Are there any universally written programs that can edit .2da files?
See, I have limited experience with Mac's, none regarding gaming. My fear is because the Mac version is different that some mods may not work on the Mac, I seem to remember reading that somewhere.

Anyway some material that will hopefully be helpful;

Firstly will this work on the Mac?

This thread may also be of assistance.

I hope that is of some help!

Edit: Also I meant have you tried installing KotOR Tool through Wineskin? Apologies if that's a silly question, my knowledge of Macs as said is limited.

This thread may also be of use!



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran

Last edited by jonathan7; 11-10-2013 at 08:41 PM.
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2013, 10:18 PM   #7
Phildevil
Junior Member
 
Phildevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Qubec, Canada
Posts: 457
There are some pretty cheap PC's out there and most that you'll buy will run Kotor just fine... Just saying, that might save you a lot of headache...
Phildevil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2013, 07:58 AM   #8
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
If you are going to get a new computer check out Digital Storm. Yes, they will be expensive but they will out perform anything on the market. A good example is my friend bought a Digital Storm 7 years and it can run Dragon Age Origins flawlessly while my machine I bought 2 years ago can barely handle it. In the near future I'm going to buy a machine with an i7, Nvidia 770 graphics card (nothing on the market will touch the 660 now), and 32 gbs of ram... I should be able to cruise down the interstate at mach 5 with this bad boy.

At the same time the basic machine will do wonders as well. A customer review gave the basic machine a quote saying "ready to game in 6 seconds..."

http://www.digitalstormonline.com/
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > KotOR Modding Assistance Needed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.