Thread: I accidentally set the graphics too high.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-22-2013, 12:16 AM   #1
CommanderAwesome
Rookie
 
CommanderAwesome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 12
Current Game: SWBF1, SWTOR
I accidentally set the graphics too high.

I knew my PC couldn't handle it, but I wanted to see what the "very high" setting looked like if even only for a second, but everything just froze up and now I can't start the game (I was only expecting lag)! How can I undo this?!
CommanderAwesome is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2013, 02:32 AM   #2
Lynk Former
internet hate machine
 
Lynk Former's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,985
10 year veteran! The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer LF Jester 
I'm assuming you're running Windows 7?

There's an ini file that controls the settings for the game...

C:\Users\[Your User Name]\AppData\Local\SWTOR\swtor\settings\client_setting s.ini

First make a copy of the client_settings.ini file and save it on your desktop just in case... next open the original file in the location I stated above and delete all of the text within and replace it with the following...

Code:
[Renderer]
D3DFullScreen = false
Height = 768
NativeHeight = 768
NativeWidth = 1024
TextureAnisotropy = 2
Width = 1024
WindowX = 0
WindowY = 0
MeshLODQuality = 1
doShadows = false
doBlobShadows = false
EnableBloom = false
AllowDepthOfField = false
VerticalSyncState = false
TextureQuality = 1
UseMinSpecShaders = false
FarClipScale = 0.3371195
PlantDensity = 50
AntiAliasingLevel = 1

[Game] 
MoviesFolder = ..\..\Movies 
SwtorRegKey = SOFTWARE\BioWare\Star Wars - The Old Republic
Save it and try logging into swtor and change the settings back to their optimal levels for your PC.

Lynk Former is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2013, 01:54 PM   #3
CommanderAwesome
Rookie
 
CommanderAwesome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 12
Current Game: SWBF1, SWTOR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynk Former View Post
I'm assuming you're running Windows 7?

There's an ini file that controls the settings for the game...

C:\Users\[Your User Name]\AppData\Local\SWTOR\swtor\settings\client_setting s.ini

First make a copy of the client_settings.ini file and save it on your desktop just in case... next open the original file in the location I stated above and delete all of the text within and replace it with the following...

Code:
[Renderer]
D3DFullScreen = false
Height = 768
NativeHeight = 768
NativeWidth = 1024
TextureAnisotropy = 2
Width = 1024
WindowX = 0
WindowY = 0
MeshLODQuality = 1
doShadows = false
doBlobShadows = false
EnableBloom = false
AllowDepthOfField = false
VerticalSyncState = false
TextureQuality = 1
UseMinSpecShaders = false
FarClipScale = 0.3371195
PlantDensity = 50
AntiAliasingLevel = 1

[Game] 
MoviesFolder = ..\..\Movies 
SwtorRegKey = SOFTWARE\BioWare\Star Wars - The Old Republic
Save it and try logging into swtor and change the settings back to their optimal levels for your PC.
I use XP, but don't worry, I know the directory.
CommanderAwesome is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2013, 03:12 PM   #4
CommanderAwesome
Rookie
 
CommanderAwesome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 12
Current Game: SWBF1, SWTOR
Hmmm... it's still crashing.


Rayce Jonson - Lvl 17 Guardian

Lee'kai Skykiller - Lvl 18 Commando
CommanderAwesome is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2013, 05:54 PM   #5
Lynk Former
internet hate machine
 
Lynk Former's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,985
10 year veteran! The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer LF Jester 
Try cutting out client_setting s.ini and Graphics_Mirror.ini from the folder and on to your desktop and then starting them game. Perhaps it'll reset to defaults and create new ini files.

Lynk Former is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2013, 12:45 PM   #6
CommanderAwesome
Rookie
 
CommanderAwesome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 12
Current Game: SWBF1, SWTOR
Never mind it works now. Thanks for the help!


Rayce Jonson - Lvl 17 Guardian

Lee'kai Skykiller - Lvl 18 Commando
CommanderAwesome is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars: The Old Republic MMO Forums > Game Discussion > Taris Recovery Center > I accidentally set the graphics too high.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump