lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: [KOTOR]A mod to fix the Korriban Student Tasks?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-02-2014, 12:27 PM   #1
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
[KOTOR]A mod to fix the Korriban Student Tasks?

Hey, I haven't been on here for AGES, and I came back to see the community and how it was doing. So hi Well, I decided to start KotOR up again, and I've always got this glitch on Korriban, where you do ALL of the student tasks (kill the droids, retrieve the sword, ect), and you can only turn in a few, so they always remain there in your inventory like a bad smell.

If anyone could suggest a way to fix this, or know any mod that helps, I'd be grateful. (I do know how to mod but it has been a long time since Kotor tool has even been opened).


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2014, 07:06 PM   #2
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 552
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateHK47 View Post
Hey, I haven't been on here for AGES, and I came back to see the community and how it was doing. So hi Well, I decided to start KotOR up again, and I've always got this glitch on Korriban, where you do ALL of the student tasks (kill the droids, retrieve the sword, ect), and you can only turn in a few, so they always remain there in your inventory like a bad smell.

If anyone could suggest a way to fix this, or know any mod that helps, I'd be grateful. (I do know how to mod but it has been a long time since Kotor tool has even been opened).
Nice to hear from you UltimateHK!

I can look into it. It should be a simple matter of:

1. Using KT or KSE to find out the completion states of the tasks
2. If necessary, add a journal state for the task not being necessary
3. Making a script that fires from Uthar Wynn's dialogue that closes any of the quests...


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2014, 07:47 PM   #3
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
Nice to hear from you UltimateHK!

I can look into it. It should be a simple matter of:

1. Using KT or KSE to find out the completion states of the tasks
2. If necessary, add a journal state for the task not being necessary
3. Making a script that fires from Uthar Wynn's dialogue that closes any of the quests...

I think a nice little fix to close it is all that's needed. I may have a go at it myself, to get back in shape, and what you say makes sense. It'd be handy if I could have a save game to access that near-exact point in the game. I think what would need to happen is when you are eligible for the final test, a script would fire after Uthar tells you to meet him, which would make all the journal entries go to the completion state like you had turned them in previously when getting prestige. Does that make sense? I'm rusty at this :P


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2014, 08:40 PM   #4
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 552
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateHK47 View Post
I think a nice little fix to close it is all that's needed. I may have a go at it myself, to get back in shape, and what you say makes sense. It'd be handy if I could have a save game to access that near-exact point in the game. I think what would need to happen is when you are eligible for the final test, a script would fire after Uthar tells you to meet him, which would make all the journal entries go to the completion state like you had turned them in previously when getting prestige. Does that make sense? I'm rusty at this :P
Well...

I used KSE to check the journal entries for the seven possible tasks(counting the code of the sith from Yuthura, since it gets prestige) and have it mostly done. I have the script that would set the journals to "done" ready and compiling.

However...

I have a small snag. The Sword of Ajunta Pall quest. Going by the entries alone, I'm not certain which events the game counts as closing the quest. Do you mind giving your opinion on which ones could be 'closers' by default, without modding?

Show spoiler


I'm also writing a new journal entry for each quest, to make it more real, since there aren't any for not completing them in time.


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2014, 08:55 AM   #5
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
Show spoiler


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2014, 03:04 AM   #6
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 557
Should be rather easy, the one with End at "1" is (one of) the closing entry of a quest.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2014, 12:42 PM   #7
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 552
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter View Post
Should be rather easy, the one with End at "1" is (one of) the closing entry of a quest.
Unfortunately, KotOR hands us another puzzle:

The journal entries with End: 1...
Show spoiler


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2014, 04:16 PM   #8
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 557
Looks like a bug if all of those end the quest...
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2014, 04:35 PM   #9
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 552
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter View Post
Looks like a bug if all of those end the quest...
That was my thinking. Consequently, I decided to opt with UltimateHK's choice of using the highest condition as the decider. Though I think I'll use the Shaardan one as well.

By the way, did anyone know that there was a cut quest to gather some Rakatan genetic data from inside the temple and give it to some Elder Rakatan scientists? Apparently, they believe that the secret to force sensitivity for their race is locked in genetic data from ages ago. At the time of Revan's visit, the race was apparently not able to feel the Force...


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2014, 04:42 PM   #10
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
That was my thinking. Consequently, I decided to opt with UltimateHK's choice of using the highest condition as the decider. Though I think I'll use the Shaardan one as well.

By the way, did anyone know that there was a cut quest to gather some Rakatan genetic data from inside the temple and give it to some Elder Rakatan scientists? Apparently, they believe that the secret to force sensitivity for their race is locked in genetic data from ages ago. At the time of Revan's visit, the race was apparently not able to feel the Force...


Woah, where did you find that out?


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2014, 04:47 PM   #11
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 552
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateHK47 View Post
Woah, where did you find that out?
Open the global.jrl using K-GFF and go to struct 60. I cross-referenced the StrRefs using TalkEd...

EDIT:
The entries in dialog.tlk are 42856-42858:
Show spoiler


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!

Last edited by Fair Strides 2; 01-05-2014 at 04:53 PM.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2014, 02:39 AM   #12
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 557
You do realise that's actually a quest in the game? It's not cut.

Quote:
As for the real blade, that can probably be turned into Master Uthar
Only now realised the funny typo here . Don't know if you made it or the questentry is written as such.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2014, 08:08 AM   #13
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 552
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter View Post
You do realise that's actually a quest in the game? It's not cut.


Only now realised the funny typo here . Don't know if you made it or the questentry is written as such.
I did realize that later, yeah...

as for the typo, I assume you mean the phrase "... turned into Master Uthat..." which could be corrected "...turned in to Master Uthar..."?


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2014, 02:41 AM   #14
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 557
Yeah, it should read 'in to', not 'into'...
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > [KOTOR]A mod to fix the Korriban Student Tasks?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:58 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.