lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Editing
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-19-2002, 08:40 PM   #1
Indy4
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 654
Editing

go over to the editing forum somone says the heard that there will

BE editing

check it out


SEYA
Indy4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2002, 08:41 PM   #2
TrUeFoRcE
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: ny
Posts: 402
my guess is that there will be editing, raven usually allows editing, plus editing was a huge part of normal JK so i dont see why it shouldnt be possible in jk2
TrUeFoRcE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2002, 08:44 PM   #3
SaberPro
00 Agent
 
SaberPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Death Star III
Posts: 1,082
Quote:
Originally posted by TrUeFoRcE
my guess is that there will be editing, raven usually allows editing, plus editing was a huge part of normal JK so i dont see why it shouldnt be possible in jk2
I think editing JKII would be like editing Q3A...with QRadiant and program like that...but when it comes to skinning, you might need 3D Studio MAX, which costs a couple hundred bucks


SaberPro
Alliance of the Jedi (AOJ)
ZoneFriend = AOJ_SaberPro

"The Force is with you young Skywalker...but you are not a Jedi yet!" - Darth Vader
SaberPro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2002, 09:08 PM   #4
Lord_FinnSon
 
Lord_FinnSon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 733
You might wanna use gmax instead, because it's FREE and you can practically do a lot of things that you can do with 3D Studio MAX. Here is a little bit info:
Quote:
Intended to be a fully capable 3D level editing, modeling, animation, and texture mapping tool, gmax™ ships with a full suite of professional 3D content and animation features. Discreet approved game developers can publish gmax "game packs", which customize the downloadable version of gmax into a fully featured level editor for supported game titles.
This is designed especially for those players, who wanna modify and edit games...


Remember, the Force will be with you... always!
Lord_FinnSon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2002, 09:11 PM   #5
SaberPro
00 Agent
 
SaberPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Death Star III
Posts: 1,082
Cool program! Thanks!


SaberPro
Alliance of the Jedi (AOJ)
ZoneFriend = AOJ_SaberPro

"The Force is with you young Skywalker...but you are not a Jedi yet!" - Darth Vader
SaberPro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2002, 09:20 AM   #6
nykel007
 
nykel007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 476
Oh, please, please let there be editing!

Have no fear there should be editing.


TriniJedi
nykel007 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2002, 09:40 AM   #7
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Editing would be in Ravens favour. If it wasnt for editing, JK would have died out years ago.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2002, 11:19 AM   #8
The Truthful Liar
In-Transit
 
The Truthful Liar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blasting out of trajectory in a suit of terracotta
Posts: 3,548
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
um...

errr... right... I've been using Gmax for a while and I have concluded: I litterally can now be dubbed "Sir Suxalot" In 3d Editing.

I seriously find it VERY difficult to use it - it's probably just me. I'm a designer and I work with Graphics...

...This is a new field for me somewhat - and a small dilemma I have is wether I should get into the 'Editing' Community of JK2 or just Game and get good at it?

(Yes that is a question silly plz I would like some feedback)

Maybe I should open up a new topic on wether I should Edit JK2 or just accept what comes (as in Mods and levels) and play to my hearts content.

Aye the problems of tomorrow shall I face today! (or soon)

I would really really appreciate some comments regarding my situation.

My Regards to you All,

AB_Legion_AB

~"Because I respect people who do something worthwhile"~

(P.S. - one small point is that I have looked into Q3 Editing and there are UNLIMITED Resources and things to learn, it is really endless - will JK2 be like that? or Hopefully will JK2 have a more structured center like Massassi & JK1 Editing? - Seriously I find the Q3 Editing much to vast for me. - I much prefer the Massassi 'style' of handling the JK1 Editing and I hope they also continue)
The Truthful Liar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2002, 11:23 AM   #9
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
I've actually never editied for JK or Quake 3.....but I am hoping to learn when the game finally comes out after I've completed it at least 5 times. I know the basics, but not the complicated stuff. I should learn it pretty quick........and if I start downloading from the beginning I can get every single mod and level


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2002, 05:01 PM   #10
Omne
 
Omne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Yeah...JK editing was fun, and I look forward to starting many levels that never see the light of day for JKII.


We're gonna summon the holy ghost from the battlefield...and in the mornin' this whole world won't be the same - Widespread Panic
Omne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2002, 05:09 PM   #11
SaberPro
00 Agent
 
SaberPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Death Star III
Posts: 1,082
Quote:
Originally posted by Omne
Yeah...JK editing was fun, and I look forward to starting many levels that never see the light of day for JKII.
JK Map editing is a real pain. JED is the best program to edit maps but it is REALLY frustrating. JKEdit is easier to make, but you can only make simple JK maps...


SaberPro
Alliance of the Jedi (AOJ)
ZoneFriend = AOJ_SaberPro

"The Force is with you young Skywalker...but you are not a Jedi yet!" - Darth Vader
SaberPro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2002, 11:24 AM   #12
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
By using a few tricks you will be able to use GtkRadiant to edit JK2. Only entities will become a problem but you'll probably get feedback on that from Raven.

Being good at the game and mapping at the same time is quite hard. I used to be with the top of Elite Force a few months ago, we won the clanbase finals. This season I don't get to play the big matches (quarter,semi,final) because I am not good enough anymore. At that moment I wondered if I made a mistake by focusing on mapping. But 1 week later I won the RavenBoards mapping competition, which was really rewarding... It is hard to make a choice, and sometimes you'll never know wether you made the right one.


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2002, 09:49 PM   #13
JPMaximilian
 
JPMaximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mos Eisley, Tatooine
Posts: 362
Can you make weapons with GMax?


JPMaximilian
The Toydarian Dealer

Hi chuba da nago?
JPMaximilian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2002, 10:25 PM   #14
Lord_FinnSon
 
Lord_FinnSon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 733
Yeah, I'm pretty sure. Of course Raven could post JK2 game pack after game itself has been published, so editing it with gmax wasn't so hard. BTW, there is already tempest game pack which helps you to build and compile a Quake III level using the gmax. I haven't tried it myself, but it might be worth of checking out. I found it from gmaxsupport which also has additional tutorials(in quicktime format) and importers.


Remember, the Force will be with you... always!
Lord_FinnSon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2002, 11:05 PM   #15
Gonkish
 
Gonkish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Way out there...
Posts: 97
actually, JK editing was never sanctioned nor supported by LEC.

That's why the community had to make their own editing tools (JED, PJedi, etc.). The only reason JK is as editable as it is is due to the fact that when the JK team wrote the engine, they purposely made it editable because they knew that editing was going to happen anyway, and they supported it even if LEC didn't.

BTW, LEC has the final say as to JO being editable or not, though, considering the propagation of editing tools for each and ever Q3 engine game, and the extensive experience people have had with them (stretching back to Q2 or earlier), it'd be kind of strange for them to make JK2 uneditable. Especially when you consider someone will just hack it open and somehow make QeRadiant adaptable to the engine anyway...
Gonkish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2002, 01:27 AM   #16
Broode
 
Broode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Aussieland
Posts: 243
It is possible that they could disallow editing in the EULA, such as what was planned for Obi-Wan back when it was for PC. Don't ask me why they would do that, given Half-Life's success with editing *coughcounterstrikecough*, seeing as it is now the most played multiplayer game EVER. But LEC has always had something about protecting the Star Wars licence by disallowing editing of any kind. Back in JK times, mods were not nearly as big as they are now, so as soon as counter-strike became popular they put their foot down on Obi-Wan. I sure hope they come to their sences and reallise editing is good for a game (and their sales... how many different half-life packages have you seen? ).
Broode is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2002, 04:22 AM   #17
Redwing
thedeadlymoose
 
Redwing's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: California
Posts: 17,238
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran LF Jester 
LEC simply requires the license agreement put up with the mod/level made. And they have allowed the technically illegal editing of the game X-Wing Alliance to go on for a long time, probably because they have no reason to stop it.


Redwing is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Editing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.