lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Q about pings
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-27-2002, 04:39 PM   #1
Bryarpistol
 
Bryarpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 16
Question Q about pings

Is 130 through 180 an acceptable ping to play JK2 with sabers?

Thx
Bryarpistol is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2002, 04:46 PM   #2
CapitalB
 
CapitalB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 18
hmm not sure, I'm usually getting around a 40-60. You on 56K?


-Cap
CapitalB is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2002, 04:59 PM   #3
Shamrock
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 6
I get pings of 60-100 on my cable modem and i can say it isn't as easy to kill a human as against the bots. Maybe i need to go on better servers.


How did Vader know Luke was getting JKII for Christmas?
He felt his presents!!
Shamrock is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2002, 05:11 PM   #4
Bryarpistol
 
Bryarpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 16
I have a slow (512/256) ADSL, and most servers are in other countries. The ones in my country (Spain) normally get 80 or so.
Bryarpistol is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2002, 05:25 PM   #5
OnlyOneCanoli
Paranoid Bandroid
 
OnlyOneCanoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Fl, USA
Posts: 1,734
Sure, it's acceptable. 180 isn't a great ping for a broadband user, but it will get the job done. It depends a lot on the server, too. My cable will be getting about 120 on average servers, which is more than fast enough to compete on the Q3 netcode. I'd say anything under 250 is manageable, speaking from my 28.8k and 56k background. Others that have been spoiled with broadband for years may say that 120 is too high for them. There's a lot of preference involved.

Enough rambling. That ping will be fine.
OnlyOneCanoli is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-29-2002, 11:25 AM   #6
BobDude
 
BobDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: up your butt and around the corner.
Posts: 24
Obviously, hope for the lower ping. 100-180 is okay, but you probably don't want to get it any higher then that. Just look for the games with the lowest pings in the category you want and you should be okay!
BobDude is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-29-2002, 12:55 PM   #7
Vanor
 
Vanor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 186
That should be fine...

I'm on a 56k modem, and played lastnight. I lowered my rate to 3000 in the console, and that dropped my ping down to 200-250 range.

On a friends cable modem, the game was basicly lag free in our saber fights. I had a bit of a slow down a few times, but it happed like 2 or 3 times in a 20 min game, and only lasted a sec or two.

After JK, playing JK2 is a dream come true for a saberest lag wise.

I mean, in JK2, I can swing and honest expect to hit based on where the other persons model shows up on my screen. Unlike in JK, where I tipicaly had to email him a few days in advance that I was going to swing now
Vanor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Q about pings

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.