lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: !!BIg QuestioN!!!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-08-2002, 05:46 AM   #1
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
!!BIg QuestioN!!!

Alright, I have the concept down of taking JK2 skins and painting my own over them. But how do I make my own skins? And im not talking about using Ravens models. I mean, lets say I make Mowmaw(hammerhead). I have him completely modeled in 3dsmax. Now I want to make a skin for him. How? I dont want separate textures on different image files. I want all of the textures on one image(legs, torso, head...the works).

So i just make an image 256x256 and make my own textures from scratch then use UVW wrapping to fit it on my model?

Help me out. A sheer outline/concept of the idea would help me, but an in-depth explanation would be much more apreciated.
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 05:55 AM   #2
JRA_Wolf
 
JRA_Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 176
Take a look at UVW Unwrapping tutorials on www.polycount.com
Specifically for Quake 3, but generally any tutorial on Unwrapping a model for skinning will work.
JRA_Wolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 06:28 AM   #3
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
Sorry if I mislead you, but the question I was trying to get help with is, how do you make your own skin and have it compatible for your game model standards, like q3 and jk2, i already know how to UVW wrap
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 06:40 AM   #4
JRA_Wolf
 
JRA_Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 176
Oops, sorry..must have read your message wrong

Well, it's not too difficult..usually skins have to be sized according to the power of 2, so yeah, a 256x256 map, or even better, 512x512. So, you lay out all of the unwrapped parts into the unwrap window in Max (assuming thats what you're using), making sure to get the best use of space, then take a screenshot of the window, put it into photoshop, crop and start skinning...then you go from there. How JK2's models are tagged for specific texures, I'm not sure...perhaps the tools will include some documentation on this subject..
JRA_Wolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 07:10 AM   #5
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
Hey thanks that really helped me.
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > !!BIg QuestioN!!!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.