lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: 'wait' and 'play' console commands
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-06-2002, 01:11 PM   #1
Blenny
 
Blenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
'wait' and 'play' console commands

I've been toying around with a string of console commands to make a little sabre twirl like Obi Wan does fighting Maul in TPM (twirling it by his side when he has some distance between them), just for my own amusment.

Firstly I want to know if there's a console command to make the game play a specific sound effect. Now I've found play - play a sound file (play sound.wav) in a list of Q3 console caommnds. play is listed when you enter cmdlist in the console, but I can't get it to work.

The other thing is the wait command. It seems to last a tiny fraction of a second, where as I need a much longer pause between the other commands. Now I've managed to get the desired effect putting dozens of wait commands one after the other, but I was wondering if anyone knew a neater way to get the same effect. eg. A command similar to wait but with a pause of definable length.

Thanks.
Blenny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 01:36 PM   #2
Vorax
 
Vorax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wired Lamp Studios
Posts: 280
I haven't gotten into the console scripts for JKII, but in other QIII games, 'wait's can be stringed together if you have to. Like this:

wait; wait; wait;

The amount of time that 'wait' waits is one server cycle. Typically in QIII based games that is 20 times a second so apprx. 5ms.

- Vorax

[EDIT]LOL...I just saw the bottom of your message. You already know how to string them...hehehe. To answer the question there, 'wait' is the only thing you can use...as far as I know (97% sure)[/EDIT]


Mapper for: Wired Lamp Studios
Home Page: Vorax Maps
__________________

Last edited by Vorax; 04-06-2002 at 01:53 PM.
Vorax is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 08:15 AM   #3
Blenny
 
Blenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Hmm, well thanks anyway. It's the first time anyone's even tried to answer my question (and I've posted it on a few different JKII forums...).
Blenny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 08:43 AM   #4
FatboyTim
 
FatboyTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The remnants of the Alderaan system
Posts: 94
FYI - There is one major drawback with wait. Whilst waiting, the PC will not accept any other keyboard input, meaning if you use them in a script you will be 'locked' out of doing anything else until it is finished!

See for example (in multiplayer) this 'discosaber' script:

bind X "set color1 0; wait; wait; wait; set color1 1; wait; wait; wait; set color1 2; wait; wait; wait; set color1 3; wait; wait; wait; set color1 4; wait; wait; wait; set color1 5; wait; wait; wait"

Now ingame, hold down 'X' and your lightsaber will cycle through the available colors over and over again. But... release 'X' after a few seconds and all those other queued 'X's will all have to run, before you can use any other keyboard command.


"Charming to the last. You don't know how hard I found it signing the order to terminate your life!"
FatboyTim is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > 'wait' and 'play' console commands

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.