lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Sith Warrior and Darth Maul
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-06-2002, 12:01 AM   #1
WORF
 
WORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Nirauan
Posts: 9
Cool Guy Sith Warrior and Darth Maul

Ok, here are the screenshots of the 2 skins iv been working on. Before I created these, I hadn't worked on a skin since the original quake.





Both skins are finished, I just need somewhere to upload them.

Worf


Join the fight for Freedom at www.isd-imperium.co.uk
WORF is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 12:17 AM   #2
Whoracle
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1
damn could u send me them. I can host it somewhere for u.
Whoracle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 12:43 AM   #3
Limbo
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1
Add me on AIM: Limboistik
Or ICQ: 104944428
I have space where I can host it for you.


Limbo
Limbo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 01:01 AM   #4
studman0201
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 181
Send It to me chris_harris@attbi.com


Use the farce, Luke
studman0201 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 02:13 AM   #5
- PzY -
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 9
I can host them if you can't find anywhere at all... I WANT THEM
- PzY - is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 02:52 AM   #6
Octavius
 
Octavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 43
Just something I thought of while I was looking at the pics. Most people who release skins do not put bot support in with them (as far as I can see so far) and the few that have added bot support, or released their own bots, have terribly messed up by not doing it right (replacing bots.txt is not the right way, I believe there is a post officially from RAVEN about how to do it right somewhere on this forum.)

Just wondering if most people plan to add bot support? I was planning on it, but wanted to get my website done and uploaded before releasing any of them....

See yas later...
=)
Octavius
Octavius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 02:41 PM   #7
aFireiNsiDe
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 9
Post

can you send me the skins!!!! learn_2_burn@yahoo.com

greath work dude! i love the look of em!
aFireiNsiDe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 02:46 PM   #8
mightypea
 
mightypea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 15
send these my way too.
mightypea@planetquake.com

if these are good i'll see about hosting the file too (fileplanet)

*m


mightypea is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 02:47 PM   #9
Knuma
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 23
drop the skin here admin@singularity.dk in z_sithwd.pk3 orsomething named zip then i'll upload it to a site.


Knuma
admin@singularity.dk
Knuma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 03:19 PM   #10
Azzoro
 
Azzoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
worf really good work!! nice skins.

i have a place for uploading the skins so just send me the skins to: azzoro@telia.com and i will tell ya all in this forum thread were you can download them.

cya
Azzoro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 04:42 PM   #11
MeLLo
 
MeLLo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North East USA
Posts: 7
nice job on those skins. i can't wait to see a darth maul without the hood, and then use the double sided saber cheat in multiplayer.
MeLLo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 06:02 PM   #12
Swamp
 
Swamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Slave II
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally posted by Octavius
Just something I thought of while I was looking at the pics. Most people who release skins do not put bot support in with them (as far as I can see so far) and the few that have added bot support, or released their own bots, have terribly messed up by not doing it right (replacing bots.txt is not the right way, I believe there is a post officially from RAVEN about how to do it right somewhere on this forum.)

Just wondering if most people plan to add bot support? I was planning on it, but wanted to get my website done and uploaded before releasing any of them....

See yas later...
=)
Octavius
..i think you are thinking of a new model ... the bot will behave as the reborn, just with a new skin .. am i right anyone?
Swamp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 06:11 PM   #13
mightypea
 
mightypea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 15
nope, you're not
as it stands, you can't play against him (in multiplayer that is, he's not replacing the original reborn skin for SP if that's what you thought) if you're playing against bots.
if you want a bot to wear this skin, you'll need to create a bot for it.

Not that i'm behind bots for every skin.
in q3 i found it to be annoying when the bot list had grown to epical proportions.
also, there's a limit for these things, and if you haev too many bots, it'll stop displaying the oens you install after you've reached and breached this limit.
oh well, suppose it's a matter of taste.

i on the one hand prefer creating bots for the skins i want bots for, but i can just as easily delete the bots that come with skin i don't want them for.

the point is though, i don't really care wether there are bots or not.

but i'd love other people to comment on this.
a matter of knowing wether i should or should not include bots for my skins.

*m


mightypea is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 06:30 PM   #14
Kx_Dra_Sycdan
 
Kx_Dra_Sycdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: California, USA
Posts: 191
Re: Sith Warrior and Darth Maul

Quote:
Originally posted by WORF


Both skins are finished, I just need somewhere to upload them.

Worf



www.massassi.net they host nearly everything related to JK/JO such as skins, maps and mods, i suggest you submit your stuff there.
Kx_Dra_Sycdan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 07:38 PM   #15
Chasers01
 
Chasers01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1
i'll take them as well
redman187@hotmail.com


may the force be with you.
Chasers01 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 07:40 PM   #16
WORF
 
WORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Nirauan
Posts: 9
Thanks for the offers but one of the members from my clan/fleet has posted them on his site.

Take a look, they are the first 2 listed here.

Enjoy!

Worf


Join the fight for Freedom at www.isd-imperium.co.uk
WORF is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 08:10 PM   #17
Swamp
 
Swamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Slave II
Posts: 152
:/ .... thanks might, for the info

i don't want the skins anymore ...
Swamp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 08:12 PM   #18
Swamp
 
Swamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Slave II
Posts: 152
...but can't you just take the default reborn, and replace it with this one? .. i just want the reborn to look like this guy.. y is that so difficult?

i am really illiterate when it comes to quake3 engine, coming from HL i have a tendancy of thinking that everything is the same as HL ... mes stupid
Swamp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 11:31 PM   #19
WORF
 
WORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Nirauan
Posts: 9
Well, I don't know how to make them bots yet, so I havn't included any bot files.

Worf


Join the fight for Freedom at www.isd-imperium.co.uk
WORF is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2002, 12:24 AM   #20
SkyNet
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 71
email to me plz at girnpeter@hotmail.com
SkyNet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2002, 01:06 AM   #21
CiD
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 48
Worf,
Adding bot support for a new skin is fairly simple. But before it can be done you must change a couple of things.

First, lets take your maul skin and work on that.
1. Rename the reborn directory in your pk3 to maul.
2. Copy model.glm, animsounds.cfg, and sounds.cfg from your reborn directory in your assets0.pk3 file into your new maul directory.
3. Rename icon_default_maul.jpg to icon_default.jpg.
4. Rename model_default_maul.skin to model_default.skin
5. Change all the directories in your model_default.skin to point to /maul/texture.tga instead of /reborn/texture.tga

Now that has moved your maul model out of the reborn directory and into it own directory. Now how to add bot support.

1. Create a maul.bot text file in a 'scripts' directory at the same level as the 'models' directory. So in your case for the Maul skin, make a file called maul.bot and in the file add the following:

{
name "Darth_Maul"
model maul
color1 0
personality /botfiles/Reborn.jkb
}

Then save it into a 'scripts' directory at the same level as the 'models' directory and you will have bot support w/o wiping out other peoples bot skins.

A couple of notes on this file: the name cannot have spaces in it, the model is the directory where you have your skin and models, the color1 is the color of the lightsaber for the bot (0 is red, 4 is blue, thats all I know), and the personality file defines how the bot acts (force powers, etc.)

You can make your own personality file for your bot by copying the reborn.jkb to a new maul.jkb, then you could edit certain bot properties to make them unique. If you do create a new personality file, then put that file into a 'botfiles' directory at the same directory level as the 'models' and the 'scripts' directory and change the personality line in your maul.bot file to the new personality file.

One final thing I saw was that your Maul model uses a tga file that is in your sith_reborn pk3. Maybe this was a type-o, but obviously this is not a good idea b/c if someone doesn't d/l both skins their Maul will have a see through stomach.

Now to add bot support for your sith skin then just follow the same directions but use a new directory, sith for example.

If you have any questions about what I said, just ask. I already converted your Maul skin to have bot support on my PC so I know it works.
CiD is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2002, 01:51 AM   #22
UseDaAgression
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 110
lol i d/l him and his torso was missin hehe is that just me?
UseDaAgression is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2002, 05:05 PM   #23
WORF
 
WORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Nirauan
Posts: 9
Thanks for pointing the torso bug out to me, I missed it when I went through the file. I've fixed it and I'll post here again when it has been uploaded to the site.

Now, I'm going to try adding bot support. Thanks for that info too.

Worf


Join the fight for Freedom at www.isd-imperium.co.uk
WORF is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2002, 05:15 PM   #24
UseDaAgression
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 110
Post

no problem
UseDaAgression is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2002, 05:18 PM   #25
WORF
 
WORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Nirauan
Posts: 9
Fast reply, heh. Ok the fixed copy of that skin has been uploaded to the site. It should work ok now.

Worf


Join the fight for Freedom at www.isd-imperium.co.uk
WORF is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2002, 09:32 PM   #26
freonsmurf
 
freonsmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hells Kitchen
Posts: 31
nice work worf, hope the ai thing works out, what happens if I ptu the models in now? they just stand there?

they are still selectable in multiplayer models?


Hazzam Chop! The darkside is weaksauce!
freonsmurf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 02:57 AM   #27
- PzY -
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 9
If Geo****ties goes down you can now get it from my site, http://files.pzyonic.com/
- PzY - is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 05:04 AM   #28
Octavius
 
Octavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 43
Good work Worf, I like it.

I do agree aout the too many bot thing. Maybe that is something I will take into account when I set up my skins. Perhaps in the download section I can include the skin for download, and as an addon, the bot for it. That way, only people who WANT the bots will have it. Kind of like a music addon for a level. A bot addon for a skin....

What do you guys think? Good dea? Bad idea? Shut my trap? Just wondering....
Octavius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 05:19 PM   #29
CiD
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally posted by Octavius
I do agree aout the too many bot thing. Maybe that is something I will take into account when I set up my skins. Perhaps in the download section I can include the skin for download, and as an addon, the bot for it. That way, only people who WANT the bots will have it. Kind of like a music addon for a level. A bot addon for a skin....
I think that is a very good idea, in fact that is what people do sometimes in Q3 (a pk3 for the skin and another for bot support).

If you just packed the bot personality (.jkb file) and the bot script (.bot file) into a pk3 then the user can choose whether or not to use the bot support.
CiD is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Sith Warrior and Darth Maul

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.