lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: accurate ping?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-17-2002, 12:44 AM   #1
jedi jesus
 
jedi jesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: baton rouge
Posts: 31
accurate ping?

how accurate is the jk2 ping stats ? (pressing tab to view scores)

i can be lagging badly and my ping shows at 30

ive even seen pings below 10 for people who arent hosting

i also get this annoying message when i try to connect to some servers, saying that the server is for low pings only, yet jk always shows that my ping is below 60

anyone else having these problems?
jedi jesus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 09:12 AM   #2
ACGe0rge
 
ACGe0rge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 230
I've noticed the same thing. I think the lag can sometimes be caused by someone else in the game. It usually happens to me right before Iget a message that someone has lost their connection. As for the low pings only, I've gotten that message too but have no idea why. All I know is that with my cable modem, I usually get pings around 40-60 but sometimes get as high as 80 or even 100 or higher. I think that message comes up when (for whatever reason) pings go unusually high. I know almost nothing about how the internet works so maybe someone with more knowlege can give a better answer than I can.
ACGe0rge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 09:22 AM   #3
LessThanJake
 
LessThanJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pearl of the Orient
Posts: 89
I noticed that some servers(mostly private ones) have a limit so that if someone joins over that limit everyone gets a 999 ping but the moment he/she leaves, WHAM!, smooth as silk.
LessThanJake is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 01:28 PM   #4
TiE23
Get bent!
 
TiE23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 6,572
Current Game: Shogun 2
Forum Veteran 
When a very slow modem player goes in a match in mp with like cable or DSL players the ping goes higher to syncronize the speed with the slowest player with the fast players. When I play my ping is around 300-400 average.


Tie's Kindle Reading Project
"Making myself a more learned person and then bragging about it."
Since October 2010 - I'm a slow reader
-----------
27 Books Completed
('10: 4, '11: 9, '12: 7, '13: 6)
Fiction: 12 | Fantasy/Sci-Fi 5; Classics 3; Literature 4
Non-fiction: 15 | Investigative 2; History/Politics 3; Science 3; Biography 7
-----------
237,123 'locations'
11,865 pages (approx)
-----------
Last book: Cosmos by Carl Sagan - Dec 2013
TiE23 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 02:22 PM   #5
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
There are actually 2 things to measure your connection :
ping and packetloss.

Your ping can be ok, but you might be losing ip packages along the way, making you lag.


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > accurate ping?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.