lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Change kyle's skin in SP?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-16-2002, 08:30 AM   #1
Alkaizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 17
Question Change kyle's skin in SP?

First of all,
Is it possible to change Kyle's skin (model, whatever) in SP and if so...how?
I've won the game and I just really want to play the game again on 'Master Jedi' with one of those really kick ass skins to add extra replay value (Hey, it works for me ).
Alkaizer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2002, 08:41 AM   #2
GonkH8er
192.168.0.1337
 
GonkH8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,927
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
try going into the console and typing 'model <modelname>'

?? not sure... but that works in mp.


GonkH8er-
Ian@lfnetwork.com
JediKnight.net JediKnightII.net
GonkH8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 06:31 AM   #3
Alkaizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 17
Does'nt seem to work that easily, does anyone else have any ideas? Or is there a way I can manually change it?
Alkaizer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 07:00 AM   #4
power_ed
 
power_ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Copenhagen .. .. .. [HEY, YOU THERE!]
Posts: 733
you could go mess a bit with the npcs.cfg file, i think thats where the models a beeing assigened?


HEY, YOU THERE!
power_ed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 01:25 PM   #5
Angel_101
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 17
Well you basically need to open the assets 0 file.
Then go to players and models (it could be the other way around) then extract the kyle folder to the desktop.Make a backup of it too if you want to use the original kyle again.
Then you delete all the files in that folder and replace them with the files of the model you want (just open the pk3 file and put all the files from there into the folder).
Then put it back in the assets 0, players models, and it should show up in SP.
Angel_101 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 03:03 PM   #6
ChampionMrSocks
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 22
DON'T go altering the assets0.pk3 file - it's unwieldy, not at all necessary and permanently alters the game. Instead, make a new pk3 file with the changes you want made to the game (i.e. putting a different model or set of textures into the models/players/kyle folder) and put it in the base directory. The game loads all the pk3 files in the base folder alphabetically, so if your new pk3 file is called something like newkyle then it's settings will overwrite the standard ones for the current game your playing (meaning the new skin/model can easily be uninstalled). Changing Kyle's model in the npcs.cfg file only works in cutscenes, the single player character in the game is always the one in the 'kyle' folder. Be aware that your current savegames will work fine if you only change the textures for the normal Kyle model, but you'll need to restart the game or load a level with the console map command to get a new model working correctly.
ChampionMrSocks is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2002, 06:25 PM   #7
Angel_101
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 17
Well that was the only way i knew plus i backed up the assets 0 file because bad things happen of course. -_-
Angel_101 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Change kyle's skin in SP?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.