lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: I can't figure out how to ban==and it's becoming a problem
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-25-2002, 05:44 AM   #1
Deathbunny
 
Deathbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Question I can't figure out how to ban==and it's becoming a problem

Sorry. I'm sure this is written somewhere.

I'm running the jkded for win2k dedicated server proggy thing. I've got a background in programming, and I've messed with Quakeiii's console a bunch, but I can't figure out how to get this dang thing to

A) show me an offender's IP
B) ... well actually I DO know how to add it to the banips list once I get the damn thing but... see a

I realize that there's an answer in the FAQ that says I'm supposed to use 'net_ip' or 'showip' to figure it out. When I used those commands on the dedicated server, it says back 'net_ip is localhost' or in the case of showip, doesn't do anything.
When I connect, net_ip still says localhost, and showip tells me my ip. It's very irritating, especially since it seems like a simple thing. I checked the various logs, and they don't have ip information, nor does the extremely verbose stream-of-conciousness updates in the server console.

Please tell me how to grab an ip. I had to kick a guy 45 times tonight under 5 names because I couldn't figure out how to get his fricking ip.

If this is a common question, please send this to my email account instead of taking up board space. Thanks and sorry to hassle you.
Deathbunny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 06:38 AM   #2
Mr_Sharky
 
Mr_Sharky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England, Somerset
Posts: 80
Check to make sure you've got g_filterBan set to 1.

To get a players ip address just type /status in the command line. The output will be slightly jumbled but you should be able to get their ip ok.
Mr_Sharky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 01:12 PM   #3
MatrixCPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,199
There's a nice article on banning players here. It was written for STVEF/Q3, however the principles are the same.


"Do you expect me to talk?"

"No, Mr. Bond, I expect you to DIE."
MatrixCPA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 08:50 PM   #4
Deathbunny
 
Deathbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Post THANKS

That was a big help.
It's a shame that it's so clumsy, but it sure beats putting up with morons.

I feel like a dumbass for not checking to see what status does. I assumed it would dump a bunch of server variables like numclientsconnected and serverip -- stuff I don't care about.

Thanks again! 2 points and a cookie for each of you.
Deathbunny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > I can't figure out how to ban==and it's becoming a problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:57 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.