lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Need suggested gfx settings based on my specs
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-25-2002, 07:34 PM   #1
dravin1911
 
dravin1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 11
Need suggested gfx settings based on my specs

I am wondering if someone with a better than average knowledge of the various graphics settings for the Q3 engine could maybe recommend some settings and/or .cfg file tweaks to get my game running best, because I get very confusing mixed results. Sometimes it definitely runs faster in 32-bit color etc, sometimes trilinear filtering seems faster than bi...things like this, and it confuses me, because I thought it was the other way around :) And my results can be erratic,...Here are my specs (don't laugh :D)

PIII 450mhz
512MB RAM, pc133
GeForce3 ..(not Ti)
2.8.3.2 Det. drivers
Windows XP Pro

I use the GeForce Tweak Utility, and I edit my jk2mp.cfg(?) file...I am wanting to find the right tweaks to have OpenGL games like this one run the best. Things I'm not sure about: What resolution should I have my desktop at compared to resolution in game? Should they match, does it matter? Should I use 16-bit color depth, etc.. in game, or 32 bit? Multitexturing? Bilinear or Trilinear filtering...Buffer region extension? Dual planes use video memory? Texture pre-cache/directload? I'm doubting anyone is going to take the time to look into all this, but I got faith that someone will have something useful for me! :) Thanks.
dravin1911 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 09:23 PM   #2
Mertado
 
Mertado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California, USA
Posts: 177
Simple: Whatever you like.

Seriously, if that sounds rather flippant it's because none of us has your setup, nor do we know what kind of game you like (speed versus beauty). Best I can tell you is to play with the cg_ cvars. They control some of the graphics drawn directly to your screen. Then move on to the r_ cvars. They control the graphics renderer. There are too many variables to list here and too many to play with for whatever kind of game you like. I can't even go into adjusting your video card because that can be dangerous if fooled with incorrectly. My best suggestion would be to figure out what works well in Quake 3, then dumb it down because JK2 uses whole lot more resources.


Cygnus
LANtrocity
Northern California's largest regular LAN party
Mertado is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 10:37 PM   #3
dravin1911
 
dravin1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 11
Thanks, I think I've pretty much got my video card setup nicely..I'm going to definitely play with those variables though, I love editing the config file hehe...Take it easy
dravin1911 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > Need suggested gfx settings based on my specs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.