lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Good tut on adding buttons for doors
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-26-2002, 12:41 AM   #1
Pimpgoofy
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 20
Good tut on adding buttons for doors

does anyone know a good place to find out how to make buttons work for doors and elevators
Pimpgoofy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:03 AM   #2
Tantalus
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 46
Several ways to do this. Assuming you have a working door, add a brush to be your switch. Now, you can either make the brush a func_usable (however that has some extra work associated with it and can screw up a bit), or you can make another brush out of the trigger texture found in the system set. Make sure the trigger is just a little bigger than the player, to be on the safe side. Now, with that trigger brush selected, right click, and select trigger_multiple. Now, unselect everything (sometimes the next step won't work if you don't) and then reselect the trigger, and then select your door (and it does matter which one you select first, if you select the door first, the game will think the door is the switch and nothing will happen), and then hit ctrl+k. There should now be a line between the center of your switch and the center of your door, with arrows pointing towards the door. You now have a switch activated door. Just make sure you put another trigger on the other side of the door or it will be a one way door only.
Tantalus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 08:28 AM   #3
Schizophrenic
 
Schizophrenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ......I forget.
Posts: 227
This is how to make a simple push button->door.

First make the door (select brush, make it a func_door). Set up its properties if you want (speed, direction, etc). Then make a brush for the button somewhere. Put it next to a wall, select it, and make it a func_button. Set its direction (the direction it moves when pushed), hit escape.

Now select the button brush, THEN the door brush, so that both are selected. The button must be selected before the door. Hit control-K. This links the button to the door. That's all it takes for a simple button->door.

If you want two doors to open at the same time when one button is pushed, do the same thing as before but make the two doors seperately (select one, func_door, deselect, select other, func_door). When you link the button, only link it to ONE door, not both. Now select the door you linked, open up the brush's properties (N key), add a key named "team", and give it a name (door1 or something, just make it unique). Add a team key with the same name to the other door. Now whenever you hit the button, it will activate the linked door along with all other doors with the same team name.
Schizophrenic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Good tut on adding buttons for doors

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.