lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: New to Mapping
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-26-2002, 06:57 AM   #1
D.L.
 
D.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 598
New to Mapping

Made my first room last night. So proud

Anyway I have a few questions. I'm going to be making a real life building into a map. It's going to be my computer building college with a bot for the admin, so we can slice him up and some security guards.
It's a 3 floored building that is fairly big and should make for some good duels.

1) Where can I get some good textures!? I'm looking for Wood, Greed/Blue Carpet, Glass, Concrete Bricks etc. I have some textures in PSP7 but how do I import these to radiant.

2) Compiling. The bane of all newbies. Sawed it as a .map, went to BSP, compiled it twice (as some person said there was an error if you didnt do it twice) ran sv_pure 1, and no go.

3) Anyone have a realy good tutorial on making skins!? I'll be modelling that admin skin on Reelo.

4) Can relective floors and mirrors be done in JORadiant?

5) How do you introduce spawning points, weapons etc. I had a box open when I originally opened JORadiant for the first time, but when I closed it, it hasn't reappeared and I can't open it from the tabs. Help!

Thanks


Star Wars, General Chat and Games. Join if you want!
http://lounge.proboards5.com

The NJO Mod Website
D.L. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 07:47 AM   #2
FunClown
 
FunClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 549
Thumbs up

1) http://www.grsites.com/textures/

google: free textures

2) Only have to compile once on full vis. Can do fastvis if you just want to check for leaks (very handy)

Also, it should be sv_pure 0 this is no cheat mode.
The way I use is to type in the console (shift + ~)

devmap yourmapname

this to me is much easier and loads up you map. Just type your map name and no extension.

4) I'm pretty positive they can.

5) Make a new brush, select it then press n once or twice. A list will come up. For spawn points use info_player_deathmatch.
To add bot support download bspc.exe which is included in the Elite Force GDK. But for now bot support sux, they only jump around everywhere = no fun!


TIP: If you havn't already download the QeRadiant manual. It is a great reference. Try and get the pdf version.
FunClown is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 08:01 AM   #3
D.L.
 
D.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 598
Thanks!

I have Bubba's tutorial which I am working through, but I'll give that other one a look.

Thanks again.


Star Wars, General Chat and Games. Join if you want!
http://lounge.proboards5.com

The NJO Mod Website
D.L. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 08:40 AM   #4
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
You do not need to create a brush to build an entity. Just rightclick in your map screen and an entity list will appear.


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > New to Mapping

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.