lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Music question
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-26-2002, 11:16 AM   #1
inlacrimas
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ivory Plains
Posts: 125
Question Music question

I'm trying to add music to my map, but I can't get it to work!
I create a target_speaker, make it global and write the path to the mp3-file in the assets0, but when I start the map, it says it can't find it.
Is this the correct way to add music, or how should one do it?
Plz help!
inlacrimas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 12:13 PM   #2
kanehart
 
kanehart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: C-A-N-A-D-A
Posts: 211
I don't know in the map thing but to make sure it works dopn't you put the music in the pk3 file in a folder called music and the map in a map folder all zipped in the pk3 zipped folder???
kanehart is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 12:28 PM   #3
AKPiggott
 
AKPiggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Don't place a "target_speaker", place a "target_play_music".


Enter the Dark Lord, coming soon. Watch the Teaser Trailer.
AKPiggott is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 12:32 PM   #4
kanehart
 
kanehart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: C-A-N-A-D-A
Posts: 211
ccan you give me a samll list opr big on how to add music please!!!!
kanehart is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 12:45 PM   #5
inlacrimas
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ivory Plains
Posts: 125
There is no thing as a "target_play_music"
inlacrimas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 01:37 PM   #6
DaviJade
 
DaviJade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Korriban
Posts: 107
Getting music to work!

Okay, here is what I did to get my music to work inside the level that I'm creating:

Step 1: Create a folder inside your base folder and call it "music"
Step 2: Put your music file in here (duh)
Step 3: Inside the editor open your entities with letter "n"
Step 4: Click on "worldspawn"
Step 5: For your "Key" enter the word "music"
Step 6: For your "Value" enter the path "music/songname.mp3"
DaviJade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 01:45 PM   #7
inlacrimas
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ivory Plains
Posts: 125
Thx, but Iwant to use music already in the game!
inlacrimas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 01:51 PM   #8
brigand1138
 
brigand1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Swansea
Posts: 92
what you could do is eaxctly what davijade said, but then extract the mp3 file music file you are after from the assets0.pk3 file, and place it in the music folder, I think this should work

Mark T12


Mal Brigand
"In the dark, see past our eyes"
brigand1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 01:54 PM   #9
inlacrimas
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ivory Plains
Posts: 125
This is the only way? BUt that would make the filze size much bigger
inlacrimas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 02:03 PM   #10
Tigris
 
Tigris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Here
Posts: 392
Ok, I think I found the reason: In MP there is constant music, while in SP there isn't. So if you really want to play music in your map you'll have to copy the music-file to the sound-directory. As far as I have understood it this should make the difference. If there is still a problem you may even need to convert it back into a wav. (The infos about the target_speaker only talk about .wav files, so I don't know for sure...)
Tigris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 02:04 PM   #11
AKPiggott
 
AKPiggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally posted by inlacrimas
There is no thing as a "target_play_music"
Err... yes there is... click right button to bring up the entity menu, go to "target" and in the target menu, should be "target_play_music"...


Enter the Dark Lord, coming soon. Watch the Teaser Trailer.
AKPiggott is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 02:09 PM   #12
kanehart
 
kanehart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: C-A-N-A-D-A
Posts: 211
Thanks for your help. I'm starting to ask for steps when i need help. Soo i will save them all and use it on my site
kanehart is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 02:09 PM   #13
Tigris
 
Tigris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Here
Posts: 392
Pigott: Are you sure you are talking about the MULTIPLAYER of JK2?
Tigris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 02:35 PM   #14
AKPiggott
 
AKPiggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Is it different in multiplayer then? I wouldn't know... I don't touch MP level editing....


Enter the Dark Lord, coming soon. Watch the Teaser Trailer.
AKPiggott is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 02:37 PM   #15
Tigris
 
Tigris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Here
Posts: 392
Yes, unfortunately it seems to be disabled... Hopefully it will get on Ravens "to-add-list" for the next release...
Tigris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Music question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.