lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: ScuMMVM, DOTT and Sam&Max
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-10-2002, 08:18 AM   #1
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Smile ScuMMVM, DOTT and Sam&Max

Hi there, i've recently came up with a copy of DOTT and Sam&Max all in full talkie, and in goog shape. Trouble is, i'm using WinXP, i've tried Using scummvm to run DOTT and Sam&max.... they run fine , but i can only get speech and sound fx... no music. what must i do? Thanks for the help in advance guys.


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2002, 04:08 PM   #2
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Try LEC Quick And Easy
Scroll down to find the post

Not sure about ScummVM, wait for endy to reply for that

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2002, 06:19 PM   #3
john_doe
 
john_doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The pit
Posts: 137
AFAIK ScummVM has problems with these games' iMuse implementations or something like that...not sure.
john_doe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 04:16 AM   #4
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Thumbs up

Thanks Guys! MANY THANKS!!! I'll try this now.


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 06:24 AM   #5
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Unhappy

Ok, so i've installed LEC Quick n easy 3.0. I've configured the VDM part, now i've found that there are 2 folders both named DOTT and Samnmax inside the QuicknEasy folder. Am i suposed to copy every file concerning each game, into those folders? I've done so, and when i run them thru Quick n easy, DOTT runs fine, except that whenever a touch Enter or Escape the game freezes, and even pressing the "." key, it still won't budge. As for SamNMax it just displays a black screen, seems to be frozen in there... am i doing something wrong?.. Im terribly sorry to bother u guys with theses lame questions, but it's been so long since i've played these masterpieces, i'd just luv to play them one more time.

Thanks.


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 06:39 AM   #6
Serge
SCUMMLord
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 196
The keys problem... WinXP uses a new codepage (437) for DOS Prompts to add support for special characters like, say, the Euro symbol. This screws up a LOT of DOS programs that depend on the old codepages. So...

Before running the game, type "chcp 850" at the DOS prompt to change the keyboard code page to the old DOS standard for US keyboards. And run the game from the SAME DOS prompt. If you open another, or run the game directly from Windows (making Windows open another DOS prompt) the codepage is reset.

Or, if you know where to find the Q&E .bat file that runs the game, just add chcp 850 before the line where the game is run. I don't remember where the Q&E .bat file is... Probably in the Q&E directory, and called something like Q+E.bat.

Hope this helps. As for SNM, don't know... Might be the same. I seem to recall sometimes having to press a key before the game started.

- Serge
Serge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 06:43 AM   #7
Serge
SCUMMLord
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 196
About "bothering". You aren't. These forums are here to let people ask questions etc. Although this might be more related to the Help forum, the same people (bgbennyboy etc.) seem to frequent here.

- Serge
Serge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 07:18 AM   #8
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Smile

Thanks for the help guys. The chcp 850 solved the problem for DOTT, now i have to run it thru the Q+E bat file. The problem now is, that every time a character starts a voice line, it abruptly stops... until i press the "." key... can't figure this one out. SamNMax still refuses to run. i get a Rom 93 error while running it.

I know this should be in the Help forum... maybe u should copy everything over there?

Thanks guys.


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 07:31 AM   #9
Serge
SCUMMLord
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 196
Moved

Rom 93... Probably Room 93, right? No idea why it would do that. Sounds like a corrupted resource file.

- Serge
Serge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 07:46 AM   #10
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Unhappy

Oh no... this just isn't my day. I recall though, having a P120, with 32Ram and dos installed in it. and this same copy worked fine there.


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 08:06 AM   #11
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
The chcp thing is a known problem (thanks Serge)

The reason they wont work is because youve done it wrong

Uninstall Q+E then delete the Q+E folder that gets left behind
Reinstall it
Start Q+E
Setup vdmsound bits - (choose the vdmsrun.bat and click the filecopy button)
Click on the sam and max radio button in the setup
Click the max head
Put your S+M cd in
Browse in the filecopy tool to your cd and to the SAMNMAX folder on it
Click go
Do the same for DOTT (but with the DOTT cd obviously)
It'll all be fine

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 09:19 AM   #12
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Unhappy

First of all, Thanks for the help everyone. However BGbennyboy... i've done everything u said, and religiously followed every step. Sam &max still doesn't work. I get a Windows msg "an error was encountered while attempting to open file 'samnmax.ini' for reading --- last error reported by Windows: 0x00000002 - The System could not find the file specified".

I'm sure there's something wrong with my system. I'm close to tears of frustration now...


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 09:29 AM   #13
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Strange
Try reinstalling vdmsound

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 09:33 AM   #14
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Cool Guy

OK, i'm close to solving the problem. For DOTT it's fixed. running directly from LEC Quick and easy it won't run, says that Tentacle is no a external command, program or batch file.. (go figure)... but goign directly to the Q+E batch file it runs just fine, all i have to do is do a copy of it and rename it DOTT or something, and add the Chcp 850 line to it. As for Sam & max, i go inside the SamnMax folder inside Q+E folder, and run samnmax.exe with VDMs, since Q+E generates the correct samnmax-ini file. I run it and get an error msg, but clicking it goes away, just one problem though, the speech is all slllllooowwwedd Doooowwwnnn... it's pitched down... how can i solve this one?

And Thanks for the amazing program BGbennyboy.


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 09:42 AM   #15
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Cool Guy

OK, i'm close to solving the problem. For DOTT it's fixed. running directly from LEC Quick and easy it won't run, says that Tentacle is no a external command, program or batch file.. (go figure)... but goign directly to the Q+E batch file it runs just fine, all i have to do is do a copy of it and rename it DOTT or something, and add the Chcp 850 line to it. As for Sam & max, i go inside the SamnMax folder inside Q+E folder, and run samnmax.exe with VDMs, since Q+E generates the correct samnmax-ini file. I run it and get an error msg, but clicking it goes away, just one problem though, the speech is all slllllooowwwedd Doooowwwnnn... it's pitched down... how can i solve this one?

And Thanks for the amazing program BGbennyboy.

PS: oddly enough, now both of them work thru the Q+E bat file process. neat. Though they crash a bit often...


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 09:43 AM   #16
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Not an external comand?!?!?!
Holy hell never had this before.
Does it say that in a windows dialog box or in the dos window that appears when you click go?

That samnmax.ini file is a modified vdms.ini that stops the s+m slow speech problem.
The line: dosdrv -i:samnmax.ini
Makes vmdsound use that ini instead of its default one.

Is vdmsound installed on the same drive as Quick and Easy?
This sounds like cocked-up .bat files
Run S+M through Q+E then paste me the contents of Q+E.bat here.
Then run DOTT through Q+E and paste the contents here.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2002, 11:30 PM   #17
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Wink

OK, so here's the copy paste of the Q+E file for DOtt:

cd D:\jogos\Quick And Easy\
dosdrv -i:lucasvdm.ini
cd D:\jogos\Quick And Easy\DOTT
Tentacle.exe a s220/7/50

And the one from Samnmax:

cd D:\jogos\Quick And Easy\
dosdrv -i:samnmax.ini
cd D:\jogos\Quick And Easy\SamNMax
Samnmax.exe m s220/7/8


I must add, that i've turned these into separate batch files now.. to be used with the chcp string. And they work fine now. Thanks for the help!!!!!


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 10:19 AM   #18
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by bgbennyboy
Not an external comand?!?!?!
Holy hell never had this before.
Does it say that in a windows dialog box or in the dos window that appears when you click go?

Is vdmsound installed on the same drive as Quick and Easy?
Could you answer me these questions? Because I'll have to fix this in the next version.
Cheers

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 09:29 PM   #19
DjalenzoH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somewhere where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 11
Post

It says that in a DOS box. The VMDS is in a diferent drive.


Everybody Dies...
DjalenzoH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Mixnmojo.com > Mojo Discussion Forums > Help! > ScuMMVM, DOTT and Sam&Max

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.