lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How do you spawn third party skins?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-13-2002, 10:10 PM   #1
Coligeon
 
Coligeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 142
How do you spawn third party skins?

I know there are plenty of people wondering about this, and that is why I am asking. Say if you got the new Darth Vader model, how would you "npc spawn" him into the game as an ally or enemy? I mean, we all know how fun spawing is, now if only it could be expanded. Maybe this has been discussed and I have no idea what I'm talking about. At any rate, I'm sorry if that is true, and thanks for the replies.
Coligeon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2002, 12:22 AM   #2
Stan_Tencza
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 61
Hello Friend.

I've been exploring the same issue.
I know how to replace skins in the game with downloaded skins, however the new model that I've downloaded (the Vader model) isn't quite the same as a skin. I can't figure it out. Nobody seems to know how

In the meantime, try this for any *skins* that you've downloaded... First of all, there is a big difference from a SKIN and a MODEL. Darth Vader is a model, because his polygon construction is different than any other character in the game (kinda like trying to make a cube from a sphere. You can't just "skin" it). Skins, on the other hand, are just like painting an already existing model, such as the Galak model or the Luke model with different textures.

Adding a skin into the game is simple.

-Just unzip the .pk3 containing the skin file.

-Change the name of the skin folder in your new unzipped folder \models\player\(skin name). Change whatever the name of that folder is to someone IN the GAME you want to replace (for example, I replaced Tavion with Darth Maul, so I changed the Darth_maul folder to tavion.)

-If there are any sounds for that character, just go into the folder sounds\player\(skin name) and change the name of that folder as well. Again, in my case I changed it to Tavion because that was the name of the character in the game I was replacing.

-Then, you zip the .pk3 back up (select all the folders in your unzipped directory, create a new file, etc.) and place it in your base directory.

I hope you get something out of this

I know the directions were kindof vague. I'm assuming you know how to convert from zip to pk3 (not too hard, really.)

Any questions e-mail me, MrTencza@aol.com

-Stan
=========================


======================
How bout a Yoda Stories Mod for JkII???????
-Stan
Stan_Tencza is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2002, 04:28 AM   #3
Coligeon
 
Coligeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 142
Thanks Stan_Tencza. I appreciate the reply and will try out what you listed. indeed it would be nice to get Maul or Vader into the game. Thanks again.
Coligeon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > How do you spawn third party skins?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.