lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Keyboard Configuration
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-03-2002, 04:30 PM   #1
Swingdog
 
Swingdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2
Keyboard Configuration

Has anybody come up with a more user friendly keyboard configuration than the default one? I just bought the game last night and had trouble combining strafe and run during melee's - quite an awkward reach from the arrow keys to the comma key. I would appreciate hearing what works for other people.
Swingdog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 06:03 PM   #2
Usurper
 
Usurper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 131
Here are some settings that I use comfortably,...

W = up
S = down
A = strafe left
D = Strafe right
Left Shift = roll/crouch
Left Ctrl = Duel Challenge/Accept
E = force
Q = Baca
C = Taunt (/bind c +taunt)

I use my mouse for firing, jumping, walking, switching saber stance

Hope that helps at all.


[Usurper]
Usurper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 07:03 PM   #3
Swingdog
 
Swingdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2
Coolio

Thanks for the reply, Usurper. That makes sense, and it's definitely more comfortable. Canít wait to give it a shot tonight.

Peace yoda:
Swingdog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 07:37 PM   #4
TheMadDoofer
You gonna make biscuits?
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Not likely anywhere near you.
Posts: 1,613
I use the controls from JK1.

Jump=x
Crouch=c
Up=up arrow
Down=dwn arrow
left=left arrow
right=right arrow


I kept the strafe commands.


"700 years old, and still **** you up I can" -Yoda
http://www.gaijindesign.com/lawriemalen/jedi/yoda.jpg


Aresen, where sanity is abnormal.
JK.com, where you can wax nostalgic about a great game
GB.com, where people are more normal, but still fun to hang around with

TheMadDoofer on WoW (Bloodscalp server), Call of Duty:UO, Battlefield 2,
JKA, and Republic Commando. If you see me, then shoot me or whatever.
TheMadDoofer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 09:27 PM   #5
Usurper
 
Usurper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 131
Swingdog -

Glad I could help.
Happy gaming!


[Usurper]
Usurper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 10:24 PM   #6
thetoll
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 23
yes

Get the "Nostromo" from belkin and use it instead of the keyboard. I had surgery on my hand and find that the keyboard feels awkward on my hand. This Nostromo fits like glove and is very comfortable. It's made to be used with your left hand while you use the mouse for your right.
thetoll is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 11:04 PM   #7
Usurper
 
Usurper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 131
I was thinking about getting that.

But, if it replaces the keyboard, how does one type in console commands or chat with other players?


[Usurper]
Usurper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 11:31 PM   #8
_thr0ne_
 
_thr0ne_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Hey smart guy Nostromo acts as a partial keyboard but is alot like a joystick (meaning your keyboard is still connected to your computer and still usable)
_thr0ne_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 11:34 PM   #9
thetoll
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 23
You can still use the keyboard it just changes macros and allows keys to be assigned to the unit itself. it is so comfortable and fairly easy to use you have to remember to load each and every game from their profile manager though.
thetoll is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2002, 11:52 PM   #10
_thr0ne_
 
_thr0ne_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Or you can alter the game to fit the glove. My friends use it and one loads the game and the otehr just changes the game's keys to fit the glove

And to answer swing dog the best bet you have for a better layout on the keys is to clear every bind in the menu's and reset them one at a time
i do this for every game the majority i already know where they are supposed to be set since they are mapped the same for every game
_thr0ne_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 12:04 AM   #11
warder808
 
warder808's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 4
I use the WASD setup for movement. But I set some others, too.
E, R = back and forth for the Force Powers.
Q= Use
F= Use Force Pwr
G= Crouch
V= Change Saber Stance

I have Force Push/Pull set to the 2 extra buttons on my Logitech Mouse.

Im still trying to figure out a better way to set it up for easier Force Pwr usage.
warder808 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 12:14 AM   #12
SPY_jmr1
The Quiet, but Deadly One
 
SPY_jmr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hiding in a corner of a bar.
Posts: 2,076
wasd here... Q is saber stance, E is duel challange, X jump, C duck.

force powers are on the mouse wheel with wheel click for force use.

push and pull are on F1 and F2.
SPY_jmr1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 02:50 AM   #13
Gidcon
 
Gidcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 15
esdfc set up... It gives me more buttons close to my set up.

e - forward
c - back
s - strafe left
f - strafe right
d - duck
space - jump
a - stance change

This leaves for easy access
q, w, z, x, r, t, g, v, shift

That gives me 9 keys that surround where my hand rests
which is asdf and thumb on space

Mouse 1 - attack
Mouse 2 - special bind
Mouse 3 - alt attack

Blade - Runner
Gidcon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 03:51 AM   #14
Toa Tahu
 
Toa Tahu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Yavin IV
Posts: 487
Question Will anyone listen to me even if I don't have JO yet?

If you all'd listen to me,these are my controls:
WSAD-What they normally do
QEF-What they normally do(if not in JK2,then in JK )
F4-Bacta
Left Ctrl-Crouch
Space-Jump
Left Click-What it normally did
Right click-What it normally did
Roller button-Lightsaber(if it could)
Back Mouse button-Taunt

Just my 2 sen(they spell it such in Malaysia,and there is no plural for sen here) worth...


When you slice a person, do you slice him with the fastest stroke, or do you forcefully incapacitate him?
Toa Tahu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 08:21 PM   #15
TNode
 
TNode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: .
Posts: 42
Here's mine:

h=forward
b=back
v=strafeleft
n=straferight
c=duck
space=jump
j=use

y=forcespeed
u=forcegrip
r=nextforcepower
t=useforce

i=nextinv
enter=useinv

mouse1=fire
g=altfire
mouse2=pull
mousewheeldown=push

But very soon, I'll be using Game Commander 2
TNode is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 08:25 PM   #16
NewBJedi
 
NewBJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 622
CTF:

2 = Mind Trick
3 = Speed

Everything:

q= drain
w = force push
e = force grip
r = alternative fire

a = next weapon
s = strafe left
d = backward
f = strafe right
g = saber stance
h = taunt
k = duel
l = lightsaber on/off

shift = walk/run
z = next inventory
x = use inventory
c = crouch
v = force pull

space bar = jump

mouse:

right mouse = move forward
left mouse = fire
wheel up/down = switch weapons
NewBJedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 08:27 PM   #17
NewBJedi
 
NewBJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally posted by TNode
But very soon, I'll be using Game Commander 2 [/B]
I thought that thing wasn't good for FPS's?

Is there a new design?

Do you have a link to a review of it?

Thanks.
NewBJedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 10:45 PM   #18
Usurper
 
Usurper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 131
_thr0ne_ :

I do not appreciate your smart ass answer.
I do not know much about the nostromo, but what I have heard is that it replaces the keyboard, so I asked a question about it.

Thanks for informing me, even if it was in a shallow and rude sort of way.


[Usurper]
Usurper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2002, 10:49 PM   #19
TNode
 
TNode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: .
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally posted by NewBJedi


I thought that thing wasn't good for FPS's?

Is there a new design?

Do you have a link to a review of it?

Thanks.
Point your browser at http://www.gamecommander.com/

I have heard good stuff about it. Besides it doesn't cost too much.
It's either that or get an extra arm,lol!
TNode is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2002, 08:27 AM   #20
dalavita
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: sweden
Posts: 35
W = forward
S = backpedal
A = strafe left
D = strafe right
left shift = walk
left ctrl = crouch
space = jump
E = use
Q = prev weapon
R = next weapon

force
-------------------------------------------

z = push
x = pull (absorb in multiplayer)
c = grip ( single player)
v = heal (single player)

, prev force . next force (never use these anyway...)
dalavita is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2002, 11:42 AM   #21
Trahern Valley
 
Trahern Valley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sintari, Dantooine; Starsider.
Posts: 492
WSAD as usual, left shift for crouch, spacebar for jump. I prefer to keep my left hand free for movement, so my force power selection and use is all in my mousewheel. If I changed stances more often, I'd probably put it somewhere around F, though.
Trahern Valley is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2002, 01:01 AM   #22
_thr0ne_
 
_thr0ne_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally posted by Usurper
_thr0ne_

Thanks for informing me, even if it was in a shallow and rude sort of way.
I apologise
_thr0ne_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2002, 01:26 PM   #23
HappyPrancer
 
HappyPrancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 61
I've been told that mine is pretty unique:

Forward: mouse 1
backward: mouse 2

everything else is on the keyboard.

This means I can run around with my right hand, while my left hand is free to do whatever it wants and I can avoid dying.

I can drink a drink, or eat a cheeseburger, or...well, let's just say ANYTHING, while I'm running to get weapons or whatever.

-HP
HappyPrancer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2002, 01:46 PM   #24
d3vin
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 40
mouse

if my mouse had 4 buttons for forward, back, left strafe and right strafe i would set it up that way

not ready to buy new mouse yet....
d3vin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2002, 01:57 PM   #25
funkshen1
 
funkshen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Croissant
Posts: 5
counterstrike

i use my old CS config

forward- up
backward- down
strafe left- left
strafe right- right
jump- shift
crouch- enter

i use the mouse for turning and all that other good stuff. i wish they came out with a computer controller that was the same as the one for the N64. i think that would be real good for FPS.
funkshen1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Keyboard Configuration

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.