lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: 1.04 patch LAG???
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-12-2002, 10:50 PM   #1
Imprezed
 
Imprezed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 3
1.04 patch LAG???

I havent seen anyone talkin about this...wtf?....I played the patch last night...and I dont know WHAT tf they did...but they screwed the game up. it LAGS like hell now!....and it wasnt just me...everyone I played with on every server was complaining of lag that wasnt there before the patch. I never had lag on 1.03...hell im on a 2.1mbps cable modem...I played 1.03 before I updated last night so I could compare them...1.03 had no probs..no lag..I was pingin most servers at 90...then I update...start playin and pingin at like 100....no probs..then it starts spiking up and down...100....999....100....999....100....999..... and everyone was talking about it sayin wtf?...and they and I had been on numerous servers with the same thing happening.....even on a 2 player game with my friend..both of us on cable modems..it was doing the same damn thing. anyone wanna comment on this?...anyone else experianced it?...its pissin me off so much I cant even play the game anymore.

DM


What are your talking?
Imprezed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 11:03 PM   #2
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
So your absolutely sure that you cable connection could not have been laggy or less than perfect? Even cable modems are suseptable to clogged routers along the hops your packet info HAS to take.

Type this into the console:

rate 10000

If you still lag, it is YOUR connection to THE server your playing on, not the game.

Kaan
Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 11:54 PM   #3
Imprezed
 
Imprezed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 3
yeah im pretty damn sure it wasnt me..cause when I got off the game I ran a bandwidth test 3 times which clocked in at 1.9 - 2.0mbps...and BEFORE I updated and was playin 1.03..it was runnin beautifully......there are only 3 computers connected to my router...2 of which werent on at the time..so the clogging thing couldnt be the prob...i'll try that rate thing your talking about tonight and see what happens...anyways..thanks for the info.

DM


What are your talking?
Imprezed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 01:05 AM   #4
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
yeh it has gone a bit laggy, but that's sajut because i can't use the all seeing eye or qtracker yet cos there's only a few servers. Belive me lots of these servers have terrible pings tho.
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 02:44 AM   #5
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
WTF, now i see what you mean today, i have been lagging all over the palce, WTH is wrong, Raven wh yare we lagging!!!!
I am constantly at 999 or have a ping of 178 and i can't even predict how far i am gonig to go cos of the lag!
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 02:50 AM   #6
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
I am still getting the same pings I had with 1.03

Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 02:52 AM   #7
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
oh if i'm not getting 999 i have the same pings but i move at a fantastic lag of 1 frame in 3 secs. if i'm not lagging the other person is warping all over the place, i can jsut look at my health to see it go down for no visible reason!
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 03:15 AM   #8
Master Rooster
 
Master Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 79
Hmm, I'm okay.

It must be something to do with some types of internet setting. I have a 64k cable connection, and it's all okay.


It's a trick... get an axe
Master Rooster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 03:24 AM   #9
HellFyre69
 
HellFyre69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 588
I played yesterday for about an hour.. In a ffa server.. And no lag problem for me.. and I also have a 2.1mbps cable modem


It is obvious this contest cannot be decided by our knowledge of the Force, but by our skills with the lightsaber."

-Count Dooku

HellFyre69 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 03:34 AM   #10
NerfYoda
Grumpy Old Man
 
NerfYoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: WTF?
Posts: 1,258
No change in the lag dept for me either. I'm assuming youve done the usual troubleshooting stuff like rebooting computers/bridges/routers/etc?


aka DJ Sith of the Jedi Academy
My car is made of Nerf.
NerfYoda is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 05:27 AM   #11
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
And you're absolutely positive that the server(s) you were playing on wasn't the problem..... why?

As a network engineer, I would suggest that you backup and re-evaluate the situation a little closer.


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 05:40 AM   #12
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
I've reinstalled jk2 and and 1.04, seems alright this now. but it seemed fien last night too. hmmmmmm. anyway, i jsut felt the need to flame something for once and let it all go. seems back to normal (1.04 is fun ) so we'll see.
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 05:41 AM   #13
Deetox187
 
Deetox187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 768
No extra lag here.
Deetox187 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 06:08 AM   #14
Homosexual Ewok
 
Homosexual Ewok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 595
Some days my pings are crap, others they never go over 25.
Give it a few days; I'm sure it will clear up.
Homosexual Ewok is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 03:05 PM   #15
Arceri
 
Arceri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 79
I think the reason people were lagging is because some of the servers that were up, right after 1.4 was released, were.. less than great ones. Now that more and more servers are being setup to 1.4, it seems fine to me now.
Arceri is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > 1.04 patch LAG???

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.