lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Mapping...Can anyone do it?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-07-2002, 07:33 AM   #1
N0VA
 
N0VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 7
Mapping...Can anyone do it?

Hi,

I'd like to make my own map.

Can anyone make a JK2 map or do you need expensive software and programming knowledge?

Would be interesting to know...

Thanks


Regards
N0VA
N0VA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2002, 08:50 AM   #2
dragotes81
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
First you will need to either download gtk radiant or the first editon of the jk2 editing tools then after you get one of those you should take a look at 007 's sites tutorials. http://mapping.jediknightii.net/tutorials.htm
If you download and read most of those then you should be able to do something.Oh yeah start with the basic tutorials. then work your way up.
dragotes81 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2002, 10:10 AM   #3
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Yeah. You can make impressive maps spending nothing more than your time. ICARUS Scripting is kind of programming you will learn eventually if you stay in the business, but that's not too hard, and only necessary for good SP maps.

And to get a second opinion, try also RichDiesal's excellent tutorials:

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com/tutorials/
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2002, 11:25 AM   #4
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
don't try rich's tuts, use them! they're all you need besides the community, an idea, and the tools.
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2002, 12:12 PM   #5
MuRaSaMuNe
 
MuRaSaMuNe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 591
I just started mapping too, all I can say is - it's pretty easy given you have the right help that is.... but I get a few tutorial sites

http://mapping.jediknightii.net/tutorials.htm
http://ugg.codealliance.ca/tutorials/

And of course theres richdiesels, which was probably already mentioned as it is the best by far in my opinion of course - if you do go to rich's, donnot skip any part of it, go through it lesson by lesson and do his little projects, don't dawdle now .....wow they added a lot of faces to this board since I was gone
MuRaSaMuNe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2002, 08:28 PM   #6
Joben
 
Joben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Look over your shoulder, I'm there.
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally posted by Wes Marrakesh
don't try rich's tuts, use them! they're all you need besides the community, an idea, and the tools.
Well for quality yeh but he hasnt even realy begun to cover serious scripting yet.
The site dragotes mentioned has a few things like that so use it to fill in the gaps.
When you can however go with Rich.

If you want to do SP you will need the second SDK set also since it
has the ICARUS compiler/editor and manual. You can do singleplayer
maps without any scripting but most ones like that arnt much more
than long strings of Reborn to slice up.

From my short experience to get a map you can have some fun playing
mostly requires some time and patience, to get a realy good map requires
some skill and a Lot more time and another truckload or two of patience.


A facility for quotation covers the abscence of original thought- Lord Peter Wimsey

i dont like quake, never liked quake, and i dont like SW-themed quake. so basically jk2mp.exe does not get used on my computer.
-idontlikegeorge
Joben is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2002, 12:08 AM   #7
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
Quote:
From my short experience to get a map you can have some fun playing mostly requires some time and patience, to get a realy good map requires some skill and a Lot more time and another truckload or two of patience.
'specially when you gotta wrestle with the editing programs
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2002, 04:29 AM   #8
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
http://www.insidesof.com
Editing
Real World

I just started a project for sof2, but you can use most of it in jk2 as well.


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Mapping...Can anyone do it?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.