lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Q3Map2 w/JKII support
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-13-2002, 10:54 PM   #1
ydnar
 
ydnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 26
Q3Map2 w/JKII support

Those of you who have mapped for Quake 3 or RTCW might recognize this.

Q3Map2 is an enhanced BSP compiler based on Id's Q3Map sources.

I'm in the process of adding support for Soldier of Fortune II and Jedi Knight II.

If you'd like to test it out on your maps, download the latest version + dlls.zip from here:

http://shaderlab.com/q3map2/2.3/

For more information and feedback, check this thread on the Q3W LE forums:

http://www.quake3world.com/ubb/Forum6/HTML/022898.html?



Quick how-to:

Create a subdirectory in your GamaData/ folder called "Radiant." Unzip the latest version of Q3Map2 (currently 2.3.0-a12) and the dlls.zip into that directory.

Grab a compiler front end with Q3Map2 support such as Q3Map2Toolz by HrO or Q3Map2Build by DLB.

Run it with the -game sof2 argument to enable SOF2/JKII support. Future versions will support -game jk2.

Don't forget the -fs_basepath "C:/path/to/jkii/gamedata/" argument.


Suggestions:

Use -meta on the BSP phase of compilation and -fast on the lighting phase.

Your compiles should be quite noticably faster.



Cheers,
y
ydnar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2002, 11:01 PM   #2
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Yes! Finally! This will really make compiling A LOT easier and faster.

Someone make this sticky, and fast!


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2002, 11:03 PM   #3
volrathxp
 
volrathxp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: We all live in a yellow submarine.....
Posts: 822
very cool... I'll be sure to try it out!



She left ya now she's back stickin out her rack
She's got ya runnin down the wrong track
Can't wait to see her face when I'm in her place
and I'm tryin to get ya in the sack


The Donnas - Too Bad About Your Girl
volrathxp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2002, 11:05 PM   #4
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Here is a mini tutorial provided by fourwood:

http://fourwood.dyndns.org:81/q3map2.txt


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 12:20 AM   #5
Drakewl
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 140
haha, you made our dreams come true almost, ydnar

a big thankie bankie for your work


your tool will hopefully raise the quality of sp and mp maps somewhat, since you can never get enough quality if possible
Drakewl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 11:24 AM   #6
Joben
 
Joben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Look over your shoulder, I'm there.
Posts: 288
Does it improve the quality of the map or just compile times?
(not that thats a small thing )

basicaly whats the incetive for getting it and setting it up?


A facility for quotation covers the abscence of original thought- Lord Peter Wimsey

i dont like quake, never liked quake, and i dont like SW-themed quake. so basically jk2mp.exe does not get used on my computer.
-idontlikegeorge
Joben is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 11:33 AM   #7
fourwood
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally posted by Joben
Does it improve the quality of the map or just compile times?
(not that thats a small thing )

basicaly whats the incetive for getting it and setting it up?
With the Q3map2 equiv. of -light -extra -patchshadows, it will be tons faster. It DOES, though, have added features to increase the pretty.
fourwood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 11:35 AM   #8
Joben
 
Joben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Look over your shoulder, I'm there.
Posts: 288
oooooOOOOO!!!!! sign me up for a copy


A facility for quotation covers the abscence of original thought- Lord Peter Wimsey

i dont like quake, never liked quake, and i dont like SW-themed quake. so basically jk2mp.exe does not get used on my computer.
-idontlikegeorge
Joben is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 01:19 PM   #9
ydnar
 
ydnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 26
Why Q3Map2

- Lighting is faster. Lighting is extremely faster (20-80 times as fast) when the -fast switch is used.
- Radiosity
- Alphashadow/lightfilter shadows (what fourwood showed in his shot)
- High/low-resolution lightmaps via -samplesize, q3map_lightmapsamplesize and _lightmapscale entity keys
- Phong shading
- Lightmap filtering
- Arbitrary lightmap supersampling
- Lightmapped terrain
- Patches in terrain
- External lightmap support (lightmaps up to 1024x1024 pixels)
- Terrain on any entity (not just func_groups)
- Enhanced vertex lighting code
- Cloned bmodel entities
- Smaller BSP filesizes (15-50% reduction, depending on options used, shader settings)
- Lower r_speeds, higher FPS in-game (use -meta switch in BSP phase)
- Cel shading, fur modules
- Fairly good "autocaulk" for obscured brush faces
- Fogging of brush entities
- Much, much improved patch lightmap projection
- Unlimited patch size (really big patches are OK)
- Multiple suns support
- Debugportals, debugsurfaces modes for testing maps
- Pretty stable, good Vis based on MrE's latest code
- Farplane vis culling and _foghull support
- Support for Quake 3, RTCW, Elite Force, SOF2 and JKII
- Linux version *

* soon

There's more stuff I'm forgetting here...

y
ydnar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 01:32 PM   #10
Manquesa
 
Manquesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 699
You said in your first post that you're still working on it, when will it be ready for a final release


Finished Projects:
Sith Terminator
Awing
Tie-Interceptor
Y-Wing
Death Glider
Slave 1
Ep. 3 Jedi Starfighter

Current Projects:
T-16 Skyhopper
Manquesa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 03:14 PM   #11
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
To my knowledge, Ydnar is always working on and improving q3map2, there will never be a final release.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 03:33 PM   #12
ydnar
 
ydnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally posted by Manquesa
You said in your first post that you're still working on it, when will it be ready for a final release
It's usable now, though a couple features have yet to be implemented. There never really is a final version...there's always something new to add or some obscure bug to fix.

BTW, where in Alexandria? I grew up there...

y
ydnar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 04:04 PM   #13
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
One thing's for sure, it's way better than SoF2Map!

I made eight batch files which you can use for your comiling with Q3Map2. Just open the files in Notepad and adjust the paths to your own. Place them in your Base\Maps folder, and drag your MAP file onto the BAT you want to use, and watch it go.

You can grab them here:

http://emon.netfirms.com/Q3Map2_BATs.zip


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 04:07 PM   #14
Manquesa
 
Manquesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally posted by ydnar


BTW, where in Alexandria? I grew up there...

y
I'm just a few minutes from the Pentagon off 395. I live right next to NOVA community college, Alexandria campus.


Finished Projects:
Sith Terminator
Awing
Tie-Interceptor
Y-Wing
Death Glider
Slave 1
Ep. 3 Jedi Starfighter

Current Projects:
T-16 Skyhopper
Manquesa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 07:13 PM   #15
EL3CTRO
 
EL3CTRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ENGLAND!
Posts: 10
fixed it


I am me -- I'm boring like that.

Last edited by EL3CTRO; 08-15-2002 at 12:15 PM.
EL3CTRO is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 09:03 PM   #16
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
No, there's no problem with the BAT files of mine. Your problem is that you removed the %1 and replaced it with your own file, and I assume you are still dragging/dropping the MAP to the BAT file? If so, solve by removing the map name and going back to the %1, or just running the bat.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 01:49 AM   #17
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
you should know by now emon doesnt make mistakes.
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 04:22 AM   #18
EL3CTRO
 
EL3CTRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ENGLAND!
Posts: 10
I just double click on the file, you should know me better than that emon :P -- Although should radiant have generated the srf file?


I am me -- I'm boring like that.
EL3CTRO is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 09:04 AM   #19
ViNYL_VeNGeaNCe
 
ViNYL_VeNGeaNCe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maximum Security
Posts: 55
Nice!
Cut my compile times down by 75% or more. Looks great too, havent found any probs so far. Thanks ydnar!


Click below to check out my music.
ViNYL_VeNGeaNCe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 01:37 PM   #20
silverwest
 
silverwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 56
this is weird! with some of my maps, the bat files work fine, but with others I just get a DOS prompt.
silverwest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 08:53 PM   #21
redrain85
 
redrain85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 14
Smile

I tried q3map2 last night.

Using the -fast option, it cut my "FullVis extra" compile time from over an hour, to just over five minutes! That's more than a 1000% speed increase!

Impressive. Most impressive.

However, there are a some problems I noticed.

1) My map is a hell of a lot darker. I know the manual says -fast has the potential to do this, so I guess I'll have to adjust my lighting.

2) I'm using the Imperial Shuttle model in my map. With SOF2MAP it appears perfectly fine, but with q3map2 the textures on the model are missing. I get a black and white grid pattern. I'm going to try messing with the shader file and see what happens.

3) Dynamic lights don't work. The lights that are supposed to be flashing, are steady. Maybe this has something to do with using the -fast option? But the manual makes no mention of potential problems with dynamic lights.
redrain85 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 09:25 PM   #22
ydnar
 
ydnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally posted by redrain85
I tried q3map2 last night.

Using the -fast option, it cut my "FullVis extra" compile time from over an hour, to just over five minutes! That's more than a 1000% speed increase!

Impressive. Most impressive.

However, there are a some problems I noticed.

1) My map is a hell of a lot darker. I know the manual says -fast has the potential to do this, so I guess I'll have to adjust my lighting.
You can probably settle it with a couple simple changes, such as making your sky shader use a larger q3map_lightsubdivide (512+) and raising the surfacelight a bit.


Quote:
2) I'm using the Imperial Shuttle model in my map. With SOF2MAP it appears perfectly fine, but with q3map2 the textures on the model are missing. I get a black and white grid pattern. I'm going to try messing with the shader file and see what happens.
1) Check to make sure the shader is listed in shaderlist.txt
2) Check the shader's path to make sure it's correctly named

MD3s generated with the pop'n'fresh MD3 exporter have mangled shader paths (\ instead of /) and bad normals, among other things.


Quote:
3) Dynamic lights don't work. The lights that are supposed to be flashing, are steady. Maybe this has something to do with using the -fast option? But the manual makes no mention of potential problems with dynamic lights.
This feature (lightstyles), along with finishing the lightgrid is not yet implemented. They will function correctly in a future version.


BTW, I'm going to QuakeCon tomorrow, so there won't be a new version until next week sometime.

Cheers,
y
ydnar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Q3Map2 w/JKII support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.