lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: why am i getting lousy performance with this system?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-08-2002, 12:45 AM   #1
Hemi-Cuda
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 32
why am i getting lousy performance with this system?

here are my specs:

Athlon 1ghz CPU
640mb SDRAM
Radeon 8500
WinXP Pro

i just bought the 8500 card, and put on a fresh install of WinXP when i installed it. i bought the card in hopes of getting better performance from JK2, but instead its incredibly ****ty. even when i turn video settings to their possible lowest, i get a high of 15fps. actually even when i turn video settings to their highest, i get the same result. so something is wrong

i have the latest radeon drivers, fresh xp install (which fixed a bunch of my other problems btw), so i dont know whats wrong
Hemi-Cuda is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 02:07 AM   #2
Psionic Jedi
 
Psionic Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Reborn Correctional Institute
Posts: 391
Maybe you have a crapload of applications running in the background.

Your system seems l33t enough, but even those beasts can be brought down by too many tasks running or too many sys resources being drained.

I don't have Winxp, but before I play I try shutting down all nonessential programs; AIM if I don't want people to find me, QTracker autocloses, and anything else my computer turns on at start up.

The only ones I should have on are "explorer" and "systray".


Without fear, there is no courage
Learn from the mistakes of others. You won't live long enough to make them all yourself.
This would be really funny if it weren't happening to me.
In the land of California, in the heat of San Jose the dark haired PSIONIC JEDI forged in secret a master computer to control all others and into this computer he poured his money, his computer parts and many screws
One computer to rule them all. One computer to find the foes
One computer to bring them all to hell and in the darkness conquer
In the online gaming world where the envying ones lie.
-Original dito119
Psionic Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 02:48 AM   #3
<|DLS|>Darth Fett
 
<|DLS|>Darth Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver BC, CANADA
Posts: 210
Ya mee too, i shut down tons of programs when i start the computer each day. after my comps doen loading i press ctrl+alt+Delete and shut down al unesisary programs, makes my comp work better. And dude ur comp is so many times better than mines and i play on high so im pretty sure its the programs running in the back


http://webpages.charter.net/LDraganus/DarthFettsig.jpg

Come to the <|DLS|> website and look around.
http://www.darklegionofthesith.tk
btw we rule, and we will own u!
<|DLS|>Darth Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 03:43 AM   #4
-=Lord Oz=-
 
-=Lord Oz=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 32
You should do this so all those programs don't start up when you boot your system.

Go to START > RUN >
in the run text box type MSCONFIG
A pop-up box should appear with a bunch of tabs.
Click on STARTUP
a list will appear of applications that windows preloads on startup. UNCHECK all the non-essential programs that you don't want windows to preload. Hit APPLY and REBOOT.
This makes boot time a hell of a lot faster and also free's up your RAM from the start.

As for the thread makers problem. It's possible that there's a conflict with your card and JK2 as that beast Radeon came out after JK2 did if I'm not mistaken. I just got a new system with a GeForce 4 but prior to this system my other box was...
P2 450+MMX
320 MB RAM
Voodoo 5 5500 64MB dual chip set

I had to run JK2 at medium and low settings for it to run smoothly. Now my friend had similar specs but with a Geforce 2 in where I had the Voodoo card and his ran better then mine simply because the game makers didn't support my card despite it being better than my buddies, spec wise. So it could just be the card. I dunno how much you spent on the Radeon but if you paid over 250 you should have just gotten a Geforce 4 4200 Ti or 4400Ti. If it was over 350 you should have just gotten the GF4 4600Ti. Depending on where you bought it you might be able to return it and switch it out for a GeForce card. If the problem persists I'd look into doing that.
-=Lord Oz=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 02:29 PM   #5
<|DLS|>Darth Fett
 
<|DLS|>Darth Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver BC, CANADA
Posts: 210
OMFG!!! THANK YOU!!!! I WAS TRYIN TO FIND THAT OUT FOR SUCH A FU**ING LONG ASS TIME MAN. THANK U A LOT NOW I DONT HAVE TO PRESS Ctrl+Alt+Delete when i start up my comp thank you a s hitLoad


http://webpages.charter.net/LDraganus/DarthFettsig.jpg

Come to the <|DLS|> website and look around.
http://www.darklegionofthesith.tk
btw we rule, and we will own u!
<|DLS|>Darth Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 05:59 PM   #6
Hemi-Cuda
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 32
i make it a point of having as little running in the background as possible, so no thats not my problem
Hemi-Cuda is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 06:17 PM   #7
zworqy
 
zworqy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nowhere in Sweden
Posts: 134
My crazy system...

JK2 looks beautiful on my system, although it's a year old. If I'm lonely in a small corner I can get 100 fps!

Specs:

PIII 1Ghz
256 MB SDRAM
Nvidia GeForce 2 MX (32 MB RAM)
Win ME

(I run at 800x600, graphics settings almost at max)

I never run any programs in the background.
But I do get one strange problem. If I have run some heavy progs and then starts JK2 The screen usually gets "dislocated".

(What should be top of the screen appears in the bottom, and/or what should appear on one side appears on the other. However, if I start the game anyway it runs as smooth as always, so it's probably not a memory thing)


"The Jante Law" by Aksel Sandemose, 1933

1. Thou shalt not presume that thou art anyone [important].
2. Thou shalt not presume that thou art as good as us.
3. Thou shalt not presume that thou art any wiser than us.
4. Thou shalt never indulge in the conceit of imagining that thou art better than us.
5. Thou shalt not presume that thou art more knowledgeable than us.
6. Thou shalt not presume that thou art more than us [in any way].
7. Thou shalt not presume that thou art going to amount to anything.
8. Thou art not entitled to laugh at us.
9. Thou shalt never imagine that anyone cares about thee.
10. Thou shalt not suppose that thou can teach us anything.
zworqy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 07:36 PM   #8
<|DLS|>Darth Fett
 
<|DLS|>Darth Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver BC, CANADA
Posts: 210
How do u find out the fps????? i see it in screen shots but cant figure it out????


http://webpages.charter.net/LDraganus/DarthFettsig.jpg

Come to the <|DLS|> website and look around.
http://www.darklegionofthesith.tk
btw we rule, and we will own u!
<|DLS|>Darth Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 08:08 PM   #9
-=Lord Oz=-
 
-=Lord Oz=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 32
type in console...
cg_drawfps 1
I think...pretty sure that's it.
-=Lord Oz=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > why am i getting lousy performance with this system?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.