lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: A little rant....
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-04-2002, 11:59 PM   #1
ShockV1.89
Gen Mo'Kai
 
ShockV1.89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: U S of A, baby!
Posts: 1,391
A little rant....

Just a little one.

I cannot stand it when I look at a nicely pinging server, see it has four players in it, hop in, and see four bots running away from me. Damnit, when I see 4/12, I expect to see four HUMAN players. Thats why it's MULTIplayer, people. Not so I can say "Oh, cool! Four bots! A whole four bots! Shucks, that looks like fun!" No, HUMAN players. Dont make me aste my time by waiting for my slowass computer to load up your server only to see your damn bots! ARG!!!!

I am done now.

ShockV1.89


"Not all one pleads can be granted. But a good hearing soothes the heart." -The Instruction of Ptah-hotep.

"So here I go, it's my shot. Feet fail me not. This may be the only opportunity that I got..." -Eminem
ShockV1.89 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2002, 01:46 AM   #2
[JHQ]Inty
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 48
It's more your fault for not being observant enough. If someone's ping is 0 or lower their either the server(bots) or the host; but the host's ping does not stay 0 the entire time, it'll fluctuate between 0 and a very low number.
[JHQ]Inty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2002, 02:18 AM   #3
ShockV1.89
Gen Mo'Kai
 
ShockV1.89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: U S of A, baby!
Posts: 1,391
I dont usually check server status before I enter the server. I just see 4/12, and I go in. It's annoying to have to check to see who's in there.

Once I'm there, I know right away who's a bot and who isnt.

ShockV1.89


"Not all one pleads can be granted. But a good hearing soothes the heart." -The Instruction of Ptah-hotep.

"So here I go, it's my shot. Feet fail me not. This may be the only opportunity that I got..." -Eminem
ShockV1.89 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2002, 02:22 AM   #4
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
using outside prog's like qtracker i know give the names of the players, therefore its easy to descerne between bots (luke, tavion) and real people (padawan, imleetndasheet)...

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2002, 02:32 AM   #5
Luc Solar
PH34R TEH INSANE JAWA!!!
 
Luc Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,486
What is it with those bots anyway?

Can you actually *fight* them at some point? ...I tried out Promod Beta 2 a while ago; made a server and spawned 2 bots (Jedi Master level.)

Then I went to ArtifeX's site to read the "manual".

When I finally got back to the game fifteen minutes later, I was still in the lead with 0 kills.

And no, I wasn't hiding in some dark corner...I was standing in the middle of the huge opening in Bespin streets..

So..what's wrong with those bots? They don't want to fight? Is that it? And if so - what the hell are they doing in this game?? (besides running backwards)

Is there some trick that I don't know of? Do I have to taunt them (or something) so that they'll get pissed off and finally attack/&fight me?

I feel your pain Shock.


Got Honourz? Great.. I hope you choke on it!

I r0xx0r all j00 nooberz that mess with me. You nooberz suXor out of my way or I eat j00....

Most ridiculous Quote of the century: >)O(< ENmiTy: promoting mindless FFA and SD kills promotes disorderly conduct amoung the online community.
Luc Solar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2002, 02:48 AM   #6
taboo
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Great White North
Posts: 84
The bots play rather defensively, which is especially noticeable if you're in a saber only server. If you're saber is drawn, it can be quite some time before a bot will manage to kill you.
taboo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2002, 03:58 AM   #7
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
when ever a bot starts to back up, i just back away from them, if there is enough room, they usually come at me again... something that works for me anyway...

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2002, 01:24 AM   #8
Psionic Jedi
 
Psionic Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Reborn Correctional Institute
Posts: 391
Bottom line: MP Bots are t3h shiet!

I wish we could import SP NPCs into MP. My god to have a real Tavion running around and lightning you if you draw a gun and grip you off bespin would be so excellent!

BTW On promod beta 2 note: I've always thought bots would own at it since they have auto-aim, and promod centers around keeping your aim (if you have ever seen a bot's aim in spec mode, it's VERY close and usually aims for the head). But it seems they keep their jitterbuggish personalities...


Without fear, there is no courage
Learn from the mistakes of others. You won't live long enough to make them all yourself.
This would be really funny if it weren't happening to me.
In the land of California, in the heat of San Jose the dark haired PSIONIC JEDI forged in secret a master computer to control all others and into this computer he poured his money, his computer parts and many screws
One computer to rule them all. One computer to find the foes
One computer to bring them all to hell and in the darkness conquer
In the online gaming world where the envying ones lie.
-Original dito119
Psionic Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2002, 08:40 AM   #9
Kstar__2
chaos
 
Kstar__2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: a dreamers wish, wispering in the air
Posts: 4,155
whenever i play agains a bot, it is just using lightning all the time



+[size=0.5]http://kstar.deviantart.com[/size]
Kstar__2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2002, 09:56 AM   #10
ShockV1.89
Gen Mo'Kai
 
ShockV1.89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: U S of A, baby!
Posts: 1,391
Or mindtrick...over and over and over...

ShockV1.89


"Not all one pleads can be granted. But a good hearing soothes the heart." -The Instruction of Ptah-hotep.

"So here I go, it's my shot. Feet fail me not. This may be the only opportunity that I got..." -Eminem
ShockV1.89 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2002, 11:50 AM   #11
Jedi Spy
Banned
 
Jedi Spy's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
dont fight back if u grip them to death

/Spy
Jedi Spy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2002, 12:17 PM   #12
FatalStrike
 
FatalStrike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WWII
Posts: 736
Seriuosly if someone wants to make a Mod that makes the Bots act tough mean and fight like Demons I would be down with it.

Have some programmed sayings like..

"You suck Noob, I'm a bot and I still owned your pathetic Human ass!!"

Make them fight incredibly well and for the love of God make them aggressive!! I hate this backwards running lame bots we have now.

I would like to see a team of Bots that could play CTF well and know how to play their positions, that would be great to practice with.


Battlefield 1942........
FatalStrike is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 02:59 PM   #13
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
I can't remember the exact names because once I used them I didn't need them anymore, but there are two different BOT editing utilities at JKII.net and at JK2files. With them you can speed up their reflexes, agility, give them perfect aim and increase their hate factor which makes them very aggressive.

I remade new bot files for all my favorite models and skins and have a nice collection of them that are much more aggressive and higher skilled. If you really want improved Bots to play against get the utilities and use them.

Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2002, 03:20 PM   #14
Homosexual Ewok
 
Homosexual Ewok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 595
The bots on JK2 are some of the crappiest I've ever seen.
Quake2/3 had plenty of user made bots like the Eraser bot and Laker bot that really did fight pretty close to the way human opponents do. I'm surprised that after 90 million "My version of JK2" type mods no one has made some decent community made bots.
Homosexual Ewok is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2002, 02:53 PM   #15
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally posted by Homosexual Ewok
The bots on JK2 are some of the crappiest I've ever seen.
Quake2/3 had plenty of user made bots like the Eraser bot and Laker bot that really did fight pretty close to the way human opponents do. I'm surprised that after 90 million "My version of JK2" type mods no one has made some decent community made bots.
Probably because the Bot maker is so easy to use and skins/models are to much a matter of preference. Here is the link to the botmaker utility.

Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2002, 08:43 PM   #16
Jedi Spy
Banned
 
Jedi Spy's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
I think its alot harder to write a bot for jk2 than it is for q2 or cs. I mean Point and shoot is alot easier to write than various combos with a lightsaber at different times....there would be a womp load of stuff to do to make a REALLY good jk2 bot and i dont think anyone is sad enough to do so
Jedi Spy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2002, 09:41 PM   #17
Datheus
Whosawhatnow?
 
Datheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adrift
Posts: 1,425
Well.. bots have waypoints... so they're gonna take that waypoint to get to you, in bespin, they won't jump that little lip.. they'll take the stairs :|

The best way I see is to get in the middle of their path, and run into them, to get your sabers to touch, then generally the bot will make a brief assault
Datheus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2002, 10:33 PM   #18
Homosexual Ewok
 
Homosexual Ewok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally posted by Darth Kaan


Probably because the Bot maker is so easy to use and skins/models are to much a matter of preference. Here is the link to the botmaker utility.
I got to check that out, I've always wanted a bot that does stuff humans do like saber throw+pull and the likes.
Not sure if that app could accomplish that but it's a start.
Thanks.
Homosexual Ewok is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2002, 06:34 PM   #19
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally posted by Homosexual Ewok

I got to check that out, I've always wanted a bot that does stuff humans do like saber throw+pull and the likes.
Not sure if that app could accomplish that but it's a start.
Thanks.
The force powers and saber color are also things that can be set when making the bot. It is an easy interface....pretty much point and click. You can set up their powers just like you do for yourself for playing online.

A few tips, Reflex is set to 500 as default, lower it to at least 300. Also give them perfect aim and a hate factor of 10, and of course ally them with no one. There are a few other things as well, but a little playing with the utility is all it takes.

I have a few really tough bots, Vader, Maul, Wicked and Lord Rive. Be glad to email them to you to compare settings while learning the utility.

Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2002, 10:06 PM   #20
Dale7007
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: asdf
Posts: 58
bWahahhaa, asdadf


- Fear Factory was the best band ever.....
Dale7007 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2002, 09:02 AM   #21
ASk
No purchase necessary!
 
ASk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 525
Umm...the basic behaviour of the bots can't be changed with the .bot and .jkb files. They are just a config which makes the bot prefer certain things over others, not change the way he fights. Unless you are willing to dig through about 600kb of AI code and rewrite it, with possible methods including neural networks (but that would require literally years of training), the basic behaviour of the bots will not change.

ASk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2002, 11:43 AM   #22
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
I understand bots are bound to using the bot routes, but that is a navigational thing for the maps. What I was talking about was making them more of a challenge when fighting. Ask....as to your statement the bots basic behavior cannot be changed....well, no you cant change the routes they take, but as far as their behavior goes, you could not be more wrong.

Using the bot utility to make them better, I know for a fact bots can be vastly improved. You can design the bot to have any characteristics you want it to have, be 3x more aggressive, what strength in specific force powers and what weapons it uses the best. It's reflexes can be improved and it can be given perfect aim, which means it does not miss.

I even made one bot an Absorb/Saber throw whore, to practice against for a certain reason. No, they are not perfect or like fighting a l337 human opponents, but they sure are a whole lot better than the out of the box bots.

Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2002, 12:10 PM   #23
ASk
No purchase necessary!
 
ASk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 525
Darth Kaan:

The code determines the usage of the forces in various situations. The code determines when the bot uses a particular weapon (something like "if he is weak and up close, switch to bryar pistol" only far more expanded). The code determines how the bot swings the saber, how he blocks and when he blocks. The .jkb file only sets minor behaviors, the reaction time and the accuracy for example. But this won't make a bot to throw a saber and manipulate it for it to hit from behind. This won't make a bot fight any smarter..more lethal perhaps.

The strategy of the fight can't be changed without modifying the source code...plenty of it.

ASk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2002, 03:26 PM   #24
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally posted by ASk
Darth Kaan:

The code determines the usage of the forces in various situations. The code determines when the bot uses a particular weapon (something like "if he is weak and up close, switch to bryar pistol" only far more expanded). The code determines how the bot swings the saber, how he blocks and when he blocks. The .jkb file only sets minor behaviors, the reaction time and the accuracy for example. But this won't make a bot to throw a saber and manipulate it for it to hit from behind. This won't make a bot fight any smarter..more lethal perhaps.

The strategy of the fight can't be changed without modifying the source code...plenty of it.
Whatever. I think your being anal and reading way to much into this. Anyway, I KNOW the bot utility works and allows you to make bots that are way more of a challenge than the ones out of the box.
It does allow you to choose what specific powers a bot uses, dark, light or neutral, what strength, their saber color, hate factor, reflex ratio, if they are al;igned with any other bot/character, perfect aim or not, regularity of their chat ability and a few other things. This all changes their basic behavior and I will keep using them (the enhanced ones) as will at least 30 others I know of.


Have a nice day!

Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2002, 10:29 PM   #25
Guardian Omega
 
Guardian Omega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Overlord of the Paranoia
Posts: 882
It says bot not defined when I tried to load my bot in game......


Sue, it's the American way!- I forgot.
Guardian Omega is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > A little rant....

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.