lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Skybox help!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-14-2002, 05:35 PM   #1
Kururin
 
Kururin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 631
Skybox help!

Yall know that the skybox picture says sky wel with me it blue and black checkered picture and when i compile and start level the sky doesn't show up and its dark all around and i cant see.
What do i do to fix it?
Kururin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2002, 08:20 PM   #2
Catscratch
 
Catscratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: istanbul, Türkiye
Posts: 171
I never understood the word "skybox" anyway.

All I know about sky thing is just making a cube with 6 brushes around the level and give them the same sky shader name to their texture value like skies\bespin or skies\yavin.

I never get sky errors even if they emit light or not.


This cat scratches free.
Catscratch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 01:15 AM   #3
Takeoffyouhoser
 
Takeoffyouhoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 527
hi again catscratch...

here's a question for ya! Do you texture the bottom ( down ) part of the skybox with a sky texture even though you don't see it in game???


will Imperial Brewery ever be finished? The odds are 2 to the power of 276,709 to 1 against, and rising!" -- Me
Takeoffyouhoser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 05:07 AM   #4
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
actually, making a physical box around the map textured with sky isnt the most efficient way to make skies

boba, are the any other textures that seem to be missing? try kejim_light in the skies texture set, see if that works
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 02:12 AM   #5
Lehik
 
Lehik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 21
This is what Richdiesal's tutorial says about making skies:

"To utilize a sky shader, all you need to do is apply the sky shader from the Texture Browser to any given surface. Many people have a preconception that you need to actually draw a huge box around your map. This is incorrect. By doing that, you will increase your compile time by astronomical amounts as well as prevent the engine from catching any leaks you might create. While that last part might sound like a good thing, believe me, you want to know where every leak in your map is so that you can fix it - you don't want to just cover them up."

So you don't have to and you should not create a box, let the engine handle that.

The whole tutorial can be found at:

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.co...gc102lsn6.html


You can get all your textures visible by extracting assets0.pk3 to gamedata/base directory. Some shaders appear as checkboxes in radiant but they will show up ingame. Note that in after extracting assets0 you will see all sides of skies in radiant's texture browser. However, do not place sky TEXTURES on your map, use sky SHADERS(checkboxes). Try making a simple cube and just apply one of the sky shaders to the ceiling, skies/yavin for example. Then do the same with a sky texture, skies/yavin_up, and you will see the big difference between texture and shader.
Lehik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 09:58 AM   #6
Catscratch
 
Catscratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: istanbul, Türkiye
Posts: 171
Takeoffyouhoser, that depends on the level. If i'm designing a level which you just see the outside, then the bottom part can be used. Not all sky shaders have ground textures anyway.

I actually put at least 5 brushes with the same sky shader for outdoor levels. I dunno any other ways to do it.


This cat scratches free.

Last edited by Catscratch; 09-16-2002 at 11:06 AM.
Catscratch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 01:20 PM   #7
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
If I make a map where the player can see the outside trough a window for example, I put a brush right in front of the window, and texture only one face of it with the sky shader. The one wich can be seen from the room.

This way the engine has to draw only the necessary surfaces in the necessary size. Try it!


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Skybox help!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.