lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Is it worth while to go for the Gforce Ti or is the MX good enough?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-20-2002, 11:55 AM   #1
00M-187
 
00M-187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Zone
Posts: 333
Is it worth while to go for the Gforce Ti or is the MX good enough?

From what I understand you only need the TI if you are doing like 3d rendering and stuff, for gaming any Gforce4 should do right?


-ZONE NAME-
Darth_Ytnom
00M-187 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:00 PM   #2
Absurd
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 391
GF 4 MX is slower than GF 3 Ti.

Get a GF 4 Ti.

Look it up at:

www.anandtech.com


I used to be an atheist, until I realized that John Carmack is god, and Quake 3 is heaven.
Absurd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:01 PM   #3
00M-187
 
00M-187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Zone
Posts: 333
I know a 3 is slower then a 4

I was refering to does it matter if you have a GF4ti vs GF4MX for gaming purposes?


-ZONE NAME-
Darth_Ytnom
00M-187 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:01 PM   #4
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
If it is just games you want the card for, I would go all out and get the TI...I just got an MX for my 2.5 ghz comp, and it works fine with games and good with video capture programs. If it's only games you want it for, Ti is your best deal, even if it is a lot, but the MX is great all round.


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:02 PM   #5
Absurd
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 391
That's not what I said.

I said a GF 4 MX is slower than a GF 3 Ti.

Get a GF 4 Ti.


I used to be an atheist, until I realized that John Carmack is god, and Quake 3 is heaven.
Absurd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:04 PM   #6
Absurd
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 391
Look at the benchmarks:

http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1647&p=7

http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1647&p=8

The GF 4 MX sucks for gaming.

At 800x600 it's even slower than GF 3.

The GF 4 Ti is the fastest of the Geforces.

The GF 4 MX has a lot of limitations:

http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?PAGE=geforce4

The GF 4 Ti has nfiniteFX II:

http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=feature_nfinitefxii


I used to be an atheist, until I realized that John Carmack is god, and Quake 3 is heaven.
Absurd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:10 PM   #7
Absurd
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 391
Also:

"The GeForce4 MX 460 is tied with the GeForce3 Ti 200, which perfectly echoes Carmack's statements that the GeForce3 or Radeon 8500 will be better performers than the GeForce4 MX for Doom 3; the same is definitely true for Unreal Tournament 2003."

http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1647&p=8

Be sure to read their final words:

http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1647&p=16


I used to be an atheist, until I realized that John Carmack is god, and Quake 3 is heaven.
Absurd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:20 PM   #8
00M-187
 
00M-187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Zone
Posts: 333
Unreal Tournament 2003 (DM-Antalus)
1280x1024 High Detail Settings
NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600 (128MB)

NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4400 (128MB)

NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 (64MB) -(WHY IS THIS ONE BETTER???, less ram????????????????????

NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 (128MB) (youd think this one would be better)

ATI Radeon 8500 (128MB)

ATI Radeon 8500 (64MB)

NVIDIA GeForce3 Ti 500 (64MB)

Matrox Parhelia (128MB)

ATI Radeon 8500LE (128MB)

NVIDIA GeForce3 (64MB)

NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 460 (64MB)

NVIDIA GeForce3 Ti 200 (64MB)

ATI Radeon 7500 (64MB)

NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 (64MB)

ST Micro Kyro II (64MB)

NVIDIA GeForce2 Ultra (64MB)

NVIDIA GeForce2 Pro (64MB)

NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 400 (32MB)

NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 200 (32MB)


-ZONE NAME-
Darth_Ytnom
00M-187 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:54 PM   #9
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
First of all Absurd, I have a GF4 MX 420, and it doesn't suck with games...if you haven't seen it run yourself then don't make assumptions like that...plus if you're on a low budget the MX may be your only option...but go with Ti for games.


btw Absurd...triple post??? tut tut...


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 01:19 PM   #10
Tyrion
nothing is real
 
Tyrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: no one I think is in my tree, I mean it must be high or low
Posts: 6,917
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by 00M-187

NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 (64MB) -(WHY IS THIS ONE BETTER???, less ram????????????????????

NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 (128MB) (youd think this one would be better)

Actually,the reason why the 64mb one is better is becuase it used DDR memory instead of the 128,whihc makes it better.



Tyrion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 01:37 PM   #11
Sivy
coming soon
 
Sivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,314
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by Darklighter
First of all Absurd, I have a GF4 MX 420, and it doesn't suck with games...if you haven't seen it run yourself then don't make assumptions like that...plus if you're on a low budget the MX may be your only option...but go with Ti for games.

i agree with my man darky, i have a gf4 mx 440 and it doesn't suck, far from it. i run JO on the higestest settings and it runs seamlessly. for value, you can't go wrong with a mx.
Sivy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 01:41 PM   #12
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by SivyB


i agree with my man darky, i have a gf4 mx 440 and it doesn't suck, far from it. i run JO on the higestest settings and it runs seamlessly. for value, you can't go wrong with a mx.
Exactly, thank you Sivythe GF4 MX cards are great for games...it's not worth going all out and buying a $300+ card if it's just for games...come on, at the low price it is the MX is good enough...


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 01:45 PM   #13
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,696
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
the gf4 MX cards are an extension of the GF2 line, while the GF4 Ti's are and extension of the GF3 line. im not saying that the GF4 MX sucks, it just that the deal may not be as sweet asyou think. im pretty sure that the GF4mx's dont support DX 8.1... i would have to say the best bet for value is the GF4 Ti 4200... benchmarks reflect this too.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 01:51 PM   #14
Sivy
coming soon
 
Sivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,314
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by acdcfanbill
im pretty sure that the GF4mx's dont support DX 8.1
mine does
Sivy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 01:59 PM   #15
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,696
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
well, partial support they have, but the GF3 Ti's have full DX 8.x support...

Quote:
Still, none of the GeForce4 MX cards has full DirectX 8.x support, because of its lack of vertex and pixel shaders. This weighs heavily when you remember the lowest priced offering out of the GeForce4 Ti bunch of cards. It's only $20 more than GeForce4 MX460.
from tomshardware


acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 01:59 PM   #16
Reb Starblazer
For Pony!
 
Reb Starblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Missing In Action
Posts: 665
Well, I hear that the G4 mx's aren't as bad as everyone says they are. Sure, they aren't as good as the Ti's, but that doesn't mean that they suck.

I'm looking at a site right now, comparing prices.

Chaintech Geforce IV MX440 64mb w/TV Out AGP
Price 145

LeadTek WinFast MX440 NVIDIA GeforceIV 440 64mb DDR w/TV Out AGP Retail Box
Price 155

Chaintech Geforce IV Titanium 4200 128mb w/TV Out Retail Box
Price 299

LeadTek WinFast A250 NVIDIA GeforceIV Ti4400 128mb DDR w/TV Out AGP Retail Box
Price 444

LeadTek WinFast A250U NVIDIA Geforce IV Ti4600 128mb DDR w/TV Out AGP Retail Box
Price 540


Looking at the prices compared to what I get for the price, I'd definitely lean towards an MX, more than a Ti. If I did get a Ti at all, it'd be the 4200, but then again, by the time I'm actually going to get a new video card, Ti's will probably(read: hopefully) have dropped in price considerably. Right now, my GeForce 2 mx 400 works perfect, I haven't come across a game I want to play, that I'm unable to.


This key is to your kingdom, this key is to your heart...
Neither one a doorway, but both of them a part...

So one foot in front of the other...
Reb Starblazer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > Is it worth while to go for the Gforce Ti or is the MX good enough?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.