lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Lol Newbie Question
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-03-2002, 10:52 PM   #1
git_sum_stuka
 
git_sum_stuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 785
Question Lol Newbie Question

What does the fps mean on the top right corner? im just curious and please tell me
git_sum_stuka is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2002, 11:26 PM   #2
Unnamed Jed1
 
Unnamed Jed1's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 123
Frames per second.

Think of it like a cartoon, a bunch of little pictures being played in a row really fast so it looks like fluid movement.

The faster it is played (higher frame rate) the smother it looks.

If it slows down (low frames per second rate) it gets really choppy.

Notice how on big maps with lots of players that number tends to drop and things seem to move at a slower pace?

It is because you are seeing fewer frames per second.
Unnamed Jed1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2002, 01:39 PM   #3
Picasso
 
Picasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally posted by Unnamed Jed1
Frames per second.

Think of it like a cartoon, a bunch of little pictures being played in a row really fast so it looks like fluid movement.

The faster it is played (higher frame rate) the smother it looks.

If it slows down (low frames per second rate) it gets really choppy.

Notice how on big maps with lots of players that number tends to drop and things seem to move at a slower pace?

It is because you are seeing fewer frames per second.
Thank God for people like you, I hate people racking down on newbies. More of those answers!


// Picasso
Picasso is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2002, 08:15 PM   #4
Hekx
Republic Mofo
 
Hekx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Where?
Posts: 3,304
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally posted by Unnamed Jed1
Frames per second.

Think of it like a cartoon, a bunch of little pictures being played in a row really fast so it looks like fluid movement.

The faster it is played (higher frame rate) the smother it looks.

If it slows down (low frames per second rate) it gets really choppy.

Notice how on big maps with lots of players that number tends to drop and things seem to move at a slower pace?

It is because you are seeing fewer frames per second.
Does the amount of memory the graphics card has, ie 64mb GeForce 3 or 128mb GeForce 3, provide much better FPS and better graphics?

I'm thinking about getting a better graphics card...
Which is the better choice?
GeForce 3 64MB or GeForce 2 128MB?
Hekx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2002, 12:26 AM   #5
Unnamed Jed1
 
Unnamed Jed1's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally posted by Hkx Nx
Does the amount of memory the graphics card has, ie 64mb GeForce 3 or 128mb GeForce 3, provide much better FPS and better graphics?

I'm thinking about getting a better graphics card...
Which is the better choice?
GeForce 3 64MB or GeForce 2 128MB?
The GeForce 3 ti 500 64MB is a damn good card; it actually out performs the G4MX series.

The G3 series also has features the G2 does not; I would go with the G3 out of those two.

Memory is great, but if one card has a much higher core/clock speed, the extra memory is not going to make it faster (points to Voodoo 5 64MB).

Keep in mind though; your systems cpu/memory plays a major part in FPS rates.
You could have a ti 4600 yet if you are running a 350MHZ Celeron; its not going to help much.
Unnamed Jed1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2002, 12:36 AM   #6
Hekx
Republic Mofo
 
Hekx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Where?
Posts: 3,304
Hot Topic Starter 
Thanks for the help

My PC specs are:

AMD Athlon 1GHz
Windows ME
512 MB RAM
Currently have: Nvidia TNT2 M64 graphics card.
Hekx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2002, 01:26 AM   #7
Psionic Jedi
 
Psionic Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Reborn Correctional Institute
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally posted by Hkx Nx
Thanks for the help

My PC specs are:

AMD Athlon 1GHz
Windows ME
512 MB RAM
Currently have: Nvidia TNT2 M64 graphics card.
I used to have a TNT2. Served me well for CS, but now I have a GF4MX420 64MB.
I think you should go with a GF3TI over a GF4MX, but go with GF4TI if you have the $.

Also, excess memory on the card isn't all that important, since your system also has to be up to spec for maximum performance out of the card.
It seems your 1GHZ and 512 MB roxors my 600mhz and 256 .


Without fear, there is no courage
Learn from the mistakes of others. You won't live long enough to make them all yourself.
This would be really funny if it weren't happening to me.
In the land of California, in the heat of San Jose the dark haired PSIONIC JEDI forged in secret a master computer to control all others and into this computer he poured his money, his computer parts and many screws
One computer to rule them all. One computer to find the foes
One computer to bring them all to hell and in the darkness conquer
In the online gaming world where the envying ones lie.
-Original dito119
Psionic Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Lol Newbie Question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.