lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Makin' this game run
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-06-2002, 04:48 PM   #1
Scottbrush
 
Scottbrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Makin' this game run

Any tips for getting this game to work on newer systems? I can't get any sound on it.
Scottbrush is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2002, 05:47 PM   #2
TheMadDoofer
You gonna make biscuits?
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Not likely anywhere near you.
Posts: 1,613
It needs to be run on an older system, or you need to get files that make MIDI's and AUD's openable by your computer.

EDIT: 800 posts! Wooohoo!


"700 years old, and still **** you up I can" -Yoda
http://www.gaijindesign.com/lawriemalen/jedi/yoda.jpg


Aresen, where sanity is abnormal.
JK.com, where you can wax nostalgic about a great game
GB.com, where people are more normal, but still fun to hang around with

TheMadDoofer on WoW (Bloodscalp server), Call of Duty:UO, Battlefield 2,
JKA, and Republic Commando. If you see me, then shoot me or whatever.
TheMadDoofer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 01:19 PM   #3
BooJaka
 
BooJaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lost, physically and mentally
Posts: 557
How would one do such a thing? (There must be a way and I don't fully understand Q&E)
BooJaka is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 03:33 PM   #4
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,996
LFN Staff Member 
You'll have to explain what you mean by a 'newer system' - what operating system?

Boojaka, im curious what dont you understand about q+e? Ive tried to make it as easy as possible to use.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 08:55 PM   #5
TheMadDoofer
You gonna make biscuits?
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Not likely anywhere near you.
Posts: 1,613
Newer system being one made after 1994. Oh, and I don't think it runs on anything past Windows 95 installed on a DOS-based comp, but I could be wrong.


"700 years old, and still **** you up I can" -Yoda
http://www.gaijindesign.com/lawriemalen/jedi/yoda.jpg


Aresen, where sanity is abnormal.
JK.com, where you can wax nostalgic about a great game
GB.com, where people are more normal, but still fun to hang around with

TheMadDoofer on WoW (Bloodscalp server), Call of Duty:UO, Battlefield 2,
JKA, and Republic Commando. If you see me, then shoot me or whatever.
TheMadDoofer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2002, 12:06 AM   #6
MrManager
;-*
 
MrManager's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: ¬¬
Posts: 2,118
LFN Staff Member 
It works on my Win98 laptop also actually, and that machine's usually pretty fuzzy about games.


Read The Mojo!
MrManager is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2002, 04:05 AM   #7
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,996
LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by TheMadDoofer
Newer system being one made after 1994. Oh, and I don't think it runs on anything past Windows 95 installed on a DOS-based comp, but I could be wrong.
You are
The question was directed at Scottbrush really. To help him i'll need to know what version of windows he's using.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 04:55 AM   #8
jannar85
 
jannar85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mosjøen, Norway
Posts: 616
Try ScummVM


Regards,
Atle Ragnar Jarnæs Lerøy | Gamedeveloper

Runestone Entertainment

Stay tuned. Soon Launched.
Roger Foodbelly -.- Official Site
jannar85 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2002, 04:15 PM   #9
TheMadDoofer
You gonna make biscuits?
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Not likely anywhere near you.
Posts: 1,613
Quote:
Originally posted by RemiO
It works on my Win98 laptop also actually, and that machine's usually pretty fuzzy about games.
Really? It didn't work on mine. Oh well.


"700 years old, and still **** you up I can" -Yoda
http://www.gaijindesign.com/lawriemalen/jedi/yoda.jpg


Aresen, where sanity is abnormal.
JK.com, where you can wax nostalgic about a great game
GB.com, where people are more normal, but still fun to hang around with

TheMadDoofer on WoW (Bloodscalp server), Call of Duty:UO, Battlefield 2,
JKA, and Republic Commando. If you see me, then shoot me or whatever.
TheMadDoofer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2002, 08:25 PM   #10
kromosome
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1
Question Full Throttle in WinXP?

is there any posibilities that make FT run in a WinXP machine?


Last edited by kromosome; 10-16-2002 at 09:22 PM.
kromosome is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2002, 08:29 PM   #11
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,996
LFN Staff Member 
Yes, use LEC Quick And Easy
Or ScummVM (Q+E includes a ScummVM mode + frontend anyway)

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2002, 06:58 AM   #12
Elvborn
 
Elvborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Outer Heaven, Sweden
Posts: 5
Anyone know where to find wallpapers, Soundfiles, thems etc to FT? = )
Elvborn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2002, 05:13 PM   #13
Kryllith
Hideous Twit
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,150
I can run FT on a celeron 750 with ME on it without any problems, so it should be able to run on anything up to that. Don't know about XP though.

As for wallpaper, themes, and the like I'd suggest visiting the kickstand and polecats websites. Hopefully these are the correct links, but if not there should be a links to them from the main list of mixnmojo forums.

Kryllith
Kryllith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2002, 03:02 PM   #14
samhasaplan
 
samhasaplan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: in az
Posts: 1
where can i get i free download of full throttle 1?

Quote:
Originally posted by bgbennyboy


You are
The question was directed at Scottbrush really. To help him i'll need to know what version of windows he's using.


samson
samhasaplan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2002, 10:47 PM   #15
Vyse
 
Vyse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MO's
Posts: 34
Exclamation Seriously

That would be piracy..
Versions of FT1 are available for about 10 bucks at major software retailers as are Lucas Arts compilations one of which includes the original Full Throttle, I can't remember which at the moment but I think it's collection three. Also my original Runs perfectly on my PIII laptop with Win2000. Are you familiar with DOS? Just askin'.

M.O.
Vyse is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2002, 04:13 PM   #16
Ben Whatsisname
King of the Road
 
Ben Whatsisname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 179
Current Game: Keepsake, Jack Keane
Quote:
Originally posted by Elvborn
Anyone know where to find wallpapers, Soundfiles, thems etc to FT? = )
The Kickstand - http://kickstand.mixnmojo.com has tons of stuff, The Polecats Lounge is still working on building up an inventory, I think


Print and submit this signature for a free breakfast with the works* at The Kickstand
---
* The "works" is a beating so intense, you'll pray for death.
Ben Whatsisname is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2002, 03:49 AM   #17
theholyidiot
 
theholyidiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 75
I have never had a problem with FT, right up until I tried to play it on me brand spankin new XP machine. I used Scummvm, but you do have to skip the bike fight bits. This could be a plus or a minus depending on how you like to play. You will definetly be annoyed by the derby tho, as all keyboard control went Bye bye. Still, they say they're trying to fix that for the next release (crosses fingers).


Sam: Someday I'm gonna have to talk to you about the sanctity of life, little buddy.
Max: BAM! And then he was muselage!



theholyidiot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-28-2002, 12:50 PM   #18
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by bgbennyboy
Boojaka, im curious what dont you understand about q+e? Ive tried to make it as easy as possible to use.
okay, so not the right forum, but you're here so i'll ask, i've got the latest Q+E and scumm vm, but i can't get my CD version of Monkey Island 2 to work with sound on win XP. everything else is fine, but i only get sound effects to work. so really its the music i want but can't get. how do i do it because i tried Q=E on the scumm VM mode and at one point did get sound, but then couldn't get it back. what do i do?

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-28-2002, 03:29 PM   #19
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,996
LFN Staff Member 
You post on the help forum ¬¬

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Full Throttle Discussion > Makin' this game run

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.