lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Why do servers only appear on the master list SOMETIMES?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-25-2003, 06:50 PM   #1
Enjoi9187
 
Enjoi9187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: High Above the Mucky Muck
Posts: 467
Why do servers only appear on the master list SOMETIMES?

This is getting really annoying. Sometimes when I restart my server, it doesn't appear in master list, but is fine in the favorites. When will Raven fix this?


Enjoi9187 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 07:03 PM   #2
Igor_Cavkov
Forumite
 
Igor_Cavkov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 621
hopefully with the patch...


SW Galaxies Online name: Cavkov
Server: Chimaera
Profession: Bounty Hunter
Guild: DOS - Dark Order of the Sith

If you only knew the power of the darkside!
Igor_Cavkov is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 07:14 PM   #3
Enjoi9187
 
Enjoi9187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: High Above the Mucky Muck
Posts: 467
any idea when that is?


Enjoi9187 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 07:43 PM   #4
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
Enjoi,

I'm trying to figure out the same damn problem as we speak. I can't figure out for the life of me why I'm spending 40 bucks a month and my server doesn't even show up on the goddamn list.

The long term popularity of this game depends on server admins who come out of pocket to set up servers. You would think the least that Raven/Lucasarts could do was make sure that the servers list works worth a damn. Wow.

My server showed up for about 3 minutes and now it's gone again. There was a similar problem in JK2 that I vaguely recall, but I can't remember what the fix was. I seem to recall something about port numbers.

I demand that TPTB fix this problem immediately else I'll spend my money on another online game run by a company that can keep the freaking lights on.


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 07:46 PM   #5
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
I just checked again after letting the server sit for about 3 hours and it still isn't listed.

This is priceless.


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 08:21 PM   #6
Igor_Cavkov
Forumite
 
Igor_Cavkov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 621
wel i suggest u guys get the all seeing eye ,...it its an gaming eye that lets u see ALL servers! and how many people theres online! atm there are 385 servers and 1500 online! get it until they fix the problem!


SW Galaxies Online name: Cavkov
Server: Chimaera
Profession: Bounty Hunter
Guild: DOS - Dark Order of the Sith

If you only knew the power of the darkside!
Igor_Cavkov is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 08:33 PM   #7
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
Why?

Most people out there do not use ASE. I use to, I don't now.

If I am going to pay to run a server, I EXPECT that server to show up straight out of the box without expecting people to shell out more money just to see it? It it too much to ask that this work the way it should?

And someone mentions a patch. It took the first patch for JKO a month to come out and it royally screwed the game up. Raven has been notorious for this and I refuse to wait. A server side fix should be issued immediately.


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 09:13 PM   #8
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
A brief update.

This is from my server provider who shall remain anonymous:

Quote:
Yes, it's a common thing right now.

As near as I can tell, Raven has instituted some new functionality which prevents people who are playing stolen/leaked versions of the game from being able to see the Master List or run servers online. As a result, it affects all the honest people, server to a point.

In watching the new servers appear over the last few days, I've come to the conclusion that it can take as much as two days for your server to appear consistently.
Not sure what it all means, but my server has shown up a couple of times and stayed on the list for a few minutes then disappeared again.

Come on Raven. What's your deal? I know you guys are lurking.


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 12:28 AM   #9
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Check the sticky on server help.

I tried this and it worked:

(in the console):

net_port 29070
net_restart
(that's for the dedicated server)


net_port 29069
net_restart
(that's in game for the game I'm using to join with)

I also had to open ports 29060-29099 UDP&TCP and set my software firewall to "allow all connections" for JAMP.exe and JAMPDed.exe.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 12:40 AM   #10
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
^ That sounds similar to the server/client-on-the-same-machine problem fix. My server is hosted.


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 06:11 AM   #11
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
** BUMP **

WE NEED AN ANSWER.


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 01:45 PM   #12
|GG|Carl
Invisible
 
|GG|Carl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,175
Quote:
Originally posted by Kurgan
I also had to open ports 29060-29099 UDP&TCP and set my software firewall to "allow all connections" for JAMP.exe and JAMPDed.exe.
I haven't done that, is that why my friends can't see my server sometimes? And how to allow all connections?
|GG|Carl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 06:39 PM   #13
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
Here is a thread on Raven's forum that is tracking this issue. So far, Raven still doesn't give a sh1t.

Raven Software forum thread regarding missing servers


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 08:09 PM   #14
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
OMG OMG OMG!

My server has appeared on the list!

The God's have smiled upon me!

Can someone confirm that for me?


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 08:20 PM   #15
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
Meh, happens in more games than you think
In AVP2 my cousin had a server running for it, could only be seen through the all seeing eye. Same with a ton of Counter-Strike Servers, you could spend a ton of time in the ordianry browser (in-game) and it would miss out about a 1000 servers
Anyway, The All Seeing Eye is just aobut the only thing I use to find servers, In game browsers, I thought, were always well known for missing thing.... That's why it was called the all seeing eye
Still, JA is worse than most games.... also Raven do not need to patch the game jsut for that, it's all to do with their master server and I think suggesting a patch is just wishful thinking from people who are pro-premature patch that it will speed the release p if there was one.

EDIT: I can also see your server in ASE eye, i get a ping of 159 which aint too good but then agian it is an american server
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 08:36 PM   #16
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
WHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTT????!?!?!??!

IT'S GONE AGAIN!

YOU BASTARDS! WHY?!


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2003, 06:38 AM   #17
Lord Sokar
 
Lord Sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
* BUMP *

Why am I paying for a server no one can see?

Why is Raven ducking the issue and suggesting GameSpy or ASE? Can any of you take responsibility for the problem? I know you guys are lurking.


<System Lords> | OC-3
66.98.176.218:29070 - Saber only, increased saber damage, reduced blocking, custom map rotation and more to come.
Lord Sokar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Academy > Why do servers only appear on the master list SOMETIMES?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.