lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-22-2004, 02:05 AM   #1
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial

Editing Items Using KotOR Tool

Forward: Thanks to the efforts of Fred Tetra, it is now easier than ever to create custom items. Projects that used to require a working knowledge of GFF editing can now be accomplished using drop down menus. Truly an amazing feat! However, just like the teacher that wouldn’t let you use a calculator in math class for fear that you wouldn’t actually learn how to do math, having this tool will not automatically make modding easy for you. You will still need to have a working knowledge of how the files interact with each other and with the game. If you have not done so before, I recommend making at least one item “the hard way” to help strengthen your knowledge of item editing. Detailed walkthroughs on how do this can be found here:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=129450
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=130491

You should feel free to forego this, however it may require a little bit more experimentation with the drop-down menus to figure out what everything means.


Step 1: Locate the file that you want to edit.

Almost every item that is used in the game can be found in the Template file. To get to the game Templates, open KT, and then expand BIFs>templates.bif>Blueprint, Item.

I would highly recommend using a file reference to help decipher item labels. The resource that I use can be found at http://www.goldensun-syndicate.net/kotor/codeFAQ.txt


Step 2: Open the file

Double click on the file that you would like to edit. For example, to open the file for the blue Lightsaber, double click on g_w_lghtsbr01. The native UTI Editor should open.


Step 3: Edit the properties


3.a - The UTI Editor window has four tabs. The first tab contains general information about the item. A short description of each field follows:


TemplateResRef – the template reference for the item that you are modding. The game uses this field, along with Tag to determine what your item is. Creating a unique item (i.e. a custom armor with skin, enhancements, etc) will require that changes are made to both TemplateResRef and Tag. Such a project requires model file editing and is outside the scope of this tutorial. A brief description of how to do this can be found in the X link in the Foreword.

Tag – see TemplateResRef.

Baseitem – The item type that the item is based on. Pretty self-explanatory.

Cost – how many credits your item will cost in-game

Additional Cost - ? (I rarely modify item cost as part of a mod)

Palette ID - ?

Plot Item – Some items in the game are considered Plot Items. In other words, your interactions with the item are critical to the story. For instance, recovering the Sith Lightsaber from Sith Statue in the tomb of Naga Sadow causes Uthar and Yuthura to spawn when you return to the acid pool. Failure to recover this plot item keeps the story from moving on.

Stolen - ?

Charges – Refers to multiple use items such as forearm shields.

Stack Size - ?

Model Variation – This tells the game what your item looks like. In the case of this example Model Variation 1 represents the blue Lightsaber. 2 represents red, 3 is green and so on. Hence, why the code for the blue Lightsaber is g_w_lghtsbr01 and the code for the red Lightsaber is g_w_lghtsbr02, et cetera.

*Note: Items such as armor, robes, and clothing will utilize Body Variation and Texture Variation to achieve the same effect. You will have to experiment (and use the aforementioned file reference) to become familiar with this type of item modding.



3.b - The next tab (Properties), contains the actual properties assigned to the item. When clicking on this tab for a Lightsaber, you’ll see all of the existing upgrade properties that are already coded into the item. Again, the fields that you see here will be difficult to comprehend unless you are familiar with GFF editing. You can either use the second link above to get a crash course in item editing or you can experiment with this tool until it starts to make sense.

To create a new property, scroll to the bottom of the property list and double click on the row with the asterisk (*) in it. The Item Property Window should now appear with the following areas:

Property Name – hopefully this is pretty self explanatory. Please note that many of the items in this drop-down are not used in this game (example: Light, Mighty, Special Walk, etc.). Unfortunately, there is no easy way to explain what each of these properties do. Experiment and learn =)

Subtype – some properties require the use of a subtype. For instance, the Property “Damage Bonus” will require that you specify what type of damage is being enhanced. Examples include Energy, Fire, Acid, Ion, etc.

Value – Some property edits will require that you specify the magnitude of the enhancement/penalty. Using the previous example, you will need to specify how much of a damage bonus to apply (+1, 1d3, etc).

% Chance of Appearance – Basically, how likely is your mod to appear. I can’t imagine why anyone would change this to something other than 100.

Param1 – You are only going to need this sometimes. Odd are that if the drop down becomes available, you will be able to figure out what you need to do with it by expanding it =)

Param2 - ? (I imagine this will be the same case as Param1).

Upgrade (required to activate) – Select this only if you want your mod to appear when an upgrade is added to your item. I would not recommend trying to add an armor upgrade type to a weapon or vice versa. I haven’t tried it myself, but I imagine that it wouldn’t work anyways.

When you are finished with a property edit, click the Add button. Repeat the process to your heart’s content.


3.c – The Description tab will be used to help edit the item name, add a unique history to the item, or what have you.

Name – self-explanatory

Unidentified Description – an area for you to add your own description to the item. This will appear in the inventory screen when your item is selected.

*Note: Do not try to format this area, as carriage returns (aka “using the Enter key”) will appear as little white boxes in-game. This will not harm your mod, but can be quite an annoyance =)

Identified - ? (I think this causes the games default description to override your own)

Identified Description – the game’s default description for that item.


3.d– The Comments tab is self-explanatory. Use this area for notes to yourself or others who might be modding this file. (p.s. I’ve never used this).



Step 4: Save the file

Save the file with a unique name. Saving this file with its original name (g_w_lghtsbr01) will cause the game to over write ever other instance of that file within the game (assuming that your file is in the Override folder). This means that if you save your mod as g_w_lghtsbr01 and place it in your Override folder, then every blue Lightsaber in the game will have additional properties that you created.

Please note that the name you assign to your file will also be the cheat code that you will use to get the item in-game. For instance, if you name the file “my_saber.uti”, then you will use “giveitem my_saber” to get the Lightsaber in-game.


Step 5: Place the file in your Override folder

The Override folder can be found in C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR or whichever directory you originally installed the game in.


Step 6: Use the mod

Start up a game, enter the console, and use the giveitem command to get your mod. Enjoy!
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2004, 04:30 AM   #2
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
you must really like making these tutorials achillies, but nice work I'll give it a full read-through later on and check things, hopefully this will cut back requests a little bit.


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2004, 04:42 AM   #3
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by maverick187
you must really like making these tutorials achillies, but nice work I'll give it a full read-through later on and check things, hopefully this will cut back requests a little bit.
I like helping people. I know how intimidated I was when I started and I'd like to make things easier for the newer members of the board if I can.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 01:53 AM   #4
Rogue9dlb
Rookie
 
Rogue9dlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 51
Stupid qestion:
How do I edit an item file already in my Overrides file?


"See, Decide, Attack, Reverse."
-Erich Hartmann
Rogue9dlb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 01:57 AM   #5
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Quote:
Originally posted by Rogue9dlb
Stupid qestion:
How do I edit an item file already in my Overrides file?
Use a GFFeditor - look at the Guide for the Newbie in the stickies to get the link for download - it will look different but the fields will have the same name.
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 02:32 AM   #6
Jackel
Senior Member
 
Jackel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,056
Re: Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial

Quote:
Originally posted by Achillies
Stolen - ?
Left over from NWN i believe
Quote:
Originally posted by Achillies
Stack Size - ?
Hot many in the stack. Again left over from NWN. Ie how many are put in to your inventory when you take it off a bad guy. In NWN (and other Bio games) you could buy stacks of arrows and you recieved 20 arrows in a stack. Also meant when you have a stack of 20 any more you pick up will be put in a new stack.

Pretty much ignorable. Items already have a 1 in the stack size anyway so leave it as it is.

Darth333 :You can edit items in your override with KOTOR tool if they havent got any things different to the baseitems , ie they are not baseitems 96 seeing that causes a crash.
Jackel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 02:39 AM   #7
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Re: Re: Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial

Quote:
Originally posted by Jackel

Darth333 :You can edit items in your override with KOTOR tool if they havent got any things different to the baseitems , ie they are not baseitems 96 seeing that causes a crash.
Thanks! good to know: i never used that feature, i do almost everything with gff.

And about the leftovers from nwn, they are all over the place. Here is a sample of what i found i nwscript.nss:
Code:
int POLYMORPH_TYPE_TROLL                 
int POLYMORPH_TYPE_UMBER_HULK            
int POLYMORPH_TYPE_PIXIE                 
int POLYMORPH_TYPE_ZOMBIE
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 02:46 AM   #8
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
^^^^
It's not just new baseitem.2da lines but new appearance.2da lines as well... Any custom discuise property and KOTOR Tool's Item Editor also has issues with them. Just an F.Y.I.

I also do most of my stuff with a GFF Editor!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 04:42 AM   #9
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by RedHawke
I also do most of my stuff with a GFF Editor!
I'm a huge fan of GFF editor also, however I'm finding that using KT for something and GFF editior for others is really beneficial.

Hey Moderator Darth333, what are the chances of getting this thread added to the modding sticky? I didn't want to ask, but I hate seeing my attempt to help get buried
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 05:18 AM   #10
nacho35
Rookie
 
nacho35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 162
Nice tutorial Achillies. I have been using any/all tutorials I can find lately.
nacho35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 05:58 AM   #11
Jackel
Senior Member
 
Jackel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,056
Quote:
Originally posted by RedHawke
^^^^
It's not just new baseitem.2da lines but new appearance.2da lines as well... Any custom discuise property and KOTOR Tool's Item Editor also has issues with them. Just an F.Y.I.

I also do most of my stuff with a GFF Editor!
I have done most of my stuff up till my last item (Xanetia Armour) in GFF editor , though it must admit having 5 2da files open and havig to look each one up to find out what i wanted was a pain in the butt! Freds KT is far easier , and can make new items in a few mins, if you know what you want the bonuses to be of course.
Jackel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 06:14 AM   #12
x8c4
Rookie
 
x8c4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Hello to you, Achillies

You've made a nice tutorial

I will follow your advise 'not to reinvent the wheel'
x8c4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 07:00 AM   #13
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by x8c4
Hello to you, Achillies

You've made a nice tutorial

I will follow your advise 'not to reinvent the wheel'
Glad I was able to help you avoid some work. Your message reminded me that I had been working on a website a while ago. I spent some time working on it tonight and got some of my stuff on it. Check it out for some of my tutorials and other stuff.

http://www.freewebs.com/achilles01/
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 07:05 AM   #14
Darth Dex
Forumite
 
Darth Dex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Look at a Map
Posts: 516
YOU ROCK!


When you start thinking you should just quit right there!

Ben says, "stop ruining my storys! You always ruin my storys."
Darth Dex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 08:04 AM   #15
Jackel
Senior Member
 
Jackel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,056
Re: Re: Re: Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial

Quote:
Originally posted by Darth333
Thanks! good to know: i never used that feature, i do almost everything with gff.

And about the leftovers from nwn, they are all over the place. Here is a sample of what i found i nwscript.nss:
Code:
int POLYMORPH_TYPE_TROLL                 
int POLYMORPH_TYPE_UMBER_HULK            
int POLYMORPH_TYPE_PIXIE                 
int POLYMORPH_TYPE_ZOMBIE
There is tonnes of NWN stuff left over , im amazed they didnt just load up the 2da files and delete everything then start putting in the KOTOR ones fresh to make sure there wasnt a pile of crap all over the place.
Jackel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 10:24 AM   #16
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Quote:
Originally posted by Achillies
Hey Moderator Darth333, what are the chances of getting this thread added to the modding sticky? I didn't want to ask, but I hate seeing my attempt to help get buried
I've PMd T7 to give him the link to this thread and to your website so he can add them to his sticky " Do you want to mod sw-kotor"
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 12:41 PM   #17
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by Darth333
I've PMd T7 to give him the link to this thread and to your website so he can add them to his sticky " Do you want to mod sw-kotor"
You're the best. Thanks!
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 05:21 PM   #18
Rogue9dlb
Rookie
 
Rogue9dlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks for the help. I found the editor in KT (looks a bit easier to use), but I couldn't edit items (gave me an error when I tried to save it), but GFFeditor worked.


"See, Decide, Attack, Reverse."
-Erich Hartmann
Rogue9dlb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 05:36 PM   #19
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by Rogue9dlb
Thanks for the help. I found the editor in KT (looks a bit easier to use), but I couldn't edit items (gave me an error when I tried to save it), but GFFeditor worked.
Wonder what caused the error. Glad to hear that you were able to get there using GFF Editor. Let me know if there's anything else I can do to help.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2004, 04:21 PM   #20
Nobody999
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Okay, I have everything needed to use kotor tool *except* microsoftnet framework. Lets just say my downloading abilities are crippled and it's a bit bigger than I have any chance of getting, but I thought of something...
Is there a zipped version of the microsoft net framework anywhere, or can someone who has it zip it and e-mail it to me? Perhaps I could download it if it were smaller, due to zipping.
Nobody999 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2004, 08:13 PM   #21
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by Nobody999
Okay, I have everything needed to use kotor tool *except* microsoftnet framework. Lets just say my downloading abilities are crippled and it's a bit bigger than I have any chance of getting, but I thought of something...
Is there a zipped version of the microsoft net framework anywhere, or can someone who has it zip it and e-mail it to me? Perhaps I could download it if it were smaller, due to zipping.
I can give it a try tonight when I get home, but if the exe is already compressed, you might not get a whole lot out of zipping it.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2004, 11:14 PM   #22
Shermed'Out
Lurker
 
Shermed'Out's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Re: Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial

Quote:
Originally posted by Achillies
Editing Items Using KotOR Tool
Stack Size - ?
Stack size means how many you have of the item, like if you have 1 or 5 of the same item (since all identical items stack in Kotor)
Shermed'Out is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2004, 12:18 AM   #23
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Re: Re: Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial

Quote:
Originally posted by Shermed'Out
Stack size means how many you have of the item, like if you have 1 or 5 of the same item (since all identical items stack in Kotor)
In any event, refer to this document http://nwn.bioware.com/developers/Bi...tem_Format.doc
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2004, 11:38 AM   #24
whitguy
Rookie
 
whitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Newport Washington
Posts: 38
I cant do it.

Hi i like your hole walkthough thing but i want to be able to put one of the items i saved in a footlocker on korraban or something i mean i know how to place stuff in the game but i cant put my costum stuff in the game because when i go to inventory to put it in a footlocker or something and go to costum items nothing there please help me.
whitguy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2004, 11:41 AM   #25
whitguy
Rookie
 
whitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Newport Washington
Posts: 38
i dont know how to cheat

i dont know how to cheat can you help
whitguy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2004, 11:46 AM   #26
Lorden Darkblade
Computer Crazy
 
Lorden Darkblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,474
Very nice tutorial Achilles.



Lorden Darkblade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2004, 12:03 PM   #27
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Re: i dont know how to cheat

Quote:
Originally posted by whitguy
i dont know how to cheat can you help
It's all explained in this thread: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=119128

Quote:
but i cant put my costum stuff in the game because when i go to inventory to put it in a footlocker or something and go to costum items nothing there please help me
As for your items not appearing in the game, it is very likely a problem with the .utc file: make sure the TemplateResRef field is the same as your file name (without the .uti extension). Per example, if your file name is my_item.uti, then tye my_item in the TemplateResRef field.

Also make sure that the name is not too long ( somepeople have reported having problems with long file names but I haven't verified this - I know there is a problem in .2da files with this however)

Other thing, avoid using capital letters in those fields: they can only be a source of mistakes and it doesn't change anything since what you type in those fields does not appear in the game...
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2004, 09:04 PM   #28
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Re: Re: i dont know how to cheat

Quote:
Originally posted by Darth333

.
.
.

Other thing, avoid using capital letters in those fields: they can only be a source of mistakes and it doesn't change anything since what you type in those fields does not appear in the game... [/B]
If you think it'd be useful, I can set any text entry field to automatically have lower case characters regardless of what the user types. If you have a list of fields and the editors they appear on, let me know.
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2004, 09:34 PM   #29
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Re: Re: Re: i dont know how to cheat

Quote:
Originally posted by Fred Tetra
If you think it'd be useful, I can set any text entry field to automatically have lower case characters regardless of what the user types. If you have a list of fields and the editors they appear on, let me know.
If you could do that for the TemplateResRef field it could prevent some beginners mistakes but I don't think it's a good idea for the tag field since a lot of original files use capital letters in this field. In some particular cases it can be useful to be able to place caps in the tag field and unless the person uses scripts, it doesn't really matter what's in this field.
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2004, 05:57 AM   #30
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
I'll look into putting that feature in the next release of Kotor Tool. It'll be an easy change.
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-06-2005, 10:37 AM   #31
CTOAN
Rookie
 
CTOAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Ummm...

N00b question. Don't jump on me, please!

I can get into KOTOR tool, extract the files I need, but when I go to edit the properties tab and double click on the line I want, I can't change anything; all I end up doing is selecting one of the words in the box or putting in a cursor. I've tried the drop down menus and typing, but it won't accept anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

CTOAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-06-2005, 11:02 AM   #32
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by CTOAN
Ummm...

N00b question. Don't jump on me, please!

I can get into KOTOR tool, extract the files I need, but when I go to edit the properties tab and double click on the line I want, I can't change anything; all I end up doing is selecting one of the words in the box or putting in a cursor. I've tried the drop down menus and typing, but it won't accept anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

What are you trying to do?
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-06-2005, 11:56 AM   #33
CTOAN
Rookie
 
CTOAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Edit an item's properties.

I opened KOTOR Tool, extracted the file, opened the extracted file with it, clicked on the 'properties' tab, and double clicked on a property line, like the 'Armor Requirement: Heavy' Line. That's where I'm stuck.

CTOAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-06-2005, 12:03 PM   #34
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by CTOAN
Edit an item's properties.

I opened KOTOR Tool, extracted the file, opened the extracted file with it, clicked on the 'properties' tab, and double clicked on a property line, like the 'Armor Requirement: Heavy' Line. That's where I'm stuck.

Yeah, I think I got that. What I was trying to find out is whether you were trying to add a new property or modify an existing one. When you double click on the line, make sure that you do so in the far left column (the one with the arrow or the asterik).
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-06-2005, 06:48 PM   #35
CTOAN
Rookie
 
CTOAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Modify an existing one.

Thanks for the help; will try that soon.

CTOAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2005, 08:07 AM   #36
CTOAN
Rookie
 
CTOAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
:



Thanks for all the help guys; I can't believe I missed something that incredibly obvious.

CTOAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2005, 08:17 AM   #37
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by CTOAN
Thanks for all the help guys; I can't believe I missed something that incredibly obvious.
I'm glad you were able to get there. So...when can we expect the onslaught of mods to begin?
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2005, 08:20 AM   #38
CTOAN
Rookie
 
CTOAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Well, doing a recruitable NPC is beyond me right now, but as soon as I'm satisfied with my first few baby steps, I'll put them up on PCGameMods.

Thanks Again!!!!!

CTOAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2005, 11:11 AM   #39
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Yeah, I think I got that. What I was trying to find out is whether you were trying to add a new property or modify an existing one. When you double click on the line, make sure that you do so in the far left column (the one with the arrow or the asterik).
Note to self: Add tooltip to grid reminding users to double-click on row header.

This behavior is the same as implemented in some commercial software that I developed, and it is documented, but I forgot to mention it in the Kotor Tool doco.

Edit: Added feature; watch for it in the next version.


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum

Last edited by Fred Tetra; 02-07-2005 at 01:09 PM.
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2005, 04:19 PM   #40
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
I guess the obvious questions are, "why are you doing that?" and "why are you posting this here?".

Module editing is very different from item creation. Which are you trying to do?
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.