lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Need a laymens walkthrough
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-20-2005, 09:45 AM   #1
Drazin
Forumite
 
Drazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 2 weeks from everywhere
Posts: 664
Need a laymens walkthrough

Alright, I finally broke down and bought TSL for pc just so I could reskin/texture whatever its called to make faces and armor look different.
I downloaded KT and MDLops and have that .net thing installed as well.

I am quite familiar with Photoshop7.0 but I am equally quite lost when it comes to getting what I need from the Kotor files into photoshop so I can start changing things.
I guess what I am asking for is a step-by-step explanation of how to get the character models from Kotor into Photoshop and back again.
I am normally a fairly intelligent person, but I honestly cannot make heads nor tails of what is written in the stickies sections. Its like a completely different language to me.

If anyone can offer help, feel free to PM me. Though I think if you post here it would atleast be somewhat comical for other viewers to see how pathetic I truly am at this.

Thanks in advance

Drazin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 10:22 AM   #2
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
Well, right now for TSL Drazin you don't really need MDLops, because MDLops is just for creating/editing models and cchargin didn't crack the model for TSL yet.

However, you just want to edit faces, body model textures and robe/armor textures, so this should be relatively easy. It sounds like you are just having trouble finding the textures so heres a real quick walkthrough:

First thing is that in KotOR Tool you should go File>Manage Paths , and make sure it is pointed to TSL and then make sure the image viewer path points to Photoshop or another .tga image viewer, it makes it vastly easier to see what you're extracting.

Now all of the textures are located here:


The two important ones are
swpc_tex_gui.erf - mostly for your icons and other small things usually
swpc_tex_tpa.erf - for all of the high-quality textures, b and c are smaller versions.

Now click on the swpc_tex_tpa.erf node and you should see:


now the letter P has a lot of the texture files you are looking for i.e.: PFBXXX are the female version of the robes and armor. the PMBXXX are the male textures of the robes and armor, the XXX being various different letter number combos ie: B01:

B = clothes (I think)
C-H = armor light to heavy
I = robes
J = KotOR 1 revan robe
K = no idea looks like more armor
L = no idea possibly the dancer garb
M = robe armor i.e. Zal Shey blah blah
N = some more robes
like this:


the PMHXXX and PFHXXX are the male and female head textures
XXX = i.e.A01xx; A=Asian, B=Black, C=Caucasian xx=d or d1,2,3 etc. (darkside transitions)
ie:


and finally P_XXXXXX, is the NPC heads, i.e. P_MiraXX are the body and head textures for Mira:


Now remeber after you are done editing them when you save them, save them as .tga files aka Targa files and make sure you save them with 32bit/pixel:



Hope This Helps,
Mav


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder

Last edited by Mav; 02-20-2005 at 01:01 PM.
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 10:42 AM   #3
Drazin
Forumite
 
Drazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 2 weeks from everywhere
Posts: 664
Helps ALOT!
Thanks Mav.
So to get the image viewer I click the extract button?
then what? Does that put it in Photoshop?

Drazin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 12:53 PM   #4
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
Oh sorry, once you set the image viewer path in manage paths, than to view the image just double-click on whatever you want.
oh and I answered you're pm.


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 12:58 PM   #5
Drazin
Forumite
 
Drazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 2 weeks from everywhere
Posts: 664
Thanks again bro.
Learning new things is not something I do well. LOL

Drazin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 12:59 PM   #6
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
Oh shoot I forgot to put this pic in there, I'll edit the above post as well.

Manage Paths


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 01:10 PM   #7
Drazin
Forumite
 
Drazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 2 weeks from everywhere
Posts: 664
Your PM helped.
I didn't have the tga2tpc dealy-doo in my kotor file.
Yer the man Mav.

Drazin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 01:13 PM   #8
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
I'm guessing that it works now, glad I could help.


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 02:38 PM   #9
Drazin
Forumite
 
Drazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 2 weeks from everywhere
Posts: 664
Yup, Sure did!
I just finished my Bao-Dur skin.
Of course I have to actually play the PC version now until I get all the people I want to reskin to make sure its all right and in order.
So I am guessing ya'll wont be seeing anything from me for awhile.

That and I am pretty sure I'll be back with more questions once its time to put stuff back in its right place so it can be seen.

Future looks bleak really...
But hey, atleast I have something to do fro awhile instead of troll these forums all day

Thanks again Mav

Drazin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 04:49 PM   #10
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally posted by maverick187
I'm guessing that it works now, glad I could help.
Bro...nice walkthrough!

I think this may help many others, especially as a nice introduction to both KotOR Tool and finding textures. KUDOS! to you

insert nomination for tutorials add-in here


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 05:13 PM   #11
Drazin
Forumite
 
Drazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 2 weeks from everywhere
Posts: 664
An exceptional walkthrough.
It should be editted and placed in the stickies.
Without Mav's guidance, I'd still be trying to decode the other information in the stickies. Like the Mandalorians, you take your knowledge of the programs and its language for granted. People like me (hopefully there arent many) have no idea whats going on when several unfamiliar words, or examples are used.

Mav laid it out plain and simple and the screenshots helped TONS.
I just finished my "Zealot" Handmaiden. (She should look like Zealot from the Wildstorm Comics, Wildcats)
I swear, if I keep doing this I'll never get back to the game so I can actually see if I did it right. LOL.

Drazin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 07:57 PM   #12
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
@ ChAiNz.2da

I have no idea how you knew that the Snickers Kudos were my favorite, but thanks, they are delicious.... wait no .... delectable mmmmmm

@ Drazin

I'm just glad I could help we all have to start somewhere and I'm sure that your skins will look awesome, judging by your sig. pic. Good Luck I look forward to some releases


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 08:24 PM   #13
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Hallowed into the tutorial forum -> here.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 08:26 PM   #14
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
Thanks tk, I do what I can to help.


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 08:27 PM   #15
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Yes you do.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 02:51 PM   #16
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
MAV or Other Question???

I'm trying to figure out how I can get my robe to use the .tga file that I am editing. The robe is based off the Baran Do Sage Robe. I have renamed the robe using ktool and all.

How do i get it to use my tga though instead of the original?


MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 03:51 PM   #17
Darth Sebastian
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Well, the most simple way would be to use the original name (as it is in kotor tool) save it as .tga 32 bit. Then create a folder named override in your game directory
ie: c:\program\kotor2\

.. and place the texture in there

ie: c:\program\kotor2\override\

By having the same name as it is in kotor tools it will override the default texture file and use yours instead.

This is the case for all files that you edit, now i don't have as much experiance with this as the geniouses before me but i think this is the case, just place everything you have edited into the override folder and you should be fine.

I'm sure there are some exceptions but i have yet to run into any of those yet.
Darth Sebastian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 03:57 PM   #18
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Re: MAV or Other Question???

Quote:
Originally posted by Darth Melignous
I'm trying to figure out how I can get my robe to use the .tga file that I am editing. The robe is based off the Baran Do Sage Robe. I have renamed the robe using ktool and all.

How do i get it to use my tga though instead of the original?
Alright the method to handle this:

1st: replace the Baran Do Sage Robe texture with your own.
how: in the uti file you will find a reference to texture variation. If you have created a new texture and given it a number like 57 you put 57 in this field. You will also need to create a new icon for your robe also labeled in number sequence 57 to match.

The stickies at the top of the forums are full of tutorials to help with new item creation here are a few links.

How do I make custom armor?
General Tutorials + Tools
Achilles' item property editing walkthrough *Long*
Achilles' Handy Tutorials

& much more readily available.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 04:50 PM   #19
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
Got er'

Yep, I put it in there and I must say: "in a HK voice" UNNECESSARY BOAST: I think it looks ok for a first try. I put an actual belt clip on and a few studs. A small sliver of chrome on the "crotch cloth" at the bottom, and a better color to the clothes underneath (in my opinion).

I did what you said & it worked like a charm. I'd like to learn how to get the item separate and put it ingame with a cheat. its in my override folder as malignous.uti along with the edited .tga but I can't get it from the console "giveitem". It did change the look though with the .tga and until someone helps me "isolate" the item from the "original" I'll use it this way I guess.

Heres a Picture of what it looks like:

http://www.gilliamgraphics.com/malignous.jpg


MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 04:59 PM   #20
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
Re: Re: MAV or Other Question???

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkkender
Alright the method to handle this:

1st: replace the Baran Do Sage Robe texture with your own.
how: in the uti file you will find a reference to texture variation. If you have created a new texture and given it a number like 57 you put 57 in this field. You will also need to create a new icon for your robe also labeled in number sequence 57 to match.

The stickies at the top of the forums are full of tutorials to help with new item creation here are a few links.

How do I make custom armor?
General Tutorials + Tools
Achilles' item property editing walkthrough *Long*
Achilles' Handy Tutorials

& much more readily available.
Thanks man, I'm gonna work on it right now. Let me know what you think of the look I"m trying to give the new robe.

http://www.gilliamgraphics.com/malignous.jpg


MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Need a laymens walkthrough

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.