lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Altering Saved Games
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-10-2005, 02:32 PM   #1
Arlen Treesong
Rookie
 
Arlen Treesong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Altering Saved Games

Lets say I played all the way through Peragus and Telos now I'm on the Ebon Hawk, to forfeit having to play through all that again when I create a new character I just alter the character I have. But what I haven't been able to find is what the game uses to recognize it's a different character on the load/save menu. Any idea?
Arlen Treesong is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 02:49 PM   #2
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Re: Altering Saved Games

Quote:
Originally posted by Arlen Treesong
Lets say I played all the way through Peragus and Telos now I'm on the Ebon Hawk, to forfeit having to play through all that again when I create a new character I just alter the character I have. But what I haven't been able to find is what the game uses to recognize it's a different character on the load/save menu. Any idea?
I can't confirm it and I haven't really look into this but I think it's simply your PC name. When you start a new game the normal way, if you name your character the same as in your previous game, he will appear in the same menu as your previous game. If you use a different name then you'll have to press "switch characters"
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 02:56 PM   #3
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
If you're right, that explains why Obsidian added PT_PCNAME to the savenfo.res file... KotOR only used the FirstName field in the module.ifo file tucked inside each savegame module. Using that would've been difficult.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 03:58 PM   #4
Arlen Treesong
Rookie
 
Arlen Treesong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Alrighty, I guess then it's just a matter of starting a new game for the save field then loading the altered one and saving it there. Awesome, I never have to go through Telos again.
Arlen Treesong is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 04:27 PM   #5
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
So KSE doesn't let you do what you want to do? I assume you want to change your name/gender/portrait/appearance or something of that nature, all of which can be modified with KSE. You could simply duplicate your original savegame folder and perform modifications as you like.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 04:28 PM   #6
Arlen Treesong
Rookie
 
Arlen Treesong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
KSE does let me do everything to alter it BUT if you change the name of the character then load that particular save even thoe your character has a different name it always points to the old characters save area unless you put it somewhere else manually.
Arlen Treesong is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 04:33 PM   #7
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
I'd recommend using the "Skip Peragus" mod we have out now on the forums. I tried it out and got through Peragus in like 10 mins. A very nicely done mod, they put a lot of work into it you could tell. That would at least speed up that part of the game for ya.

Hope that little bit of info helps



MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 04:36 PM   #8
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by Arlen Treesong
KSE does let me do everything to alter it BUT if you change the name of the character then load that particular save even thoe your character has a different name it always points to the old characters save area unless you put it somewhere else manually.
Oh, so that refutes that theory. Thanks for letting me know this.

(Just to clarify to my thick head...

You mean that you have Savegames #1- #5 who's PC name is "Char1" and you modify savegame #5 so that "Char1" is now named "Char2". And when you load up to choose the savegames, "Char2" is still grouped with "Char1". And you would like to have "Char2" separated so that you have to click 'Switch Characters' to be able to see "Char2". Is that right? )


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 04:46 PM   #9
Daebryn
Rookie
 
Daebryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by Arlen Treesong
KSE does let me do everything to alter it BUT if you change the name of the character then load that particular save even thoe your character has a different name it always points to the old characters save area unless you put it somewhere else manually.
If you resave the game after loading it with the changed name, it will put it in its own save area.


Everyone has the right to act stupid. Some people just abuse the privilage.

"Water tastes like water, nothing is tasteless. Except for reality TV. "
Daebryn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 04:53 PM   #10
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Ah! Thanks Daebryn.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 05:03 PM   #11
Lorden Darkblade
Computer Crazy
 
Lorden Darkblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,474
Hmmmm
This is all very very good to know



Lorden Darkblade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 05:05 PM   #12
Arlen Treesong
Rookie
 
Arlen Treesong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally posted by Daebryn
If you resave the game after loading it with the changed name, it will put it in its own save area.
TK102:: Your clarification was correct.

As for Daebryn, actually it did not.

I'm going to use names here.

Char1 is Lendon Dire I alter the backup save and change the characters name to Mod Master, when I load the game his name in the game is modmaster, but in the save file above the picture that shows where you saved it still says Lendon Dire above it.

EDIT: Hence the only way I see around this is to start a new game with a character named modmaster, save it, then load char1's mod master and save it to the newgames modmaster set, I haven't tried it yet, but by all means it should work.
Arlen Treesong is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 05:17 PM   #13
Daebryn
Rookie
 
Daebryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 29
Hmmm. Worked for me.

When you loaded the game up did you resave it in a new slot?

Also, try changing the name of the saved game in KSE as well as the character name.


Everyone has the right to act stupid. Some people just abuse the privilage.

"Water tastes like water, nothing is tasteless. Except for reality TV. "
Daebryn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 05:23 PM   #14
Arlen Treesong
Rookie
 
Arlen Treesong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
I even tried saving in another characters save area and it still reverts back to Lendon Dire's save area.
Arlen Treesong is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 05:30 PM   #15
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Oh I think I found something...

It seems there are actually 3 fields associated with the player's name.


1. The FirstName field in the module.ifo inside the [area].sav inside the savegame.sav -- this was carried over from KotOR

2. The PT_PCNAME field in PartyTable.res
(this was fixed in KSE 3.2.5)

3. The PCNAME field in savenfo.res...
I'm almost certain this last one is the cause of the problem. I'll update KSE to modify this field as well.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 05:44 PM   #16
Arlen Treesong
Rookie
 
Arlen Treesong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Awesome.

Oh yeah and to the poster who said use the skip peragus, I did, I just don't like Telos either, atleast after telos I'm given a choice of planets. I have very fickle tastes and tend to start new games all the time and never finish them so I've basically played through Telos in every form imaginable.
Arlen Treesong is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2005, 05:53 PM   #17
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally posted by Arlen Treesong
Awesome.

Oh yeah and to the poster who said use the skip peragus, I did, I just don't like Telos either, at least after telos I'm given a choice of planets. I have very fickle tastes and tend to start new games all the time and never finish them so I've basically played through Telos in every form imaginable.
Hemmmmm....(thinking)

I bet you could do a MOD Request post and get one done that maybe could skip it.

I'd go here and ask the author if that would be something they would consider.
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=145531


MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Altering Saved Games

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.