lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Excel Add-In to Read/Write 2da files v1.6
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-22-2005, 03:25 AM   #1
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Post Excel Add-In to Read/Write 2da files v1.6

v1.6 released (9/27/06)
- Eliminated need for tlbinf32.dll to be present on computer
- Made 2da writing much faster

v1.5 (add-in) released (9/22/05)
- ThisWorkbook changed to ActiveWorkbook
- Distributed as .xla

http://www.starwarsknights.com/tools.php

Instructions
1. Unzip the .xla file to wherever you like. Open Excel. Choose Tools: Add-Ins.

2. Browse to the .xla file.

3. Make sure the new Add-In is checked and click OK.

4. You can now Read 2DA and Write 2DA files using the File menu.

Last edited by tk102; 09-27-2006 at 05:29 PM.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 03:39 AM   #2
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
WOW this is definetly going to help with .2da editing, awesome job tk!


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 03:46 AM   #3
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Very, very nice tk!

This will definately help when doing massive 2da edits.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 10:49 AM   #4
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
Ooh so sweet big T thanks man !

I love using Excel for stuff since I use it for most anything else table related.

I'm gonna play with this when I get home. Maybe this will aid me in going forward on a project I'm working on.


MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 11:09 AM   #5
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Chainz.2da is gonna be lovin' you. Excellent work on this!
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 11:17 AM   #6
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Chainz.2da is gonna be lovin' you. Excellent work on this!

Ahh....yeah... it's all goooood


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 11:34 AM   #7
Bob Lion54
Jr. Malkavian Detective
 
Bob Lion54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the case! Both my minds!
Posts: 2,103
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
^^^^^^
Yea, but it was made AFTER the HUGE .2da conversion.

Great tool!!! I think "tk" should stands for "Tool Kreator."


Bob Lion54 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 11:58 AM   #8
Keiko
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 591
Nice Job Tk!


Keiko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 01:06 PM   #9
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
which version of MS excel will this be compatible with TK? Just a slight curiosity as I use an older version and some macros work and others don't. I know I can import them though.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 01:43 PM   #10
shosey
Junior Member
 
shosey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 380
sweet! I like it, I like it a lot!


Hosey's KotOR Mods [Ebon Hawk Basement] [High Stakes Pazaak] [I am Jedi!] [Skip Endire Spire]
More to come
shosey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 01:44 PM   #11
Lorden Darkblade
Computer Crazy
 
Lorden Darkblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,474
Very very useful thing tk
Thanks!



Lorden Darkblade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 02:31 PM   #12
SoNico717
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Great Job TK102, this is really usefull.

Thanks for sharing this with us .
SoNico717 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 04:19 PM   #13
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Gee, I had no idea so many people would use this. I made it just to see if I could since I've been programming Excel macros lately.

Darkkender, I think it should work with Excel 97 and later.

The Write function, you'll notice, is significantly slower than KotOR Tool, so if anyone can come up with some optimizations to the macro code, feel free to post them.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 08:40 PM   #14
Daiko701
Rookie
 
Daiko701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Akashic Records- Via the Etheral plane of Nirvana
Posts: 45
I am recieving an error when trying to run the write function macro as follows:

Microsoft Visual Basic:
------------------------
Run-Time error '53':

File not found: TLBINF32



------------------------

I am using Microsoft office 2000 Premium (Excel) with SR-1. I can open the .2DA files but when I try to write them I recieve the error as mentioned above. My Sys Specs:

Win XP Home SP2
AMD Athalon 2200+ 1.8 GHz
512 MB DDR SDRAM
ATI 9550 128 bit 256 MB (Bios flashed to 9600 Pro 256 MB)
SB Audigy 2 LE 24 bit sound
All Latest updates for all.

I would love to be able to use this tool, yet I do not know why I am experiencing this. Any ideas, suggestions?


Edit*BTW great work on the tool, and thanks. Other than above it is superb.


Everyone needs a little Peace.............Dai Ko Myo

Last edited by Daiko701; 04-22-2005 at 10:47 PM.
Daiko701 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 08:46 PM   #15
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
I'm getting it too (already sent my specs to Tk102), but I'm not too worried about it. Even though you get the error, the macro appears to be saving the changes. All's well that ends well I guess
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 08:49 PM   #16
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,433
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
This is sweet TK! Good job, I love all the programs you make. Keep up the good work!


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 10:24 PM   #17
L33T-THX-1138
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
need help...

it seems easy enough to figure out but,i dunno where to get this "excel" from n e help would be much helpful thanks in advance
L33T-THX-1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2005, 10:35 PM   #18
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
Re: need help...

Quote:
Originally posted by L33T-THX-1138
it seems easy enough to figure out but,i dunno where to get this "excel" from n e help would be much helpful thanks in advance
Microsoft Excel (Usually contained within Microsoft Office)


MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2005, 12:16 AM   #19
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
TLBINF32.dll is normally found in your C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32 or C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32 folder. Do a search for that file.

If you find it, try this

(from your taskbar)
Start: Run: regsvr32 tlbinf32.dll

If you're getting the error, I wouldn't expect the .2da file to be written correctly.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2005, 12:38 AM   #20
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Here is a download link for tlbinf32.dll if you don't have it.

http://www.ezgoal.com/dll_files/tlbinf32.zip

Unzip the .dll to your System32 folder and do the regsvr32 command as mentioned in the previous post.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2005, 05:03 AM   #21
Daiko701
Rookie
 
Daiko701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Akashic Records- Via the Etheral plane of Nirvana
Posts: 45
Thank you so much tk102, the tool works great. You provide better support than Microsoft lol. Beauty of a program you have made here. Now it should be easy as 1-2-3 to make all of the mods I use compatible (finally, whew).


Everyone needs a little Peace.............Dai Ko Myo
Daiko701 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2005, 10:35 AM   #22
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
Darkkender, I think it should work with Excel 97 and later.
How did you know that was the version I used.

I personally like this for 2da's as I've started taking an interest in NWN modding or more in particular getting the hang of how they mod around some of the hardcoded elements. I'm starting to think with the proper usage of scripting we can write our own include files that provide the ability to use custom 2da files. Also I would be interested in figuring out how the game would recognize ".HAK" files and having them in the proper overide system. If we can do this it may take KOTOR I & II modding to a whole new level.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2005, 11:35 AM   #23
stoffe
Mostly dormant
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,834
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by Darkkender
I'm starting to think with the proper usage of scripting we can write our own include files that provide the ability to use custom 2da files.
I doubt this is possible in KotOR beyond altering the 2DA files already used by some scripting functions. Unfortunately the Get2DAString() function in NWN NWScript is not present in the KotOR variant. NWScript has undergone a fair number of changes in the NWN --> KotOR transition.

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkkender

Also I would be interested in figuring out how the game would recognize ".HAK" files and having them in the proper overide system. If we can do this it may take KOTOR I & II modding to a whole new level.
Unless you are making your own modules, using hakpaks would be of limited use, since they need to be specified for each module that use the content within them.
The hakpak filename has to be set in the Mod_Hak field in the module.ifo file for all modules using it. They don't work on the global scope like the Override folder does.

Provided that the hakpak functionality still remains available in the KotOR engine, that is. I haven't tested it.

(Hakpaks are the preferred means in NWN of storing custom content (models, tilesets etc) associated with specific individual modules. They are essentially just ERF files with a .hak suffix placed in the "hak" folder.)

Last edited by stoffe -mkb-; 04-23-2005 at 12:34 PM.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2005, 03:40 AM   #24
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.1 released

v1.1

Made some small tweaks to the macro to get it to write appearance.2da without crashing. (Thanks for bringing that to my attention Achilles.) It's still takes my PC about 100 seconds to write the whole thing.

Also added a little progress notification in the status bar of Excel during writing, and a Freeze Panes (for column and row headers) after a Read.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2005, 06:22 PM   #25
Xcom
k_ai_master
 
Xcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: scripts.bif
Posts: 1,011
Re: v1.1 released

Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
It's still takes my PC about 100 seconds to write the whole thing.
I wonder if that's due to the fact that it's a macro, or because it's Visual Basic?
I don't have Excel on this rig, so I can't give it a spin, but I've been working on my own, automatic 2da merger, and it's pretty fast when writing (well, about the same speed as Fred's 2da editor), so I guess it's macro thing.

Xcom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2005, 08:03 PM   #26
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
There's probably some tricky technique of creating a hash table in Visual Basic for Applications to determine if values have already been written, but I haven't figured it out yet.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2005, 08:30 PM   #27
Shimaon
Junior Member
 
Shimaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 261
Me love you long time.

This ought to be very useful until we get copy and paste for multiple rows in KT.

^^

Thanks TK!


Shimaon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2005, 01:37 AM   #28
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.2 released

v1.2

Fixes a v1.1 bug regarding **** values that occurred if the first value in the 2da file was a ****. (Thanks Achilles)

@Shimaon: Your welcome, but um, no thanks.



Last edited by tk102; 05-04-2005 at 01:54 AM.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2005, 01:53 AM   #29
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Thanks for fixing that! I just read and wrote appearance.2da again and everyone still has their weapons
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2005, 03:40 AM   #30
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.3

v1.3

Astrisks are expanded by Excel's Find function, which was resulting in bad writes if the first value wasn't "****".

A potential for bad writing exists if cells contain astrisks (other than "****" which is handled specially). See macro text for details.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 12:34 AM   #31
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.4 Released

v1.4 released

Fixed a bug that was causing "Object Variable Not Set" in the Write2da function.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 12:37 AM   #32
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
TK can you post up a linkie to your site??? I lost my favs in my 2000 to 2003 upgrade.

Thanks a million for this one I'm gonna experiment with it on a new mod i'm working on


General Kenobi


MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 01:00 AM   #33
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
I don't really have a site other than starwarsknights.com unless you count my KeyTweak site.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 05:20 PM   #34
Langy
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Quote:
v1.4 released (8/25/05)
Wow! It's a release from the future! That's absolutely amazing, man!

In all seriousness, this macro kicks major ass. KOTOR Tool is horrible for editing 2DAs in any major way, and being able to edit them in Excel is amazingly useful.
Langy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-20-2005, 02:31 AM   #35
cry_of_paine
Rookie
 
cry_of_paine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
This is exactly what I was looking for. I did have to make one slight fix though. I put the routine into my personal.xls file, so that it's always available. So then the "ThisWorkbook" that you used to write the file gave me errors. I just changed that to "ActiveWorkbook" though, and it ran perfectly. I even gave it custom buttons on my toolbar to run it. You might think about doing all that and package it as an xla add-in (I'd tell you how if I could remember).

Edit tk102: Thanks for the fix and good idea about the .xla -- now I'll have to see how that works.

Last edited by tk102; 09-21-2005 at 01:46 PM.
cry_of_paine is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2005, 07:29 PM   #36
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.5 Released (Excel Add-In)

v1.5 Released (Excel Add-In)

- Now uses ActiveWorkbook rather ThisWorkbook in macro (as per above)
- Distributed as an Excel Add-In (.xla) rather than a Module (.bas) file.

Instructions
1. Unzip the .xla file to wherever you like. Open Excel. Choose Tools: Add-Ins.

2. Browse to the .xla file.

3. Make sure the new Add-In is checked and click OK.

4. You can now Read 2DA and Write 2DA files using the File menu.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2005, 01:34 AM   #37
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk102
v1.5 Released (Excel Add-In)

- Now uses ActiveWorkbook rather ThisWorkbook in macro (as per above)
- Distributed as an Excel Add-In (.xla) rather than a Module (.bas) file.
Excellent work!!!

I was going to try setting it up as an XLA; thanks for saving me the time!


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2005, 10:19 AM   #38
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Ooh Fred. That's a bad pun.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2005, 03:27 PM   #39
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
But a deserving Pun.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 05:30 PM   #40
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.6 released (9/27/06)
- Eliminated need for tlbinf32.dll to be present on computer
- Made 2da writing much faster


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Excel Add-In to Read/Write 2da files v1.6

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.