lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Note on Disabling Force Powers
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-13-2002, 02:46 PM   #1
ChangKhan[RAVEN]
Raven Software
 
ChangKhan[RAVEN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 552
Note on Disabling Force Powers

I get a lot of e-mail complaints from people saying that we allow saber throwing in no force games. This is incorrect as far as I know. The problem, I believe, is that server admins are still using the g_forcePowerDisable values they were using in 1.02. This is incorrect. In 1.02, there was a bug that disabled all force powers above the one you turned off. So if you set it to "1", it would disable all of the powers. This was fixed in 1.03, which means that if you're using a value less than 262140, you're not diabling *all* the powers. Rather than using g_forcePowerDisable directly and having to do the bitmath, use the new server command "forcetoggle". Type it with nothing after it for an explanation of how to use it to toggle each power on and off (also lists the on/off state of each power).


Michael Chang Gummelt
Game Programmer
Jedi Academy
Raven Software
ChangKhan[RAVEN] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2002, 04:41 PM   #2
Gustaf777
 
Gustaf777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 22
Angry Jump , SaberDefend , Saber attack

I want :

Jump !

Saber Defend!

Saber Attack!

The rest is Disable
How I do that?


Mail me on bluearmyclan@hotmail.com


ClanFromSweden´s homepage:
http://medlem.spray.se/clanfromsweden
Gustaf777 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2002, 12:05 PM   #3
NITEMARE
 
NITEMARE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 413
seta g_forcePowerDisable "163837"
that works

my favourite config too man! they should rename force jump ind force kick, tho...

anybody knows something about these commands?
what can be done with them?

seta g_saberTraceSaberFirst "1"
seta g_saberDmgVelocityScale "0"
seta g_saberDmgDelay_Idle "350"
seta g_saberDmgDelay_Wound "0"
NITEMARE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2002, 07:54 PM   #4
skeep
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: in a crystal tower
Posts: 10
okay now once you set it how do you unset it


-skeep


-skeep
mmm yeah this is my sig!
skeep is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2002, 09:21 PM   #5
Gustaf777
 
Gustaf777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 22
tHANKS FOR THE DISABLE

Hello!
I need some help.
I have download the jk2win32ded.... file for win32. I dont know why i download the ****... eheh.
I always do a dedicated server but when i download the files and put it in to the right place. I couldn´t find my server on internet. BUT! I find it on Local! After my servers name its written [UPD] Whats that???????????
Please help me! I must create a ded server! so people can go in!!!! Very soon!

tHANKS ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THE FORUM IS LIKE A DEAD GRAVEYARD!

bluearmyclan@hotmail.com


ClanFromSweden´s homepage:
http://medlem.spray.se/clanfromsweden
Gustaf777 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2002, 08:21 PM   #6
Tawana
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Post

The bit math isn't too hard. I don't run a server right now - 56k - , but I was bored so I put together an HTML document with all the bit flags for force powers and how to use them, hopefully it's usefull to someone. Easier to use and less code than \ToggleForce "N" multiple times

Find it: Here

Please excuse the bad HTML, I don't use it very often
Tawana is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-21-2002, 11:51 AM   #7
Hakuryu
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4
After trying to figure out why my I couldn't force jump on my server without being lightning'ed (etc) to death for about 2 hours.... I finally found this info.

Yet another NEEDED setting that should be in the server setup menu...
Hakuryu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2002, 08:34 PM   #8
KnightHawk420
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 285
I gotta question, but I probably already know the answer...


I have lightning disabled on my server. And my server shows up as being a non-force server which isn't true. Is there anyway to get rid of this message about my server being non-force?

Second question. I enforce a few rules on my server. in the g_motd I'm given very little space, I have no bot to continually post the rules ingame. So I'm wondering if there's yet another way to inform players of the rules via the server. I've heard about it, but not seen it, that I coudl actually flash some message on the screen as opposed to the regular text area. Like in the area where normally you would be told you killed so and so.
KnightHawk420 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2002, 09:17 PM   #9
David_Lightman
 
David_Lightman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NLR, AR
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by NITEMARE
seta g_forcePowerDisable "163837"
that works

my favourite config too man! they should rename force jump ind force kick, tho...

anybody knows something about these commands?
what can be done with them?

seta g_saberTraceSaberFirst "1"
seta g_saberDmgVelocityScale "0"
seta g_saberDmgDelay_Idle "350"
seta g_saberDmgDelay_Wound "0"
Now what would i change the value of "163837" to include Force Saber Throw?
David_Lightman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2002, 03:17 AM   #10
MatrixCPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,199
Subtract 131072 to add back Saber Throw--so, that woudl be 32765.


"Do you expect me to talk?"

"No, Mr. Bond, I expect you to DIE."
MatrixCPA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2002, 03:52 PM   #11
Kurashu
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 11
Well you can tweak the server with forcetoggle anyhow, so you dont have to bring your calculator while you're configuring your server =P


BTW, wouldn't it be nice to have some sort of weapontoggle option, like forcetoggle? So you can enable/disable weapons and items on the fly? =P

That would be sweet!

Last edited by Kurashu; 06-24-2002 at 03:47 AM.
Kurashu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-06-2002, 05:30 AM   #12
Vlaktor
 
Vlaktor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Bellevue, NE
Posts: 6
I have the answer to all your questions concerning disabling/enabling force powers. I did a little investigating and playing around and created a document for your reading pleasure. You can find it here: www.vlaktor.com
Vlaktor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2002, 03:13 PM   #13
ronsonol
 
ronsonol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 14
What I did.

Here is what I did:

I started up the server. There is a command called forcetoggle(Kurashu talked about this) and when you type it in you will see a list of the 17 different forces. Basically if you type forcetoggle #(the # corrosponds to the force in the list) if it was enabled it will now be disabled and vice versa. After you have made all the changes you want and the forces are enabled and disabled as you like, check the last line and the server should have printed a number followed by a /n. If you use this number in your server.cfg(or whatever file you use) it will save those settings every time you open the server.

ex of the line: set g_forcePowerDisable 32741

That is only jump, push, pull, and the saber throw, defense and offense.

What I did notice when checking if this worked was the templates are still able to effect the powers. Is there any way to delete those are prevent people from using them?

-ronsonol
ronsonol is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2002, 01:15 AM   #14
RandomAxess
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2
OK, here's what i want:
Enable, using /forcetoggle:
Force jump, throw, defend, attack, speed, absorb, push, pull

I also want to enable dismemberment, which i think is:
/g_dismember 2

and finally, is there a way to cycle only specific maps?
like, can i set it to choose only certain maps to cycle thru?
thanks in advance
RandomAxess is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2002, 06:01 AM   #15
vlyan
 
vlyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1
Quote:
RandomAxess say:
OK, here's what i want:
Enable, using /forcetoggle:
Force jump, throw, defend, attack, speed, absorb, push, pull
Force jump = 2
throw= 131072
defend= 65536
attack= 32768
speed= 4
absorb= 1024
push= 8
pull= 16

2+4+8+16+1024+32768+65536+131072 = 230 430
262143 (all force disable) - 230430 = 31713
your seta g_forcePowerDisable "31713"

Quote:
RandomAxess say:
I also want to enable dismemberment, which i think is:
/g_dismember 2
i don't know the difference of /g_dismember 1 and /g_dismember 2
vlyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2002, 10:11 PM   #16
ronsonol
 
ronsonol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 14
Anyone have the point values of the weapons?


Ronsonol
:: CS Server - 63.205.44.238:27015 = StatsMe, AM, HLG
:: JK2 Server - 63.205.44.238:28070 = Duel
ronsonol is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2002, 10:10 AM   #17
M-Force
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Posts: 1
What about these?

What is the code for disabling the force mindtrick and force lightning?
Thank you for your answers...
M-Force is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 01:00 AM   #18
stotto
 
stotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 17
no need to do all that stuff...

Why don't you guys just go find a little program called Jedi runner... It is a easy to use server maker, in it you can select weapons,force and anything you want in your server.
stotto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-03-2002, 09:28 AM   #19
griff38
 
griff38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: IN THE MACHINE
Posts: 938
Thumbs up FORCE Control

I to use JEDIRUNNER sometimes, its a good tool for new users or non programmers. It make all those force and weapon controls just a click of a button. You can even select force or weapon respawn times.
the other option is to: activate the console and type cvarlist or commandlist. Use the page up and down button to scroll to see all the variables. Lets use the dismemberment variables. you will see the command G_DISMEMBER "XX" and CG_DISMEMBER "XX".
Type the command and put a different number where the XX are, in this case "100" for both commands. Now if the server you play is et to 100 you can see full dismemberment arms, legs, heads and bodies in half!

Most variables use "0" and "1" for on and off.

Have fun

griff38 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2002, 05:16 PM   #20
Hekx
Republic Mofo
 
Hekx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Where?
Posts: 3,304
Hot Topic Starter 
Dunno if this helps anyone else, but it helps me:

Here's a JK2 force config helper that consits of a form where you can tick the boxes to disable certain force powers.

Hope this helps
Hekx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2003, 11:34 AM   #21
Alesh
 
Alesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 77
Quote:
anybody knows something about these commands?
what can be done with them?

seta g_saberTraceSaberFirst "1"
seta g_saberDmgVelocityScale "0"
seta g_saberDmgDelay_Idle "350"
seta g_saberDmgDelay_Wound "0"
g_saberDmgVelocityScale "0" if greater than 0, people move when hit by saber, the grater the number, the faster they move.

g_saberDmgDelay_Idle "350" is the time in ms (i think) between "strikes" when somebody is touching your saber and you are not swinging it.

g_saberDmgDelay_Wound "0" same as above, but when swinging.

g_saberTraceSaberFirst "1" i think this checks if the saber hits something before you se the actual move, not really sure.
Alesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-29-2003, 03:49 AM   #22
V-tecc
 
V-tecc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Malmö/Sweden
Posts: 148
How does one...?

How does one... disable all force powers but jump, saber offence/defense in 1.02?... ive tried everything but the only thing that happens is that ALL powers are disabled if i disable anything.


[b]DBD|V-tecc [1.02]
http://committed.to/honour/
V-tecc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2003, 02:16 AM   #23
!SoS! Acrid {J}
 
!SoS! Acrid {J}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Holy Cow hekx that link is great! it sure as hell saved me alot of time thx! yer the best~
!SoS! Acrid {J} is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2003, 01:58 AM   #24
Mr_Mojo373
 
Mr_Mojo373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 20
So what would attack offnece jump speed push and pull be no throw plz .
Mr_Mojo373 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2003, 02:01 AM   #25
Mr_Mojo373
 
Mr_Mojo373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 20
g_forcePowerDisable 163809

thanks hekx
Mr_Mojo373 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > Note on Disabling Force Powers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.