lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Glass Dome - How?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-27-2003, 02:10 PM   #1
Dreadlord
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hell, apparently.
Posts: 50
Glass Dome - How?

I'm currently working on a map - my first. I'm having some difficulty, though - I want to have a glass domed dueling area, but for the life of me, I can't figure out how to do the dome. Any help would be much appreciated...

Dreadly
Dreadlord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2003, 02:58 PM   #2
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
1. Create a cylinder the diameter of your dome. It should be half as high as it is wide for a perfect half-sphere. Texture it with glass (if it's going to be visible from above and below, texture it with glass_reflective_double-sided).

2. Enter vertex-edit mode (V). Drag all the top vertices to the exact center of the cylinder fromt he side views.

3. In a side view, select all the middle row of vertices (drag-select) and move them all straight up until they're even with the top vertices. There you go.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2003, 04:41 PM   #3
Dreadlord
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hell, apparently.
Posts: 50
Woot! Thanks man!

I've just started mapping - so I suspect I'll be here a lot begging for help
Dreadlord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2003, 05:09 PM   #4
Dreadlord
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hell, apparently.
Posts: 50
Having discovered that I'm a moron apparently, (at least I got the dome in), I need to know how to cut an opening in it...I tried the standard cut, but it just made the dang thing not work at all...
Dreadlord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2003, 05:14 PM   #5
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Unfortunately, you can't cut a hole in curves (patches). The best you can do is drag the vertices around, which can usually get you close to what you want...it takes a lot of playing around to get the hang of, though.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2003, 05:18 PM   #6
Dreadlord
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hell, apparently.
Posts: 50
Dang....Maybe I'll just make a patch deform and have the sides be a rectangle of glass with a domed top...
Dreadlord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2003, 03:11 PM   #7
Karshaddii
 
Karshaddii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Castella
Posts: 357
Unfortunately, texturing patch meshes with transparent or translucent shaders will display the wireframe for the patch mesh. I ran across this problem when working on The Temple of Fire and Ice. You have to stiKk with brushes for curvacture glass.

And yes, I'm dead--so don't ask me if I'm back. ; )


Today isn't your lucky day....tommorrow isn't looking good either...
Karshaddii is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2003, 03:26 PM   #8
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Think yourself truely fortunate to have recieved help from Karshaddii from beyond the grave Deadlord! Nice to see you in spectural form man


------------------------------------------------
www.map-review.com
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2003, 07:27 PM   #9
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally posted by Karshaddii
Unfortunately, texturing patch meshes with transparent or translucent shaders will display the wireframe for the patch mesh. I ran across this problem when working on The Temple of Fire and Ice. You have to stiKk with brushes for curvacture glass.

And yes, I'm dead--so don't ask me if I'm back. ; )
You can put transparent shaders on patches...I've done it before, I submit Tal Erulanei as evidence. :P


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2003, 03:15 PM   #10
aazell
 
aazell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 131
I've made a glass dome before.

Just create a cone and move the vertex at the point of the cone to where you want it. Then texture with the glass shader.

Then get the surface inspector up while the dome brush is highlighted and click on the natural button then click ok.

It's not rocket science!

The only problem is that you can't be running around above the glass dome as you'll see the mesh lines. you can only texture curve on one side don't you know!

Why bother with cylinders and patch meshes. Far too complex and the end result is pretty much the same.

your all weird
aazell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2003, 07:02 PM   #11
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Of course you can make another dome which will be the outside, textured from the outside.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Glass Dome - How?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.