lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: "Binding Keys" question
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-30-2003, 04:25 PM   #1
•-BLaCKouT-•
Clone Brutality
 
•-BLaCKouT-•'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,535
Question "Binding Keys" question

Hey dudes, I'm back with another question on binding keys

Here's what I want to do:
1. Change the player model to the green Reborn.

2. Change my name to BLaCKouT 1138

3. Change my saber colour to green.

Now I can bind them a key at a time (to 'G' for example) by typing:
1. \bind g model reborn/fencer
2. \bind g set name ^2BLaCKouT ^31138
3. I don't know the MP command for this one.


But when I try to combine the commands to one key, it doesn't work.
What would the /bind line be to do all three in one keypress?

Also, how can I bind the commands to one of the Function keys, eg F12? When I've tried in the past, it won't have it.

You can't say I let you get bored...
Cheers in advance,
B.




Men are from Mars. Women are from Venus. ULCER are from Margate...
•-BLaCKouT-• is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 04:29 PM   #2
Sam Fisher
eh.
 
Sam Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,466
To chain them together I think you do this.


bind g model reborn/fencer; bind g set name ^2BLaCKouT ^31138

I'll have to look around for the last one.




stuck in an eternity of sunshine and chocolate.
Sam Fisher is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 04:44 PM   #3
•-BLaCKouT-•
Clone Brutality
 
•-BLaCKouT-•'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,535
Alright Sam

It doesn't seem to work I'm afraid. All it does is bind the second one over the top of the first one.

But if you could keep searching for the saber change, I'd appreciate that!

I've got the F-Keys sorted, I don't know why it wouldn't let me do it before...

B.




Men are from Mars. Women are from Venus. ULCER are from Margate...
•-BLaCKouT-• is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 04:50 PM   #4
Sam Fisher
eh.
 
Sam Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,466
bind g model reborn/fencer; set name ^2BLaCKouT ^31138

Try that.




stuck in an eternity of sunshine and chocolate.
Sam Fisher is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 04:53 PM   #5
•-BLaCKouT-•
Clone Brutality
 
•-BLaCKouT-•'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,535
Nah

It sets the bind for the model, but after the ; it treats it as a separate command, and not as part of the bind.

Which is to say it instantly renames the player, but doesn't add that action into the bind.

The line works fine when put in as a command, just not as a bind. The damn computer's being too logical

B.




Men are from Mars. Women are from Venus. ULCER are from Margate...
•-BLaCKouT-• is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 04:59 PM   #6
Sam Fisher
eh.
 
Sam Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,466
I think a way to change it is to type

sabercolor green


I do not know of any others at the time.




stuck in an eternity of sunshine and chocolate.
Sam Fisher is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 05:03 PM   #7
•-BLaCKouT-•
Clone Brutality
 
•-BLaCKouT-•'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,535
Doesn't want that, mate I think that only works in SP.

I have got the commands bound though. I created a txt file in my ...base folder, antered the command in there as follows:
model reborn/fencer
set name ^2BLaCKouT ^31138

renamed the file as a .cfg and consoled the following:
\bind F12 exec filename.cfg

All I need now is the MP saber change code and I'll be sorted.

Cheers for your help so far Sam,

B.




Men are from Mars. Women are from Venus. ULCER are from Margate...
•-BLaCKouT-• is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 05:08 PM   #8
Sam Fisher
eh.
 
Sam Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,466
Well, I searched all over, and nothing came up, execpt for SP, sorry I coulden't help more.




stuck in an eternity of sunshine and chocolate.
Sam Fisher is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 05:32 PM   #9
•-BLaCKouT-•
Clone Brutality
 
•-BLaCKouT-•'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,535
Alright then folks,
To bring you up to speed:

Does anyone know the MP console command for changing the lightsaber colour?

Cheers in advance,
B.




Men are from Mars. Women are from Venus. ULCER are from Margate...
•-BLaCKouT-• is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 02:19 AM   #10
Marker0077
 
Marker0077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 510
What you want to do is make a script for this in a .cfg file. In order to have spaces in your name you have to use "" which means it has to be scripted via a .cfg file. I personally use 9 different profiles with 3 different names which I have scripted via only 2 keys & 9 .cfg files. If you want to use multiple profiles, let me know & I can go into how all that works.

Anyways, for just a single profile here's what I would do. Go in your "base" folder, then copy & paste the "jk2mpconfig.cfg" in the "base" folder, then rename the file to "Blackout.cfg".

Next, you want to open the .cfg file with a text editor like Notepad or Wordpad (both of which comes with all Windows OS's), I use Wordpad myself. Select everything (ctrl & a) & delete it. Lastly, copy & paste the following in the file (yes, even the lines that begin with //).

Quote:
model reborn/fencer
color1 3
name "^2BLaCKouT ^31138^7"
// The last line of .cfg files does not get used with all quake engine based games like JK2.
model reborn/fencer
This changes the model & skin.

color1 3
This sets the saber color to green.

name "^2BLaCKouT ^31138^7"
This changes the name. I added the ^7 at the end because it looks better on the versus screen.

I also recommend you color code your name differently for servers with stats (so no one else can mess up your stats); Example, instead of "^2BLaCKouT ^31138^7" you can do "^3^2BLaCKouT ^1^31138^7" & no one will know your code except for you & the admin of the server(s).

// The last line of .cfg files does not get used with all quake engine based games like JK2.
Self-explanitory. You can leave the last line blank but I use this with all the .cfg files (except for my personal) with Duelers Full so everyone knows not to leave anything you want to be used on the last line.

Also, this is just 1 line so make sure that when you put it in the .cfg file, it is 1 line only.


Cool Links
Star Wars Funnies
Cool Mods for Medal of Honor
Cool Mods for the Jedi Knight Series
Don't want to wait for Star Wars 3? Well here ya go!

In-Game Names
Marker0077 (normal name)
Obi-wannabe (practice name)
Bar Upstairs from AA Building (drinking name)

Contact Info
ICQ: 16442029
AOL, Yahoo, Jabber, & IRC (QuakeNet): Marker0077
Cool Mods E-Mail: MoH @ Cool-Mods.com or JK @ Cool-Mods.com
E-Mail & MSN IM: Marker0077 @ Hotmail.com (*** anywhere in subject or won't get email)
Marker0077 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 02:22 AM   #11
Semicolon
 
Semicolon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 121
There you go B Fiannly got your answer! w00t!


Semicolon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 02:38 AM   #12
•-BLaCKouT-•
Clone Brutality
 
•-BLaCKouT-•'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,535
Quote:
Originally posted by Marker0077
color1 3
This sets the saber color to green.
I thank you. You are the man.
You can have some points for that.

Cheers again,
B.




Men are from Mars. Women are from Venus. ULCER are from Margate...
•-BLaCKouT-• is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 09:54 AM   #13
BawBag™
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,706
*Whew*
Thats a hell of a lot of playing around for three things no?

BawBag™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 10:27 AM   #14
Semicolon
 
Semicolon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 121
Yes it is...Glad you got it figured out though!

BTW...Nice Glowy BB


Semicolon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 11:05 AM   #15
HertogJan
Beer is good for you!
 
HertogJan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,583
I use a script

*crowd goes wild, screaming "OMG U F*CK1NG SCR1PT0R!!"*

Shhht... I use a script to change my sabercolor Whenever I press the key, it goes to the next sabercolor Handy huh!!

Code:
//Saber color changer
// Red
set saber0 "color1 0; set scolor vstr saber1"

//Orange
set saber1 "color1 1; set scolor vstr saber2"

//Yellow
set saber2 "color1 2; set scolor vstr saber3"

//Green
set saber3 "color1 3; set scolor vstr saber4"

//Blue
set saber4 "color1 4; set scolor vstr saber5"

//Purple
set saber5 "color1 5; set scolor vstr saber0"

set scolor vstr saber0
bind ins "vstr scolor"
Now you just press insert and hooray!! Your saber color changes I find it very amusing to change colors very fast, then your opponent is confused, whahahahaaa!!


HertogJan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 11:39 AM   #16
BawBag™
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,706
Quote:
Originally posted by Semicolon
Yes it is...Glad you got it figured out though!

BTW...Nice Glowy BB
Ta Semi!
BawBag™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > "Binding Keys" question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.