lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Can't find BSP?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-12-2003, 02:19 PM   #1
ZBomber
Octavarium
 
ZBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,916
Forum Veteran 
Question Can't find BSP?

I was using the RichDiesal's guide to mapping. I got to the aprt where you try your map. So, I go to the bsp menu and select BspFullvis. The DOS window pops up, it goes away. I go into Jedi Outcast, hit shift and ~, the screen comes up, I type in devmap firstmap. It says can't find firstmap.bsp. What am I doing wrong? I keep JK Radiant open when i go into SP, am I not supposed to do that? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
-ZBomber


Last.FM - Ow, give up the funk
Let the truth of love be lighted
Let the love of truth shine clear
Sensibility
Armed with sense and liberty
With the heart and mind united
In a single perfect sphere
ZBomber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2003, 02:26 PM   #2
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
you should close it anyways... cause it can make jk2 run slow...at least for me.

if it still doesnt work, then make sure your .BSP file (firstmap?) is in the base/maps directory, if not, then thats why it wont work right.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2003, 02:29 PM   #3
ZBomber
Octavarium
 
ZBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,916
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by lukeskywalker1
you should close it anyways... cause it can make jk2 run slow...at least for me.

if it still doesnt work, then make sure your .BSP file (firstmap?) is in the base/maps directory, if not, then thats why it wont work right.
There isn't a BSP file, anywhere, atleast that I know off.

EDIT - In the base/maps folder, there is a "firstmap.map" and a "firstmap.bak", but no BSP file...


Last.FM - Ow, give up the funk
Let the truth of love be lighted
Let the love of truth shine clear
Sensibility
Armed with sense and liberty
With the heart and mind united
In a single perfect sphere
ZBomber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2003, 02:34 PM   #4
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
well, thats the problem, there has to be a BSP file. Did you let it compile all the way, or did u close the dos window?
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2003, 02:38 PM   #5
ZBomber
Octavarium
 
ZBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,916
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by lukeskywalker1
well, thats the problem, there has to be a BSP file. Did you let it compile all the way, or did u close the dos window?
I let it finish, but it seems fishy. The status report said it finished in 1 second, and it did. That seems too fast though....


Last.FM - Ow, give up the funk
Let the truth of love be lighted
Let the love of truth shine clear
Sensibility
Armed with sense and liberty
With the heart and mind united
In a single perfect sphere
ZBomber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2003, 02:43 PM   #6
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
yeah, theres something wrong with that... slowest bspfulvis ive had was 1 min 30 sec.... ive had the same problem... try the tutorial again... it should be easier sinse youve done it once, or load the back up and try to compile, or just try to recompile the map.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2003, 03:38 PM   #7
ZBomber
Octavarium
 
ZBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,916
Forum Veteran 
Could someone send me a BSP file? I can't find any BSP file in my Jedi Outcast folders. I'm on AIM and MSN. You could send them through the messengers.

Here are my messenegers. I'm on now.
AIM: Jangoboba7
MSN: cm_zbomber@hotmail.com


And heres what I get:

==================
Running bsp command...

D:\PROGRA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\Tools\\sof2map -bsp D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/firstmap.map

D:\PROGRA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\Tools\\sof2map -vis D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/firstmap.map

D:\PROGRA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\Tools\\sof2map -light D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/firstmap.map


D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\maps>D:\PROGRA~1\STARWA~1\Ga meData\Tools\\sof2map -bsp D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/firstmap.map

SoF2Map v1.0c (c) 2000 Raven Software Inc.



---- BSP ----

usage: sof2map -bsp [options] mapfile

-v // Verbose output for world model

-threads n // Set to the number of processors in your system

-verboseentities // Verbose output for submodels

-notjunc // Do not add in vertices required to fix t-junctions

-nosubdivide // Don't tessalate surfaces or split surfaces for fog

-nowater // Removes brushes with a content of water or lava

-nofog // Don't split drawSurfs for fog

-nocurves // Do not parse patches

-nodetail // Removes brushes marked detail

-fulldetail // Make detail brushes structural

-vertexlighting // Make the whole map vertex lit only

-showseams // Show the seams on the terrain

-samplesize n // Set the lightmap pixel size to NxN units

-chopsize n // Set the chop size of the map (default is 1024)

-leaktest // Quick exit if the map leaked

-onlyents // Only update entities

-expand // Writes out expanded.map which is 16x original size

-rename // Renames the misc_model shaders to append them with _BSP

-fakemap // Writes out fakemap.map as all the brushes without entities

-tmpout // Prepends "/tmp" to the .gl output file

-tempname name // Used with remote bsping (Do not use)

-glview // Write a .gl output file

-draw // ??





D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\maps>D:\PROGRA~1\STARWA~1\Ga meData\Tools\\sof2map -vis D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/firstmap.map

SoF2Map v1.0c (c) 2000 Raven Software Inc.



---- Vis ----

usage: sof2map -vis [options] bspfile

-v // Verbose output

-threads n // Set to the number of processors in your system

-distancecull n // Set the distance cull (overriding the worldspawn value)

-fast // Enable fastvis

-nopassage // Use portal based vis (instead of passage-portal)

-passageOnly // Use passage based vis

-merge // Attempt to merge leaves but not through hints

-nosort // Do not sort by portal complexity

-saveprt // Do not delete portal file on exit

-tmpin // Prepends '/tmp' to the input filename

-tmpout // Prepends '/tmp' to the output filename





D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\maps>D:\PROGRA~1\STARWA~1\Ga meData\Tools\\sof2map -light D:\Program Files\Star Wars Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/firstmap.map

SoF2Map v1.0c (c) 2000 Raven Software Inc.



----- Lighting ----

usage: sof2map -light [options] mapfile

-v // Verbose output

-threads n // Set to the number of processors in your system

-notrace // Don't cast any shadows

-novertex // Don't calculate vertex lighting

-nogrid // Don't calculate light grid for dynamic model lighting

-nosurf // No tracing against surfaces

-patchshadows // Enable calculation of shadows for patches

-border // Adds debug border to lightmaps

-extra // Enable super sampling for anti-aliasing

-extrawide // Same as extra but smoothen more

-area f // Set the area light scale to f

-point f // Set the point light scale to f

-samplesize n // Set the lightmap pixel size to n x n units (Default 16)

-dump // Dump occlusion map




completed.
Run time was 0 hours, 0 minutes and 0 seconds



Last.FM - Ow, give up the funk
Let the truth of love be lighted
Let the love of truth shine clear
Sensibility
Armed with sense and liberty
With the heart and mind united
In a single perfect sphere
ZBomber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 03:19 AM   #8
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
That has got to be THE weirdest compile i have EVER seen. Nothing looks right escept the first 4 lines were it's finding your map file. Try reinstaling radiant.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 11:59 AM   #9
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
It is weird, yes, because it is not a compile. Don't know why but Radiant forgot to put the map's name in quotes, so every space counts as parameter separator for sof2map. That's why it is displaying the switch list three times instead of compiling. It can't understand the command.

Yeah, one solution can be what Lil Killa said: reinstalling radiant. Which is also weird, because JK2Radiant is just copied there, it isn't installed in real.

Or just check your preferences as closely as you can. However I'm far from sure about this.

Other option for you is the using of q3map2 and Q3Map2Toolz as its graphical front-end. And of course the changing to GtkRadiant 1.2.11 with 1.2.13 update instead of using JK2Radiant.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 06:27 PM   #10
ZBomber
Octavarium
 
ZBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,916
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by Leslie Judge
It is weird, yes, because it is not a compile. Don't know why but Radiant forgot to put the map's name in quotes, so every space counts as parameter separator for sof2map. That's why it is displaying the switch list three times instead of compiling. It can't understand the command.

Yeah, one solution can be what Lil Killa said: reinstalling radiant. Which is also weird, because JK2Radiant is just copied there, it isn't installed in real.

Or just check your preferences as closely as you can. However I'm far from sure about this.

Other option for you is the using of q3map2 and Q3Map2Toolz as its graphical front-end. And of course the changing to GtkRadiant 1.2.11 with 1.2.13 update instead of using JK2Radiant.
Thanks. I downloaded 1.2.13, but that didn't work. So, I downloaded the 1.3.8 BETA, and I have sucsusfully made my first map.


Last.FM - Ow, give up the funk
Let the truth of love be lighted
Let the love of truth shine clear
Sensibility
Armed with sense and liberty
With the heart and mind united
In a single perfect sphere
ZBomber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Can't find BSP?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.