lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Mod Testing Problem
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-13-2003, 07:08 PM   #1
Ipsum
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Mod Testing Problem

Greetings,
I've created a mod, and complied it with no problems. If I make a pk3 file, I can select it from the Load Mod menu and it runs without any problem. If I just place the jk2mpgamex86.dll file in "Jedi Outcast\TestMod" and execute the game with:
"c:\Program Files\Jedi Outcast\GameData\jk2mp.exe" jk2mp +set fs_game TestMod

The following error results:
Quote:
JK2MP: v1.04 win-x86 Jul 3 2002
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Program Files\Jedi Outcast\GameData\TestMod/TestMod
C:\Program Files\Jedi Outcast\GameData\TestMod/base
----------------------
0 files in pk3 files

Running in restricted demo mode.

----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Program Files\Jedi Outcast\GameData\TestMod/demo

----------------------
0 files in pk3 files
----- CL_Shutdown -----
-----------------------
Couldn't load mpdefault.cfg
If I then run games.bat and place the jk2mpgame.qvm in "Jedi Outcast\TestMod\vm" or "Jedi Outcast\TestMod\base\vm" (I'm not sure which one is correct), the same error results. I've also tried extracting mpdefault.cfg from assests0.pk3 and placing it in the TestMod directory, but to no avail. How should I set this up to work properly? If this is the wrong approach, what is a setup that allows for easy testing without all the steps to make a pk3 or preferably even a qvm.

Thanks
Ipsum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 01:58 AM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
To run a mod in dll mode you gotta add "+set vm_game 0 +set vm_cgame 0 +set vm_ui 0". Please note that client side modifications don't seem to load correctly in .dll mode.

From experience, I've found that you must pack the .qvms into a pk3 for the mod to load correctly in qvm mode. Be must to have the qvms in the /vm dir inside your pk3.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 12:28 PM   #3
Ipsum
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
I tried running it with this:
"c:\Program Files\Jedi Outcast\GameData\jk2mp.exe" "jk2mp +set vm_game 0 +set vm_cgame 0 +set vm_ui 0 +set fs_game TestMod"
And still the same error resulted. I've been testing server side modifications. Do you have another suggestion?
Ipsum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 02:44 PM   #4
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
Oh, that means you have to add "+set fs_cdpath "D:\Games\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData"" to your command line. The problem you're having is that the game is forgetting to scan the default directory for the default game files.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 04:14 PM   #5
Ipsum
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Excellent! Thats what was needed. Thank you very much for the help.
Ipsum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 02:07 AM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
You're welcome.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Mod Testing Problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.