lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: What editor do YOU use?
JK2 Radiant 8 42.11%
GTK Radiant 11 57.89%
other 0 0%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: What editor do YOU use?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-16-2003, 04:18 AM   #1
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
What editor do YOU use?

Hi everyone I just wanted to know what the majority of people here ussed to make there custom levels for jk2 was

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 08:01 AM   #2
Omikron
 
Omikron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 264
I use GTK as do alot of people, I just find it alot easier to use.




Its nice to be important but its more important to be nice - Scooter, Move Yours Ass
Gunners rule!
Omikron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 09:06 AM   #3
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
GtkRadiant for me.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 12:18 PM   #4
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
This shouldn't even be a question. JK2 Radiant is a dinosaur.

GtK for me as well.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 02:25 PM   #5
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
GtkRadiant, baby. Anybody that still uses JK2Radiant is either kidding themselves, or is too lazy to learn Gtk. And there's not even that much learning to be done.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 02:42 PM   #6
Darth berserker
 
Darth berserker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 73
GTK 1.3.9-gtk2-test for mapping.
jk2radiant for lighting.
GTK 1.2.11 for compiling.



"Varför ska man leva för varandra,
blir allt så himla enkelt bara man är två?
Det där med kärlek kan fungera bra för andra,
själv väntar jag så länge som det går"
Darth berserker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 07:07 PM   #7
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally posted by Darth berserker
GTK 1.3.9-gtk2-test for mapping.
jk2radiant for lighting.
GTK 1.2.11 for compiling.

Heeee???


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 07:14 PM   #8
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Why would you use JK2Radiant for lighting then compile with GtkRadiant? The light radii drawn in JK2Radiant are no where near as accurate as the ones in GtkRadiant are. You're compiling with Q3Map2 but using light radii for SoF2Map...


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 07:14 PM   #9
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
GtkRadiant-1.3.8-beta for mapping and lighting
JK2Radiant for urinating on
q3map2-2.5.5+q3map2toolz for compiling
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 04:11 AM   #10
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally posted by Eldritch
This shouldn't even be a question. JK2 Radiant is a dinosaur.

GtK for me as well.
Well i use gtk radiant and pretty much dread having to use jk2radiant now. The reason I posted this was to see what people are ussing.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 05:22 AM   #11
Mercenary
 
Mercenary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 381
I use both, it all depends what aspect I'm working on.
Mercenary is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 05:42 AM   #12
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Quote:
Originally posted by Lil Killa
Well i use gtk radiant and pretty much dread having to use jk2radiant now. The reason I posted this was to see what people are ussing.
Why are you rolling your eyes? He's saying JK2Radiant sucks so bad that no one should be using it, there should be no question.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-20-2003, 02:21 PM   #13
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,412
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I use JK2Radiant because whenever I load up GTKRadiant is says there was an error that it has to fix and then to open it up again. I open it up again and it says the same thing.

RoxStar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2003, 06:12 AM   #14
Shotokan
 
Shotokan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 899
I prefer GTKRadiant for its plugins and overall handling. JK2Radiant is also pretty good because you can select all the brushes in a grouped object. I'm not sure if you can do that in GTK, but if there is I've been clicking the mouse button one too many times.

O my vote is on GTKRad.


Online name: _Leviathan_
Shotokan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2003, 06:26 AM   #15
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
@Shotokan: ctrl+alt+click
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2003, 06:35 AM   #16
Shotokan
 
Shotokan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 899
Ah. Too bad I didn't know that sooner.. Hehe. Spent like the longest time in GTK clicking every single brush and entity in Stamper's sentry post prefab.


Online name: _Leviathan_
Shotokan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2003, 10:40 PM   #17
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally posted by -=TheTycooner=-
I use JK2Radiant because whenever I load up GTKRadiant is says there was an error that it has to fix and then to open it up again. I open it up again and it says the same thing.
Same here. I don't have the patience to mess with that for too long. Eventually I will get to it... next map.

Can someone here explain why there even is a JK2 version of Radiant?
Was this Raven's doing? And if so, why would they hack together a buggy editor?
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > What editor do YOU use?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.