lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Dynamic light on/off
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-16-2003, 08:03 PM   #1
zeimi
 
zeimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 68
Dynamic light on/off

I have read RD's tutorial about dynamic lighting but it left one point that I didn't understand.
When making a light that can be turned on/off, exactly where should I target my trigger multiple? I tried targeting it to light entity but that didn't work. Any ideas what did I do wrong?
zeimi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 09:04 PM   #2
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Those don't work in MP, if this is a MP map,t hat's your problem.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 01:51 AM   #3
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Actually, I believe that you can get it to work in JK2Radiant, but I've not been able to do it (at least the way RD describes) with GtK.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 03:04 AM   #4
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
I heard that this was possible in mp with q3map2 but i'm not sure about that but to do it in sp there is a way to do it.

Mkae a trigger multiple and light and connect the trigger to the light just like in rich diesals tutorial. NEXT (this is what rich left out) go to the enity properties for the light and there will be a flag that says something like start_on or somethinglike that, put a check in that box and your light should switch on and off in SP.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 04:40 AM   #5
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
You need a more recent version of Q3Map2 to do lightstyles of any kind. GtkRadiant 1.2.11, or maybe 1.2.13, has the one that is needed.

Any light that with a targetname that gets used will toggle on and off.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 05:45 AM   #6
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Dynamic lighting is in q3map2 since 2.5.4.

Emon, do they work in MP? My experience is that they don't. Only in SP. Even if I load the same bsp in both.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 11:44 AM   #7
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
I know the light styles work in MP with q3map2 2.5.4+, but I haven't been able to make "switchable" lights in MP.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Dynamic light on/off

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.