lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Asking THe Hard Questions
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-05-2003, 05:17 AM   #1
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Cool Guy Asking THe Hard Questions

Hello All,

I've been away for some time but as the release of JKA draws cloer, I've been feverishly preparing a new SAGA map for everyone to enjoy. It's nearly done but there are a few things I am am still having problems with and I don't know if anyone has any answers.
It's a multiplayer map for starters.

1. How can I/Is it possible to make a trigger that has to be activated by several other triggers first - i.e. a locked door that needs two or three switches thrown before it will open.

2. How the hell do you use ROFF files and can they be used in MP.

3. Can you make a FUNC_TRAIN rotate when it reaches a path_Corner?

I will be releasing a whole slew of prefabs with this map - that I promised to release after the last map + a few new ones.

I'm looking forward to scriptable MP and ridable vehicles in JKA MP.

Also appologies to anyone I forgot to thank for helping with the last map.

Anyone interested in my new map can check out some WIP screens at:
http://sunburn54.tripod.com/mapping/

Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2003, 01:43 PM   #2
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Hmmm...I don't know about ROFF files, but I think I can answer the other two questions...

It's not possible to have multiple triggers that all must be tripped to open a door, so far as I know. There might be some sort of workaround solution to this...ooh! OOH! I've got it! Similar to my "triggerable" trigger_pushes in Mars. Check this idea...!

1. Make the door, and make a trigger_multiple to cause the door to open, instead of the standard touch field. Put the trigger_muttiple on the floor in front of the door, but only leave one grid unit of the trigger exposed above the floor.

2. Make a brush out of system/clip and place it in the same position as the trigger_multiple, but extending one grid unit above the trigger_multiple, and a little further out horizontally. Make this a func_door that opens down, silently, with a speed of 500. So, when the door is closed, it obscures the door trigger.

3. Make whatever func_button or trigger_multiple that will "unlock" the door. Target this at the clip door made in step 2.

4. Repeat steps 2 and 3 for as many buttons as you like! With the proper wait and delay values, players will have to trip all the buttons before they can trigger the door.

In regards to the func_train rotating at a path_corner, the answer is a flat no.

In JA, both those things could be done more easily with scripting in MP. Wait a month to release, there you go.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2003, 02:04 PM   #3
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Hmmm - seems an interesting solution, and while I can't wait for JKA, I am also planning to get my map out before it's release - then perhaps follow up with an update for JKA.
(Simply because I have other ideas for the new SIEGE gameplay mode in JKA)

As I figured about func_trains. Ah well.

Thanks for your help.
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2003, 02:27 AM   #4
<EJK>DevMapAll
 
<EJK>DevMapAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: here
Posts: 29
actually, I think there is a way to rotate....well, not rotate but turn the func_train. Select the path corner, open the entity properties window and select the TURN_TRAIN box (or alternately type the key spawnflags and the value 1) and the func_train should turn to face the next path_corner.

Also, to have multiple switches, I think there's a way to do this using a target_counter, simmilar to a ladder level. Say you want to have three switches flipped. Connect all trigger_once/multiples to the target_counter, then open the entity properties window for the target_counter and type count as a key and 3 as a value. Now connect the target_counter to the door and there you go.

[EDIT] d'oh! I checked all this using SP entities, not sure if there available in MP. I don't feel like changing project settings, quitting radiant and reloading it right now, sry.[/EDIT]


May the force be with you.
And also with you, amen.

Tell me what you think of my WIP: http://lucasforums.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=108789
<EJK>DevMapAll is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2003, 08:36 PM   #5
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Quote:
Originally posted by <EJK>DevMapAll
[EDIT] d'oh! I checked all this using SP entities, not sure if there available in MP. I don't feel like changing project settings, quitting radiant and reloading it right now, sry.[/EDIT]
Don't bother - it's not there, sadly.

I wish it had been, myself.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2003, 10:24 PM   #6
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Progression

It's a pity some of those things aren't in JK2 MP - however, I've managed to get some questions answered about Seige mode in JKA and it certainly seems to allow for all the things I want and more.
(i.e. multiple buttons that require pressing in order to activate one objective, a map and pictures of objectives at the start of the match - so you know what you have to do, emplaced weapons and drivable vehicles!)

In the meanwhile...
Check out

http://sunburn54.tripod.com/mapping/id11.html

On the BAST CASTLE page for my last batch of screenshots regarding this current project.
Some major changes have been implemented since these screens were taken but nothing that would be too noticeable in these screenshots.

Plans are already underway for a full on JKA seige map!!!

Monsoontide

P.S. Any idea where to get information on ROFF files and how to use them?
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2003, 09:08 AM   #7
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
In the Elite Force SDK there is a plugin for 3ds max that can save ROFF files from paths. Some say that is good for objects only. I hven't tried it so I can't say this is not true. MAybe you can use them for cameras as well.

Sorry, but I don't know a link now. I'll update when I'll be at home.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Asking THe Hard Questions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:06 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.